LibGuides: Finding Data &amp; Statistics: Government

Websites

American Community Survey (U.S. Census Bureau)
The American Community Survey helps local officials, community leaders and businesses understand the changes taking place in their communities. It is the premier source for detailed information about the American people and workforce.

Bureau of the Census
A division of the U.S. Department of Commerce, the Census provides information on the number, geographic distribution, and social and economic characteristics of the nation through its demographic statistics program. The Census of Governments collects state and local data on public finance, public employment, and governmental organization, powers, and activities.

Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA)
A division of the U.S. Department of Commerce, BEA produces some of the most closely watched economic statistics made by government officials, business people, households, and individuals. The cornerstone of BEA's statistics is the national income and product accounts (NIPA's), which feature the estimates of gross domestic product (GDP) and related measures.

Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS)
A division of the U.S. Department of Justice Office of Justice Programs, the BJS collects, analyzes, publishes, and disseminates statistical information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operations of the justice system at all levels of government and internationally. It also provides technical and financial support to state governments for development of criminal justice statistics and information systems on crime and justice.

Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS)
A part of the U.S. Department of Labor, the BLS produces statistics on employment and unemployment, consumer expenditures, prices and living conditions, wages and employee benefits, productivity and technological changes in U.S. industries. It also makes projections of economic growth, the labor force, and employment by industry and occupation. The BLS is also responsible for keeping statistics on occupational injuries and illnesses.

Data and Statistics (USA.gov)
Find data about the U.S.,such as maps and population, demographic,and economic data.

Data.gov
The home of the U.S. Government's open data. Find federal, state, and local data, tools, and resources to conduct research, build apps, design data visualizations, and more.

FedStats
provides access to official statistical information produced by the Federal Government that can be searched by topic, geography, statistical work, program, agency, etc.

Statistics of U.S. Business
USB is an annual series that provides national and sub-national data on the distribution of economic data by enterprise size and industry.

U.S. Government and other Agencies, Entities, and Organizations

Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System
The Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System, also referred to as the Federal Reserve Board, is the main governing body of the Federal Reserve System. Its purpose is to oversee the Federal Reserve Banks and to assist in the implementation of the monetary policy of the U.S. The Federal Reserve Bank is the central bank of the United States. Its purpose is to provide the U.S. with a stable monetary and financial system. The Research division of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis maintains a database called FRED that contains a vast archive of economic data that can be viewed in graphical and text form or downloaded for import to a database or spreadsheet, and viewed on mobile devices. Coverage includes banking, business/fiscal, consumer price indexes, employment and population, exchange rates, gross domestic product, interest rates, monetary aggregates, producer price indexes, reserves and monetary base, U.S. trade and international transactions.
Department of Commerce (United States)
The U.S. Department of Commerce (DOC) is the Cabinet department of the United States government concerned with promoting economic growth. The mission of the department is to "promote job creation and improved living standards for all Americans by creating an infrastructure that promotes economic growth, technological competitiveness, and sustainable development". Among its tasks are gathering economic and demographic data for business and government decision-making, issuing patents and trademarks, and helping to set industrial standards. The Department of Commerce headquarters is the Herbert C. Hoover Building in Washington, D.C.
Energy Information Administration (EIA)
As an agency of the U.S. Federal Statistical System and a part of the U.S. Department of Energy, the EIA collects, analyzes, and disseminates energy information to promote sound energy policy and efficient energy markets. It also works to promote public understanding of how energy, the economy and the environment interact. EIA data includes information on coal, petroleum, natural gas, electric, renewable and nuclear energy.
Institute for Quantitative Social Science (IQSS)
Harvard University's IQSS is home to the Dataverse Network Project, a software framework that enables the hosting of research data repositories. It provides a preservation and archival infrastructure, and allows researchers to share, keep control of, and get recognition for their data through an easy to access web browser interface.
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
The ICPSR gathers, maintains, and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction. It also offers training in the use of quantitative methods to researchers, and provides direct assistance to researchers in identifying relevant data for analysis and in conducting their research projects.
U.S. Census
This government website provides data on population, economics, housing, ethnicity, etc.