Skip to main content

English Composition: Home

What is a database?

When instructors tell students to use library databases to find information on a topic, they are referring to the many subject-specific online research tools the library offers. 

For students in classes like English Composition and Effective Oral Communication, an "all-purpose" database like Academic Search Complete is an excellent place to start.  See the link in the middle of this screen under Finding Magazine and Journal Articles to access this database.

Additional help in using a database like Academic Search Complete can be found at the bottom middle of this screen under "How To" Tutorials.

Finding a book in Bierce Library

ZipSearch!

ZipSearch
Limit Your Results

What Is ZipSearch?

ZipSearch is the place to start most research projects. It includes:

  • Journal articles
  • Books at UA
  • Books in OhioLINK
  • Book reviews
  • Newspaper articles
  • Magazine articles
  • Streaming video & audio

Because it includes so many resources, it can be helpful to limit your searching in ZipSearch to source types or library locations under the "Refine Results" section of the search results screen:

ZipSearch Result

If ZipSearch does not work for your research project, select a database by subject.

Some features of the UA Libraries Catalog make it the best place to search for some UA collections including:

  • Music scores
  • Streaming video & audio
  • Government documents

Finding Magazine and Journal Articles

Accessing Library Resources from Off-Campus