Skip to main content

How and When to Use Interlibrary Loan (ILL): Home

This is for accessing books and journal articles not available directly through the University of Akron or OhioLINK.

When to Use Interlibrary Loan

Books

Interlibrary loan may be used for requesting books that are not available through the UA Libraries Catalog or the OhioLINK catalog.  "Not available" may mean checked out, lost, missing, or simply not showing up in the catalog at all (in this last case, be sure that you have the author and title correct--often doing a general Google or Amazon search for a book can confirm that you have correct bibliographic information).

Articles

Interlibrary loan may be used for articles that appear in journals that either are unavailable through the UA Libraries homepage, or the desired year and issue of the journal is not available.  When searching in UA Library databases, most results will either have a direct full-text link (pdf or html), a Full Text Finder link that opens the article from another library database.  In other instances, search results will have an "ILL" or "Request through Interlibrary Loan" link appear in the database when specific articles are not available.  Such a link will take you directly to the ILL log in screen, explained further below.

Other Items--musical scores, dissertations, videos, etc.

Generally, print items that are not extremely rare can be obtained via Interlibrary Loan--dissertations and musical scores, for example.  An extremely old or rare item housed in a library's archives will not likely be available.  Videos are normally not loaned out by libraries, but there are exceptions.  If you are unsure about whether or not you should request an item through Interlibrary Loan, call 330-972-6275 or email ill@uakron.edu

Using Interlibrary Loan for the First Time

The direct link to Interlibrary Loan is in the upper-right of the main library homepage:

Registering for Interlibrary Loan

The first (and only the first) time you use Interlibrary Loan, you will need to confirm that you are a University of Akron student or faculty member, which only takes a few minutes.  Again, this only needs to be done once!:

Making the Request

Once you are signed up and inside the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) system, you can choose what type of request you wish to make:

Using ILL while in a UA database

Many people use Interlibrary Loan straight from a database:

You should only see this link when the full-text is unavailable.

Good News!

The good news is that when Interlibrary Loan is accessed from a library database, once you type in your ILL Username and Password (which you create yourself the first time you use the system--see above), all of the information is filled in for you--no typing!

The Waiting is the Hardest Part

Requested journal articles are scanned by another library and posted to your ILL account.  You will receive an e-mail notifying you when this happens.  Access received ILL articles here in your account:

 

Be sure to print and/or save any ILL articles.  For copyright reasons, links to ILL articles only last 30 days. 

Requested journal articles arrive in 2-3 business days, but books take longer, as they cannot be scanned and posted in your account. Again, you will receive an e-mail when the book arrives at the library.  You can pick books up at the Circulation Desk at the Library, the same place you go to check out books.