What is Anthropology?
Anthropology is the study of humans, past and present. To understand the full sweep and complexity of cultures across all of human history, anthropology draws and builds upon knowledge from the social and biological sciences as well as the humanities and physical sciences. A central concern of anthropologists is the application of knowledge to the solution of human problems. Historically, anthropologists in the United States have been trained in one of four areas: sociocultural anthropology, biological/physical anthropology, archaeology, and linguistics. Anthropologists often integrate the perspectives of several of these areas into their research, teaching, and professional lives.
Courtesy of AAA (The American Anthropological Association)
What do Anthropologists do?
Addressing complex questions, such as human origins, the past and contemporary spread and treatment of infectious disease, or globalization, requires synthesizing information from all four subfields. Anthropologists are highly specialized in our research interests, yet we remain generalists in our observations of the human condition and we advocate for a public anthropology that is committed to bringing knowledge to broad audiences. Anthropologists collaborate closely with people whose cultural patterns and processes we seek to understand or whose living conditions require amelioration. Collaboration helps bridge social distances and gives greater voice to the people whose cultures and behaviors anthropologists study, enabling them to represent themselves in their own words. An engaged anthropology is committed to supporting social change efforts that arise from the interaction between community goals and anthropological research. Because the study of people, past and present, requires respect for the diversity of individuals, cultures, societies, and knowledge systems, anthropologists are expected to adhere to a strong code of professional ethics.
Anthropologists are employed in a number of different sectors, from colleges and universities to government agencies, NGOs, businesses, and health and human services. Within the university, they teach undergraduate and graduate anthropology, and many offer anthropology courses in other departments and professional schools such as business, education, design, and public health. Anthropologists contribute significantly to interdisciplinary fields such as international studies and ethnic and gender studies, and some work in academic research centers. Outside the university, anthropologists work in government agencies, private businesses, community organizations, museums, independent research institutes, service organizations, the media; and others work as independent consultants and research staff for agencies such as the Centers for Disease Control, UNESCO, the World Health Organization, and the World Bank. More than half of all anthropologists now work in organizations outside the university. Their work may involve building research partnerships, assessing economic needs, evaluating policies, developing new educational programs, recording little-known community histories, providing health services, and other socially relevant activities. You will find anthropologists addressing social and cultural consequences of natural disasters, equitable access to limited resources, and human rights at the global level.
As you can see from the extensive list of sections within the American Anthropological Association, anthropologists have research interests that cut across academic and applied domains of scholarship. These domains reflect the many significant issues and questions that anthropologists engage today, their areas of employment, the locations around the world where they do research, and their commitment to using research results to improve lives. We invite you to explore the diversity of topics and approaches in this exciting field.
Courtesy of AAA (The American Anthropological Association)
In the UA Libraries Catalog, use a "Keyword" search to find relevant books. If you know the title, select the "Title" tab, then enter the beginning of the title. You can also try a "Subject" search to locate appropriate subject headings. Select the heading to retrieve a list of books from the catalog.
Other places to look for books include ebrary books, OhioLINK, and WorldCat. If the item you need is not available in the UA Library Catalog or through OhioLINK, request the item through Interlibrary Loan (ILL) using the ILLiad system.
There are no articles in the UA Libraries Catalog. You must search an article database to find citations to articles on your topic.
The list of article databases recommended for Anthropology & Archaeology can be generated by selecting Subject Guides under the Research tab on the main library homepage, then navigating to the Business link on the left.
Use a "Keyword" search, and then refine the search using the subject field within the database. If the full text is not available in the database, use the "Find It" tool in the database to determine whether or not we have an electronic or print subscription to the journal. If it is not available in the library, request the article through Interlibrary Loan (ILL) using ILLiad.
Finding Full-Text E-Journals
The University of Akron subscribes to many e-journals in full text. To view the list of e-journals related to economics, select "E-Journals" in the UA Libraries Catalog. Under "Browse e-journals by subject", select "Business and Economics". Navigate to the appropriate subject. Each e-journal will include one or more links to the years that are available to use.
If you know the title of the journal, use the title search in the "E-Journal" tab of the UA Libraries Catalog.
Finding Internet Resources
When using Web resources for research, it is important to determine the authority and accuracy of the information. Evaluate the source before using, based on whether it is current, and whether it is provided by an unbiased source. Your instructor may have specific instructions on what may be used.