Finding Articles
While articles are not accessible through the Library Catalog, specific journals are; however, most articles are available in full-text format via the specialized databases listed on this page. Use these databases to locate articles relevant to your topic. NOTE: you cannot find these articles using a search engine, as they are owned by the database vendor, protected by a firewall, and require the Library's subscription in order to use them.
A good strategy is to begin with the "Keyword" search, and then refine the search using the "Subject" search if there are too many results. If the full text PDF is not available in the database, use the "Full Text Finder" link to connect to the article outside of the database. If the journal is not available in the library, you can use the "Request through interlibrary loan" link to obtain a copy through our Tipasa System.
You may find assistance with all of the above at the User Support Services desk on the first floor of Bierce Library. Phone: 330-972-8161
Most Relevant Databases
A compilation of the Royal Anthropological Institute's Anthropological Index and Harvard's Anthropological Literature. The World's largest source of anthropological, archaeological, and related interdisciplinary research.
A cross-cultural database of information on all aspects of cultural and social life, organized into cultures and ethnic groups.
Provides comprehensive coverage in all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure.
Provides comprehensive coverage of sociology and related areas of study.
Also Relevant
A bibliographic database covering all aspects of Indigenous culture, history, and life in North America.
Covers the full spectrum of sexual diversity issues and gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations and other sources.
Access to articles covering world history from 1450 to present (excluding U.S. and Canada).
Provides a subject index for discovering books, chapters, and journal articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore, linguistics, literary theory & criticisms, dramatic arts, and the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
This database is a systematic and non-evaluative bibliographic index of research, policy, and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia, and North Africa.
Abstracts and references to journal articles regarding race relations, ethnic studies, discrimination, and immigration.
A comprehensive resource for scholarship in religion and philosophy.
Covers the core disciplines in Women's Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. This database supports curriculum development in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education.