Skip to main content

Foundations of Music Education: Databases Useful for Music Education Research

How do I Find a Specific Article?

Do you know where the Article is (what journal, conference, volume, pages, etc)? Use the UA Libraries Catalog. opens new window

Need a Specific Article that Can't be Downloaded and is not in our Library? Try

Want to Access Electronic Resources Off-Campus?

Be sure to use the UA Libraries Catalog or Web site to use the proxy server. Go to a definition of a proxy server. opens new window You will be prompted for your UANet ID and password from The University of Akron Login screen. Most of the time you will be prompted one time per browser session.

If you go to the URL of the resource directly, you will bypass the proxy server.

Some resources like SciFinder will require another user id and password, but most don't. Often when you are prompted by anything besides The University of Akron Login screen, either

  • you did not go through or were somehow dropped by the proxy server or
  • we do not have access to the particular item, such as an article from a year of a journal that is not part of our subscription. Check the Publication Finder to verify dates that we subscribe.

General Databases

Music Article Databases

Education and Government Databases

Psychology and Sociology Databases

Resources for statistics and data

Streaming Audio Databases

In addition to over one million tracks, the Naxos Music Library database has many tools helpful to the music education students, including:

  • A "Junior" section
  • Playlists of music that utilize children
  • A study area that includes listening curricula and educational content meeting various international standards (nothing from the U.S.)
  • Resources that included graded music exam playlists

Subject Librarian

Lisa Lazar's picture
Lisa Lazar
Contact:
330-972-8424

Bierce Library, 177D