These databases contain a variety of company information; explore several to obtain a complete picture of your company.
Most Useful
The most comprehensive scholarly business database with a large percentage of full-text material from journals, conference proceedings, investment research, industry, market research, and country reports, SWOT analyses and more.
Offers a broad assortment of full text articles from business magazines and scholarly journals. A comprehensive source of business information for all levels of researchers, including students, faculty, and practicing professionals.
A professional-strength research tool that tracks more companies in more countries than any other database. Includes both U.S. and International Company Data and Annual Reports.
Provides enhanced access to the same information found in D&B’s Hoover’s Online and First Research, plus access to Key Business Rations and Industry Norms. Retrieve public and private U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, and industry profiles. Intellect company profiles incorporate ALL of the data found in Hoovers Online, plus corporate tree information and the ability to download/print company profiles. Intellect’s Advanced Search contains the same search markers as HOL, plus the Geo Mapping area, ability to download up to 20,000 records (2000 is default) and “Save Search” template builder. Also provides access to contact information for over 210 million U.S. consumers using WhitePages Pro data.
Note: To access off campus connect via VPN. Instructions for setting up the VPN. Only 5 users can use this database at a time. If you receive an error message saying that the login is in use, please try accessing the database again later. Please contact us if you experience persistent difficulties.
Financial data including stock quotes, company comparisons, financial snapshots, SEC filings, interactive charting, and historical market information. Includes full-text Wall Street Journal (1979 - present), New York Times (1980 - present), Washington Post, Newsweek, Business Week, Forbes, and Fortune.
Also Useful
To access resource, register for an SNL account with your University of Akron email.
Financial information including, but not limited to, newsletters, real-time news/alerts, news archive, company profiles, documents, events calendar, industry/market data, templated and as-reported sector-specific financials, transcripts, presentations, mergers & acquisitions, credit ratings, consensus analyst estimates, Excel integration tools, and mapping functionality in global industry.
Private company information is difficult to locate and usually requires multiple methods and sources. Unlike public companies, private companies are not required to file with the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC), so the information found in those documents is not usually available for private companies.
Tips!:
Provides enhanced access to the same information found in D&B’s Hoover’s Online and First Research, plus access to Key Business Rations and Industry Norms. Retrieve public and private U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, and industry profiles. Intellect company profiles incorporate ALL of the data found in Hoovers Online, plus corporate tree information and the ability to download/print company profiles. Intellect’s Advanced Search contains the same search markers as HOL, plus the Geo Mapping area, ability to download up to 20,000 records (2000 is default) and “Save Search” template builder. Also provides access to contact information for over 210 million U.S. consumers using WhitePages Pro data.
A professional-strength research tool that tracks more companies in more countries than any other database. Includes both U.S. and International Company Data and Annual Reports.
To access off campus connect via VPN. Instructions for setting up the VPN. Please contact us if you experience any difficulties.
Bloomberg Law provides access to legal content integrated with proprietary company and market information as well as world-class news.
Financial Ratios can be found in Factiva by opening the "Companies/Markets" drop down menu from the navigation bar at the top of any Factiva page
1. Follow the "Company" link.
2. Enter your company name in the Smart Lookup search box. The company report will display.
3. Select "Financial Results" from the list of links on the left side of the page. The Financial Results page will display.
4. Click on the arrow in the "Statement Type" search box and select "Key Ratios" from the drop down list.
5. Click "Go". A list of ratios will display!
Provides enhanced access to the same information found in D&B’s Hoover’s Online and First Research, plus access to Key Business Rations and Industry Norms. Retrieve public and private U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, and industry profiles. Intellect company profiles incorporate ALL of the data found in Hoovers Online, plus corporate tree information and the ability to download/print company profiles. Intellect’s Advanced Search contains the same search markers as HOL, plus the Geo Mapping area, ability to download up to 20,000 records (2000 is default) and “Save Search” template builder. Also provides access to contact information for over 210 million U.S. consumers using WhitePages Pro data.
Use these databases to access company and industry information in business journals, trade publications, magazines, major newspapers, and reports.
To access a brief company profile use Business Source Complete. Click on "Company Information" on the top navigation bar, enter a company name, find your company in the result list.
Offers a broad assortment of full text articles from business magazines and scholarly journals. A comprehensive source of business information for all levels of researchers, including students, faculty, and practicing professionals.
The most comprehensive scholarly business database with a large percentage of full-text material from journals, conference proceedings, investment research, industry, market research, and country reports, SWOT analyses and more.
Contains the full text of numerous key periodicals, reference books, case studies, company profiles and videos with transcripts. Useful to academic and student researchers, as well as practicing professionals.