Skip to main content

Polymer Concepts: Citing Sources

Decoding Science Abbreviations

Do I need Copyright Clearance?

Probably not unless you plan on publishing your work publically (thesis or dissertation, journal article, etc). If you want to reuse images/figures from another author in your published work use the Copyright Clearance Center to find permission rules for various publishers.

You can also email the librarian for more help.

Finding Articles

If you need to find articles on a TOPIC or SUBJECT, use one of our databases. Databases collect article references from many sources so you can search broadly.

If you have a reference and you want to FIND AN EXACT ARTICLE, use the A-to-Z journal list. Search for the journal title and follow the links to the full text.

Alternately, you can use Google Scholar, which is pretty good at locating EXACT article titles.

ACS Style

ACS Style Guide Jacket ACS Style is the most common citation style for chemists.

RefWorks

The University of Akron provides free access to RefWorks for all students, faculty and staff. RefWorks is a Web-based bibliography and database manager that allows you to create your own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases. You can use these references in writing papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds. Use your UANetID and password to login.

Other Citation Management Systems

Citation managers (like RefWorks) allow you to save your references and drop them into papers or bibliographies in the format of your choice. University of Akron subscribes to RefWorks, and it works well, but there are some other options.