LibGuides: From Think Tank to Shark Tank: Resource Guide: Teacher Research Resources

"Grab and go" teaching resources

Please feel free to download these 'grab and go' resource documents for use or adaptation in your lessons about the importance of academic research.

Documents include 1) The "Is it CRAAP?" document series, which can be used as an exercise to assist students in determining whether an information resource is a credible and/or reliable information resource (including an example of how to complete the exercise, as well as a blank exercise sheet), 2) the Search Strategy Quick Tips document series (i.e. how to 'phrase' your information search to increase the relevancy of your search results), and 3) The "What's my Question?" document series, which can be used to assist students in creating a research strategy and enhancing their understanding of academic research (includes a hard copy of the WMQ exercise, an example of the exercise in practice, and a blank exercise sheet).

Documents are available for download as both MS Word and Adobe PDF files.

Engineering Resources for Teachers

Engineering Innovation and Entrepreneurship: An introduction for students

K-12 Engineering Resources

K-12 Entrepreneurship

Middle School Chemistry: Teach science by doing science

P-16 Science Education at the Akron Global Polymer Academy

Resources for Students

InfOHio Core Collection
Collection of electronic resources available at no cost to all K-12 teachers and students. To use from home, you may need to contact your school media specialist for an ID and password.

OhioMeansJobs Assessment and Training Center This link opens in a new window
Provides all Ohioans with the ability to locate jobs throughout the state and to aid employers in finding qualified employees. The Assessment and Training Center provides access to ebooks, practice tests, and assessment tools for graduate school entrance tests and college and career entrance and licensing exams, in addition to AP and CLEP exams, job and life skills, remedial education in primary and secondary school courses, and state-mandated assessments for those seeking state benefits or assistance.

N.B. - Select "Access Learning Express Anonymously" and scroll down to topics
Includes:
GMAT preparation
GRE preparation
LSAT preparation
MAT preparation
MCAT preparation
PCAT preparation
CLEP Preparation
Test-taking skills improvement
Prepare for the ParaPro assessment
Prepare for the Praxis core tests
Prepare for the Praxis subject assessments
Prepare for the NES essential academic skills test
Prepare for the TEAS tests
Prepare for the Nursing school entrance tests
Prepare for the NCLEX-RN
Prepare for the NCLEX-PN
Prepare for the ASWB exams
Prepare for allied health career entrance tests
MAS Ultra - School Edition This link opens in a new window
Contains full text for popular high school magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator.
Middle Search Plus This link opens in a new window
Contains full text for popular middle school magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator.
Explora for Secondary Schools This link opens in a new window
Explora for Secondary Schools is a search interface designed for students in grades 6-12. It provides students with research tools to obtain appropriate types of content (magazines, newspapers, biographies, etc.) on a variety of topics. This resource was previously known as Student Research Center.
Explora for Primary Schools This link opens in a new window
Explora for Primary Schools is a colorful, mobile-friendly search for students in grades K-5. Explora provides an easy to use interface to find magazine articles, pictures, and encyclopedias. Searching is organized by topic, and topic overviews are available for many subjects. This resource was previously known as Kids Search.