LibGuides: Study Aids for First Year Courses: Torts

Torts Study Aids

Key to Study Aid Icons

	Contains summaries of cases from casebooks.
	Contains outlines.
	Contains sample exam questions and answers.
	Recommended by ASP or a professor.

Hypotheticals

Acing Tort Law by Shubha Ghosh
Call Number: LAW OASP
Publication Date: 2022
2022 edition available via West Academic Digital Study Aids
Examples and Explanations The Law of Torts by Joseph W. Glannon
Call Number: Aspen Learning Library (fka Wolters Kluwer Study Aid Library)
Publication Date: 2020
* Presents the law of torts by explaining concepts, which are immediately followed by multiple-choice questions and analysis.
2020 edition also in print in the ASP Library.
Exam Pro - Torts - Objective by John H. Bauman; Ronald W. Eades
Call Number: West Academic Study AIds
Publication Date: 2021
Includes online interactive multiple choice questions.
Questions and Answers - Torts by Anita Bernstein
Call Number: LAW OASP
Publication Date: 2018
Each study guide contains over 150 multiple-choice and short-answer questions, as well as a comprehensive "practice final exam" to help you prepare for course study and for your final exams.

(Rigo's) Law school and UBE Torts Primer
OASP
2017
Concise focused coverage of torts, acronyms-mnemonics memory aids, question maps cross-reference text to questions, over 200 multiple-choice questions with full answers, essay questions with grading guides and answers, Magic Memory outline.

Step-by-Step Guide to Torts
Call Number: West Academic
Publication Date: 2022
Rule statements broken down by element and steps for applying facts to the elements. Short answer questions and answers, as well as sample essays and answers.

Hornbooks, Nutshells and Other Narrative Text

These books present the law in a text format with references to cases, statutes and secondary sources. Thompson West's Hornbook Series cover topics in great detail and is useful for obtaining a deeper understanding of a subject. Others, such as the Nutshell and the Concise Hornbook Series, cover key concepts with less detail, but are excellent for quick reference and review.

Hornbooks

The Law of Torts, 2nd Edition by Dan B. Dobbs; Paul T. Hayden; Ellen M. Bublick
Call Number: Library reference - KF1250 .D59 2016
Publication Date: 2016
* Hornbook Series
Also available via West Academic Digital Study Aids

Nutshells

Torts in a Nutshell by Edward J. Kionka
Call Number: West Academic Only
Publication Date: 2020
Advanced Torts in a Nutshell
Call Number: West Academic
Publication Date: 2020

Case Briefs

Casenote Legal Briefs for Torts
Call Number: Aspen Learning Library (fka Wolters Kluwer Study Aid Library)
The Aspen Learning Library contains six Casenote books, each one keyed to a different casebook: 1. Epstein and Sharkey, 11th ed. 2. Epstein and Sharkey, 10th ed., 3. Franklin, Rabin, and Green, 9th ed. 4. Franklin, Rabin, and Green, 10th ed., 5. Goldberg, Sebok, and Zipursky, 6. Prosser, Wade, and Schwartz.
High Court Cases Summaries, Torts
Call Number: West Academic Digital Study Aids
West Academic contains High Court Case Summaries Keyed to: 1. Dobbs, 2. Epstein, 3. Franklin and 4. Prosser. They include additional quick memory aids include headnotes, instant facts, black letter rules, case vocabulary, and graphics.
Torts Stories
Call Number: West Academic Digital Study Aids
This publication provides a student with an understanding of ten leading torts cases, focusing on how the litigation was shaped by lawyers, judges and socioeconomic factors, and why the cases have attained landmark status.

Other

(Concepts and Insights Series) The Forms and Functions of Tort Law by Kenneth S. Abraham
Call Number: OASP
Publication Date: 2022
* This straightforward, readable text covers all the major cases and issues in the standard torts course.
2022 edition via West Academic Digital Study Aids
(Concise Hornbook Series) Principles of Tort Law, 4th by Marshall S. Shapo
Call Number: KF1250 .S46 2016
Publication Date: 2016
Coverage includes case summaries of "newsworthy issues" of headline interest throughout the text.
Also available via West Academic Digital Study Aids
Inside Torts: What Matters and Why
Call Number: Aspen Learning Library (fka Wolters Kluwer Study Aid Library)
Includes FAQs, sidebars, study tips, practice pointers.
Jumpstart Torts: Reading and Understanding Torts Cases
Call Number: Aspen Learning Library (fka Wolters Kluwer Study Aid Library)
*Helps students learn how to read cases by explaining legal concepts and procedural stages using short sample cases.
*Glossary of terms, idioms and procedures
*Exam how-tos, and a sample essay exam.
Short and Happy Guide to Torts by Roger E. Schechter
Call Number: West Academic Only
Publication Date: 2021
In this concise book, Professor Schechter, an award-winning teacher and prominent national bar lecturer, has balanced brevity and humor with a clear, crisp and thorough review of basic Torts doctrine.
Understanding Torts by John L. Diamond; Lawrence C. Levine; Anita Bernstein
Call Number: LAW OASP
Publication Date: 2018
* LexisNexis Understanding Series

Torts Outlines

(Black Letter Outline on) Torts by Edward J. Kionka
Call Number: LAW OASP
Publication Date: 2013
* Outlines, multiple-choice, true-false, and essay questions with explanations.
Also available online via West Academic.
Emanuel Crunchtime for Torts
Call Number: Aspen Learning Library
With flowcharts and capsule summaries of major points of law and critical issues, as well as exam tips for identifying common traps and pitfalls, sample exam and essay questions with model answers.
Available in print at OASP.
(Emanuel Law Outline) Torts
Call Number: LAW OASP
Publication Date: 2015
* Includes flow charts for analyzing issues, an outline of key concepts and an exam tips section.
* Contains sample multiple-choice, short answer and essay questions.
2024 edition on Aspen Learning Library
Emanuel Law Outlines - Torts : keyed to Prosser/Wade/Schwartz
Call Number: LAW OASP
Publication Date: 2016
* Outlines, sample multiple-choice and essay questions with explanations, exam tips
* Includes textbook correlation chart.
Also on Aspen Learning Library fkaWolters Kluwer Online Study Aids
Gilbert Law Summaries on Torts by Marc A. Franklin; William Jonathan Cardi; Michael D. Green
Call Number: LAW OASP
Publication Date: 2017
Also available via West Academic Digital Study Aids
Glannon Guide to Torts
Call Number: Aspen Learning Library (fka Wolters Kluwer Study Aid Library)
Glannon Guides can help you better understand your classroom lecture with straightforward explanations of tough concepts with hypos that help you understand their application.
Quick Review of Torts. 6th ed. by Lawrence C. Levine
Call Number: West Academic Digital Study Aids
Publication Date: 2022
Starting off Right in Torts by Carolyn J. Nygren
Call Number: LAW OASP
Publication Date: 2012
* Provides brief explanations and outlines of key torts concepts.
* Includes sample essay questions and explanations.
* Discusses general law school skills including exam taking, outlining and reading cases.
Sum and Substance Quick Review on Torts by Lawrence C. Levine
Call Number: LAW OASP
Publication Date: 2014
* Presents the law of torts in an outline format.
* Provides sample essay and multiple-choice questions.
Also available online via West Academic Study Aids.

Study Aids for First Year Courses

Flashcards

Audio and Video Lectures

CALI

Torts Study Aids

Key to Study Aid Icons

Hypotheticals

Hornbooks, Nutshells and Other Narrative Text

Torts Outlines