A news collection (including the Akron Beacon Journal), explore issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
Provides digital access to a highly comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1691 and 1877. Subject coverage includes: advertising, health, women's issues, science, the history of slavery, industry and professions, religious issues, culture and the arts, and more.
Provides access to special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and trade magazines. Especially helpful for historical research into 18th and 19th Century America.
Note: To access off campus connect via VPN. Instructions for setting up the VPN. Only 5 users can use this database at a time. If you receive an error message saying that the login is in use, please try accessing the database again later. Please contact us if you experience persistent difficulties.
Financial data including stock quotes, company comparisons, financial snapshots, SEC filings, interactive charting, and historical market information. Includes full-text Wall Street Journal (1979 - present), New York Times (1980 - present), Washington Post, Newsweek, Business Week, Forbes, and Fortune.
Full text archive of the New York Times. Covers from 1851 to present with a 5 year embargo.
A fully searchable resource for Latin American newspapers from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and elsewhere.
Provides cover-to-cover full-text access to many U.S. and international newspapers.
A primary resource covering current social issues that helps students discover, analyze, and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, writing assignments, debates, and presentations. By providing both pro and con perspectives on many topics, this is an excellent starting point for building an argumentative essay.
This resource assists researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects.
A simple and convenient way to access Akron Beacon Journal in a digital format. Retrieve, view, print and save digitized images of the Akron Beacon Journal pages and articles.
Key resource for scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in the behavioral sciences and mental health.
Includes full-text titles covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
Handbook used by health care professionals in the United States and much of the world as the authoritative guide to the diagnosis of mental disorders. DSM contains descriptions, symptoms, and other criteria for diagnosing mental disorders. Access includes the Spanish edition as well.
Searchable interface to select APA databases and publications (PsycARTICLES, PsycBOOKS, PsycEXTRA, & PsycTESTS).
Comprehensive guide to contemporary testing instruments. Includes a review for each instrument as well as validation article citations when applicable.
Index to published measurement instruments in health, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science.
Provides indexing and substantial abstracts for books, book chapters, scholarly journal articles, government reports, and dissertations related to the field of criminal justice.
Provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts and articles.
A rich collection of citation indexes representing the citation connections between scholarly research articles found in the most globally significant journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences and art & humanities.
A full text searchable database of electronic journal articles from thousands of academic journals from top scholarly publishers, academic societies, and university presses. Covers a wide range of disciplines and contains scientific research as well as historical journal articles.
Masters and doctoral theses and dissertations from participating OhioLINK member institutions.
Scholarly ebooks covering a wide variety of subjects with a user-friendly interface.
Contains e-books on many academic subjects. Every word in every book is searchable and users can preview the e-books online and can check out the book for a specified amount of time.
Web-based digital video service streaming educational titles in dozens of subject areas.
Streaming documentaries and other educational videos covering a wide variety of subjects with a user-friendly and accessible interface.