Technical Reports & DataTheses/DissertationsMore Resources
Web of ScienceEngineering VillageOther Tutorials
This is the "FAQ" page of the "Civil Engineering" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Civil Engineering  

Last Updated: Oct 20, 2014 URL: http://libguides.uakron.edu/civil_engineering Print Guide RSS Updates

FAQ Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

FAQ

Courses

 

Rate this Guide!

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


News for Faculty

IdeaExchange@UAkron is our new institutional repository. Preserve your work and make it easier to find via Google. Create a SelectedWorks page to promote your most important works.

When posting work, always follow the publisher's guidelines.

 

Recent Civil Engineering Faculty Publications

Loading Loading...
blank padding

Want to Access Electronic Resources Off-Campus?

Use the proxy server by accessing resources using the UA Libraries Catalog or Web site. You will be prompted for your UANet ID and password from The University of Akron Login screen. Most of the time you will be prompted one time per browser session. NOTE: If you go to the URL of the resource directly, you will bypass the proxy server.

Some resources like Refworks will require another user id and password, but most don't. Often when you are prompted by ANYTHING besides The University of Akron Login screen, either

  • You did not go through or were somehow dropped by the proxy server or
  • we do not have access to the particular item (an article from a year of a journal that is not part of our subscription). Check the E-Journal Portal to verify dates that we have access.

Where do I start?

Subject or Course Guides are a great place to go to find out about a subject (If this is the subject you seek, you are already here!).

Search-A-Roo is a good place to start [more information]. It searches several of our databases and catalogs simultaneously. This is not to be used for in-depth research.

Good use – Find one article to review for a class project.
Poor use – Perform a background search for your thesis.
*Images provided by Microsoft Clip Art

Use the databases directly for in-depth research on a topic. If you know exactly what book (or DVD, etc.) that you want, use the catalog directly.

  • Subject Guides
    Guides to research and resources created by UL librarians.
  • Search-A-Roo
    Search the UA Libraries catalog, OhioLINK catalog, and several databases in most disciplines all at once. Search-A-Roo is the best place to start many research projects. If it does work for your research project, select a database by subject.

How do I Find a Specific Article?

Do you know WHERE the Article is (what journal, conference, volume, pages, etc)? Use the UA Libraries Catalog.

  • For journals, use a title search (EXACT title).
  • For conferences, use a keyword search.
  • Pay attention to the volumes/years that we have. For more assistance, please contact me.

Need a SPECIFIC Article that Can't be Accessed Electronically and is Not in Our Library? Try

  • InterLibrary Loan
    Need a reference and you cannot access it through UA Libraries, OhioLINK, or SearchOhio? Try Interlibrary Loan.

How do I Find Articles on an Interdisciplinary or More General Civil Engineering Topic?

Did not get the results that you sought from Search-A-Roo or want to perform a more thorough search? Use databases on the Civil Engineering Databases Tab. Use the descriptions to find the databases closest related to your topic and that contain articles.

Where should I start? Try the following (hover over links for more information):

How do I Find Articles on a Topic Related to Environmental Engineering?

Did not get the results that you sought from Search-A-Roo or want to perform a more thorough search? Use databases on the Civil Engineering Databases Tab. Use the descriptions to find the databases closest related to your topic and that contain articles.

Where should I start? Try the following (hover over links for more information) and go to the Water Resources FAQ:

How do I Find Articles on a Topic Related to Geotechnical Engineering?

Did not get the results that you sought from Search-A-Roo or want to perform a more thorough search? Use databases on the Civil Engineering Databases Tab. Use the descriptions to find the databases closest related to your topic and that contain articles.

Where should I start? Try the following (hover over links for more information) and go to the Environmental Engineering FAQ:

How do I Find Articles on a Topic Related to Structural Engineering?

Did not get the results that you sought from Search-A-Roo or want to perform a more thorough search? Use databases on the Civil Engineering Databases Tab. Use the descriptions to find the databases closest related to your topic and that contain articles.

Where should I start? Try the following (hover over links for more information):

How do I Find Articles on a Topic Related to Transportation?

Did not get the results that you sought from Search-A-Roo or want to perform a more thorough search? Use databases on the Civil Engineering Databases Tab. Use the descriptions to find the databases closest related to your topic and that contain articles.

Where should I start? Try the following (hover over links for more information):

How do I Find Articles on a Topic Related to Water?

Did not get the results that you sought from Search-A-Roo or want to perform a more thorough search? Use databases on the Civil Engineering Databases Tab. Use the descriptions to find the databases closest related to your topic and that contain articles. There are many government publications that are useful for water research (go to Water Related Technical Reports & Data).

Where should I start? Try the following (hover over links for more information):

Finding Water Related Technical Reports & Data

  • Water Resources of the United States
    Contains information, publications, and data for water related topics. Can access state water science centers from this resource as well. Provide by USGS, United States Geological Survey.
  • EPA Water Science
    Water resources available from the Environmental Protection Agency.
  • STORET
    Contains water quality, biological, and physical data collected by water resource management groups. Provided by Environmental Protection Agency, EPA.
  • National Oceanographic Data Center
    Contains current and historical marine environmental related data sets. Maintained by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, NOAA, National Oceanographic Data Center, NODC.
  • National Geophysics Data Center
    Contains data in several areas including, geomagnetic, marine geology & geophysics, and natural hazards. Maintained by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, NOAA, National Climatic Data Center, NGDC.

Springboard Tutorials (for Faculty)

Want to link to Library Tutorials to your course content in Springboard?

There are Springboard Modules in the Learning Repository containing links to Library tutorials on our Web site:

  • Library Tutorials – Engineering Village Tutorials
  • Library Tutorials – Finding ASTM, ANSI, ISO, and IEEE Standards
  • Library Tutorials – ACM Digital Library Tutorials
  • Library Tutorials – IEEE Xplore Tutorials
  • Library Tutorials – Web of Science Tutorials
  • Library Tutorials – Computer and Applied Sciences Complete Tutorials
  • Library Tutorials – Computers and Information Systems Abstracts Tutorials
  • Library Tutorials – Design Project Seminar (Electrical and Computer Engineering)
  • Library Tutorials – Literature Review Workshop (Electrical and Computer Engineering)

To add any of these modules to your courses, select Admin Tools Icon (Admin Tools) from the upper right and the Import/Export/Copy Components hyperlink.

Select Import Components and from Learning Object Repository. Search for and select the tutorial, create a dynamic link, then select the Create a Topic button.

 

Ask Me a Question

Email (tstitz@uakron.edu) or
Text (330-368-6192) me!

QR Code
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip