This is the "Home" page of the "Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering   Tags: chemical & biomolecular engineering  

Last Updated: Nov 20, 2014 URL: http://libguides.uakron.edu/chemeng Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Finding Articles

If you need to find articles on a TOPIC or SUBJECT, use one of our databases. Databases collect article references from many sources so you can search broadly.

If you have a reference and you want to FIND AN EXACT ARTICLE, use the A-to-Z journal list. Search for the journal title and follow the links to the full text.

Alternately, you can use Google Scholar, which is pretty good at locating EXACT article titles.

      

    Finding Books

    Use the library catalog to find books at The University of Akron. If our library doesn't have a title, click on the "Search OhioLink" button. Search OhioLink button

    If there is a copy in OhioLink, have it sent to Akron by clicking the green "Request" button.  Request Item Button

    If the book is not at Akron or in OhioLink, try Interlibrary Loan.

        

      ACS Publications

      How to Use This Guide

      Hi, my name is Ian McCullough, Physical Sciences Librarian at University of Akron. Here's what the major tabs (above) are about:

         "Find Chem Lit" - Finding articles by structure, keyword, subject; finding books; finding basic background information in references.

         "Properties & Spectra" - Use our electronic and print resources to find spectral and physical property data.

         "Citation & References" - ACS style, avoiding plagiarism, RefWorks and how and when to reference.

         "Safety" - Information about lab safety, material safety data sheets, the NFPA labelling system, and more.

         "Patents" - where to search for and obtain patent literature.

         "SciFinder Guide" - Tutorials on using SciFinder.

         "Bulk Chemical Prices" - Some workarounds for finding bulk chemical prices on the web using UAkron resources.

         "Course Guides" - Links to libguides for specific Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering courses.

      If this is confusing, or you aren't finding what you want, please contact me (contact info on the right). I'm willing to teach chemical information to just about any person or group anywhere.

      Thanks for stopping by.

         

          

        Chemistry Engineering - Essential Databases

        If you are looking for an article, try these databases first -

        • SciFinder Scholar  
            
          You will need to register if you do not have an account. Contains references to patents, conference proceedings, technical reports, dissertations, and articles, as well as chemical data (structures and properties) and reaction information.
        • Web of Science
          The best curated scientific citation service – you can tell easily who cited an article in question within the Web of Science database. Also has good search capabilities for finding and analyzing an author's publications.
        • EI Engineering Village  
            
          A cross searchable database with citations from resources in the applied sciences and engineering, includes Compendex.
        • Reaxys  
            
          For engineers, the spectral and physical property search capabilities, linked to the literature, can be very useful.
        • Knovel
          Over 800 essential reference books and databases from the world's leading scientific publishers and professional societies in 18 industrially important subject areas.

        Subject Librarian

        Profile Image
        Ian McCullough
        Logo - FacebookLogo - Twitter
        Contact Info
        330-972-6264
        Science & Technology Library, 138
        Send Email
        Description

        Loading  Loading...

        Tip