Skip to main content

eZProxy Troubleshooting Guide: Troubleshooting

Want to Access Electronic Resources Off-Campus?

Be sure to use the UA Libraries Catalog or Web site to use the proxy server. Go to a definition of a proxy server. You will be prompted for your UANet ID and password from The University of Akron Login screen. Most of the time you will be prompted one time per browser session.

If you go to the URL of the resource directly, you will bypass the proxy server.

Often when you are prompted by anything besides The University of Akron Login screen, we do not subscribe to the particular item. If you are trying to download an article, check the Publication Finder to verify dates that we subscribe. If you can download articles or use the database on-campus, use this guide to troubleshoot problems.

I am Getting an Error when using the Proxy Server

Report Your Problem

Call

The Bierce Library
330-972-8161

The Science & Technology Library
330-972-7195

Zip Support
330-972-6888

Web Form

You may use either link below to report problems accessing the electronic resources.

Zip Support

What should I include when I Submit an Error Report

  1. What are you
    • trying to use. For example,
      • ScienceDirect or
      • Academic Search Complete
    • trying to get. For example,
      • Effects of Contact Ratio on Transmission Errors of Trochoidal Gears by Ohta, Kurita, and Kishi; J. Tribol. 2014;136(3) from URL
  2. Where are you? Are you
    • at your house,
    • your work,
    • a public library?
  3. What browser and operating system are you using?
  4. What steps did you take to get this error? Be sure to include error messages and URLs. Screenshots might help to recreate the problem.

EZproxy Administrator Error Message

PROBLEM

I logged in using my UAnetID and password then I received the following message:

To allow {URL} to be used in a starting point URL, your EZproxy administrator must first authorize the hostname of this URL in the config.txt file. Within this database's section of config.txt, either the following line must be added:
Host …
or, alternatively, a RedirectSafe for this host or domain may be appropriate.
After editing config.txt, the EZproxy server must be restarted to make changes take effect.

 

SOLUTION

The {URL} that you tried to access is not included in the list of URLs for the proxy server. This might not be included because we do not subscribe to the database, journal, etc. If you can use it on-campus, please report this error.

Use this guide to find out

Asking for a Password

PROBLEM

I used the University Libraries Web Site or the UA Libraries Catalog to access a database, journal, etc. off-campus and I was never prompted for my UAnet ID and password. When I tried to download an article, the Web site asked for a username and password.

SOLUTION

Most likely, the proxy prefix was not included in the URL

  • http://ezproxy.uakron.edu:2048/login?url=

For example, IEEE Xplore can be accessed off-campus using

  • http://ezproxy.uakron.edu:2048/login?url=http://ieeexplore.ieee.org

Include the proxy prefix with the URL that you were trying to access. If you can download articles from this journal or database on-campus without a password, please report this error.

Use this guide to find out

404 Error Message

PROBLEM

I logged in using my UAnetID and password then I received a “404” error

SOLUTION

The URL that was passed to the proxy server is not correct. Make sure the URL contains “http://” For example, a 404 error would occur when using

  • http://ezproxy.uakron.edu:2048/login?url=ieeexplore.ieee.org

because it should be

  • http://ezproxy.uakron.edu:2048/login?url=http://ieeexplore.ieee.org

If you get a 404 error when using a hyperlink on the UA Libraries Web site, please report this error.

Use this guide to find out

Was Accessing Articles and now Prompted to Pay

PROBLEM

I was using a database, journal, etc. through the proxy without problem, then I was directed to a Web site requiring money for an article.

SOLUTION

If “ezproxy” is no longer in the URL, you are no longer using the proxy server. Try using the proxy prefix

  • http://ezproxy.uakron.edu:2048/login?url=

at the beginning of the URL. If you receive an error and you are using the Electronic Journal Center or something else that you know we get from OhioLINK, try using the hyperlink on the OhioLINK Web site.

If you receive the following message: "We're sorry, but this article is not currently available via remote authentication" from OhioLINK, please report this error.

Find out

Blank Screen instead of the Database Screen

PROBLEM

I logged in using my UAnetID and password but I get a blank screen or the database does not function otherwise.

SOLUTION

Some databases might function better in another browser when using the proxy server. Try in multiple browsers. In addition, the firewall of your off-campus location could prevent use of the proxy server. There are two ports that the proxy server might need to function: port 2048 and 2443. If either port is blocked by the firewall, it might prevent its use.

IEEE Personal Account Login

PROBLEM

I received a "connection refused by ieeexplore.ieee.org" error message when I try to login to my IEEE personal account when I am off-campus.

SOLUTION

At this time, you cannot log into your personal account when using our proxy server. You could use a VPN if you would like to use both off-campus unless you are using Windows 10. Unfortunately, ITS hasn't found a solution for it yet. Information about how to install the VPN.

EndNote Basic and EBSCO

PROBLEM

I can't use the export, Direct export to EndNote Web, using databases in EBSCO when I am off-campus. It doesn't import them and doesn't give an error message.

SOLUTION

You could use a VPN off-campus unless you are using Windows 10. Information about how to install the VPN.

If you have Windows 10, you can export from the database in EBSCO using RIS and import it into EndNote Web using the Import Option, RefMan RIS. Go to a video demonstrating how to import to EndNote Basic when you are using Windows 10 on the Reference Management Tools Guide..