This is the "Home" page of the "Geosciences - Geology, Geography, and Environmental Science" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Geosciences - Geology, Geography, and Environmental Science  

Last Updated: Dec 2, 2014 URL: http://libguides.uakron.edu/geoscience Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Finding Books

Use the library catalog to find books at The University of Akron. If our library doesn't have a title, click on the "Search OhioLink" button. Search OhioLink button

If there is a copy in OhioLink, have it sent to Akron by clicking the green "Request" button.  Request Item Button

If the book is not at Akron or in OhioLink, try Interlibrary Loan.

      

    Finding Articles

    If you need to find articles on a TOPIC or SUBJECT, use one of our databases. Databases collect article references from many sources so you can search broadly.

    If you have a reference and you want to FIND AN EXACT ARTICLE, use the A-to-Z journal list. Search for the journal title and follow the links to the full text.

    Alternately, you can use Google Scholar, which is pretty good at locating EXACT article titles.

        

      How to Use This Guide

      Hi, my name is Ian McCullough, Physical Sciences Librarian at University of Akron. This guide has information about library resources for geology, geography, and environmental science majors of all types. The guide pages are:

         "GeoRef"- The most important database of articles, books, and more for geosciences gets it's own page with tips on use and a link to a tutorial.

         "Geology Resources" - Geology websites and a list of reference works - encyclopedias and the CRC Handbook - mostly electronic.

         "Geography Resources" - many links to publically available map datasets and a few reference materials.

         "Citation & Plagiarism" - tools to avoid plagiarism, cite your work like a professional geoscientist, and tools to organize your references.

         "Computational Tools (Software)" - Mostly GIS oriented - programs available for you and some websites to get you started.

      If this is confusing, or you aren't finding what you want, please contact me (contact info on the right). I'm willing to provide help to just about any person or group anywhere.

      Thanks for stopping by.

         

          

        Essential Resources

        • GeoRef  
            
          The most important geology database.
        • GeoScience World  
            
          Peer-reviewed articles from high-impact journals in a broad range of geoscience areas.
        • USGS Publications Warehouse
          Search USGS publications, with full-text PDFs available for many works.
        • Web of Science
          The best curated scientific citation service – you can tell easily who cited an article in question within the Web of Science database. Also has good search capabilities for finding and analyzing an author's publications.
        • Encyclopedia of Quaternary Science (2nd Edition)
          Hundreds of articles on the Quaternary Period, revised and updated in 2013 and presented as downloadable PDF files.

        Subject Librarian

        Profile Image
        Ian McCullough
        Logo - FacebookLogo - Twitter
        Contact Info
        330-972-6264
        Science & Technology Library, 138
        Send Email
         
        Description

        Loading  Loading...

        Tip