Provides access to special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and trade magazines. Especially helpful for historical research into 18th and 19th Century America.
Includes full-text resources and indexing for the U.S. Congress. Access Congressional hearings, committee reports, witness testimony, and other publications. Content also includes the Congressional Record and its predecessors, documents from the Congressional Research Service, and information about current and historic members of Congress.
Contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from the 1500s-1920s. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more.
Indexes current, easily accessible biographical references sources, as well as important retrospective works that cover individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world.
Reference titles in this collection include encyclopedias and primary source documentation and data for political science with a focus on the operations and political context of the United States government. The A to Z Series and associated guides provide an excellent starting point for understanding fundamental topics in civics.
Collection of oral histories relating to the May 4, 1970 shootings at Kent State University in Kent, Ohio. Includes eyewitness accounts of the event and its aftermath from students, faculty, residents and guardsman.
Describes the courtroom dramas that rocked society in America, the British Empire and the world through unofficially published accounts of trials; official trial documents, briefs and arguments; and official records of legislative proceedings, administrative proceedings and arbitrations. Collections include not only published trial transcripts, but also popular printed accounts of sensational trials for murder, adultery and other scandalous crimes.
Collection of documents relating to slavery, abolition, and emancipation. Includes abolitionist broadsheets, photographs by Matthew Brady, letters and speeches of Abraham Lincoln and other presidents, and other historic letters, documents, and pictures.
An authoritative and comprehensive source on the African American experience and African and Diaspora studies. Includes scholarly articles, biographical and subject entries, primary resources, multimedia, images, maps, charts, timelines, tables, and teaching materials.
Law encyclopedia that provides both historical and contemporary comparisons of world legal systems. An international and interdisciplinary reference work, this encyclopedia covers legal history from ancient to modern times.
Large scale street plans produced by the Sanborn Fire Insurance company from 1867 to 1970 that show the outline of buildings and street names, property boundaries, building use, and house and block numbers.
Full-text resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. beginning in 1600, this collection includes document projects and archives with more than thousands of documents.
A compilation of the Royal Anthropological Institute's Anthropological Index and Harvard's Anthropological Literature. The World's largest source of anthropological, archaeological, and related interdisciplinary research.
Provides cross-searchable access to the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion online, e-Book collection, image bank, reference resources, timelines, teacher resources, and links to online museum collections. Great for anthropology, art history, history, sociology, folklore, museum studies, and cultural studies in addition to fashion and textiles and costuming.