Skip to main content

IEEE Xplore Tutorials: IEEE Xplore

IEEE Xplore Tutorials – Table of Contents

How to Access IEEE Xplore

There are 2 places to access specific databases. Use either the

  • Databases by Title hyperlink from University Libraries home page when you know the name of the database. Go to Heading: Search; Search-A-Roo; Databases by Title link
  • or Databases Tab when you are using the UA Libraries Catalog. The UA Libraries Catalog is in the top navigation of every University Libraries Webpage.

Can I use IEEE Xplore Off-Campus?

Be sure to use the UA Libraries Catalog or Web site to use the proxy server. Go to a definition of a proxy server.

What Publications are Available in IEEE Xplore

You can always use the "What can I access" hyperlink to find out what is available from IEEE Xplore.

IEEE Xplore contains full text of

  • Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) journals and conference proceedings, and
  • Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) journals and conference proceedings

to name a few. You can download full text of IEEE standards including

  • current and historical standards,
  • redline versions of the standards
    • describing the changes between the active standard and the previous edition,

but not draft standards.

There are packages that we cannot download full text through IEEE Xplore, but we might have full text download available elsewhere. Be sure to search the catalog and the e-journal hyperlink on the University Libraries Web page. Seek the volume and year that you want.

Looking for a Specific Article?

In the reference section of a paper that you are reading, you found another interesting article. If this article is in an IEEE or IET journal or it was presented at a IEEE conference, it would be quickest to use IEEE Xplore since much of this content is available full text. You can browse to find the volume, issue, and page containing the article or you can search.

For more information about browsing, use IEEE Xplore Video Tutorials

In an ideal world, references would always be right. Unfortunately, this is not always the case. If the article is not located where you thought, you can use IEEE Xplore to locate the reference information. Try variations of the information that you have. If you have the correct author and title, you should be able to locate the article. Otherwise, you might have to experiment using different searches to find it.

If it is not an IEEE or IET publication, you can try a different database or Web site, such as Engineering Village. Go to Engineering Village tutorial.

Some General Search Tips

How to Use Advanced Search

Learn how to use the advanced search function for more precision when searching for articles on your topic.

How To Use Advanced Search in IEEE Xplore Transcript (PDF)

Note: Select 720p from settings button if possible.

Is the video not visible? Check your browser compatibility. If your browser is compatible, Try the video on YouTube.

How to Subject and Keyword Search

Learn how to use subject and keyword searching to perform a more thorough search for articles on your topic.

How to Combine a Subject and Keyword Search in IEEE Xplore Transcript (PDF)

Note: Select 720p from settings button if possible.

Is the video not visible? Check your browser compatibility. If your browser is compatible, Try the video on YouTube.

How to Filter Results

Learn how to use subject and keyword searching to perform a more thorough search for articles on your topic.

How to Filter Results in IEEE Xplore Transcript (PDF)

Note: Select 720p from settings button if possible.

Is the video not visible? Check your browser compatibility. If your browser is compatible, Try the video on YouTube.

Structured Advanced Search Example

Seek information about very large scale integration and robotics by

  1. ensuring that the Metadata Only radio button is selected,
  2. typing "very large scale integration" (including that quotation marks) in the search terms textbox in the first row,
  3. selecting OR from the combo box in the second row,
  4. typing VLSI in the search terms textbox in the second row, and
  5. typing robotic in the search terms textbox in the third row.
A new compact analog VLSI model for Spike Timing Dependent Plasticity
Azghadi, M.R.; Al-Sarawi, S.; Iannella, N.; Abbott, D.
Very Large Scale Integration (VLSI-SoC)
Digital Object Identifier 10.1109/VLSI-SoC.2013.6673236
Publication Year: 2013
IEEE Conference Publications
Abstract (html) PDF © Included in Your Digital Subscription
A Systematic Method for Configuring VLSI Networks of Spiking Neurons
Neftci, E; Chicca, E; Indiveri, G; Douglas, R
LS button Neural Computation, Volume 23, Issue 10, Pages: 2457 - 2497
Digital Object Identifier: 10.1162/NECO_a_00182
Publication Year: 2011
MIT Press Journals
Abstract PDF © Full text access may be available. Click article title to sign in or learn about subscription options. Check Full Text Finder for more information

There is an icon (unlocked) that indicates that the article is included in our digital subscription. We can download A new compact analog VLSI model for Spike Timing Dependent Plasticity.

We can't download "A Systematic Method for Configuring VLSI Networks of Spiking Neurons." This record has a locked icon and IEEE directs you to sign in and pay for the article; however, the article is available for download, just not from IEEE Xplore. We can check Full Text Finder for more information by selecting the button. The article can be downloaded from EBSCO. Even if we didn't have the article somewhere else, you could always use interlibrary loan. Don't buy the article!

More Practice Problems

There is no right and wrong answer to these activities. If you want a hint, select the hyperlink on the line that you want help.

  • Let's say you want to find as many articles as you can on the topic to be sure that your dissertation topic is not already taken. You know in reality, you would need to search several databases including Dissertation Abstracts; however, you are just going to look in IEEE Xplore for this exercise.
    1. Find articles on torque consideration in and control of induction motors in IEEE Xplore [1]
    2. Perform a search on two of the common subject terms [2]
  • You want to present a paper on “model order reduction” for your class project. You want to know what techniques are being used before you decide which technique or type of application you would like to present.
    1. Use Advanced search to try to pick up variations in language [3]
    2. Narrow on a particular technique or type of system [4]
    3. Are there subject terms that you can use to make your search more relevant? [5]

Hints for these activities

  1. Started with Advanced Search: torque and induction motor
  2. Since I am trying to find more results, I picked common subjects that were not already found by the previous search: Inverters and machine control.
  3. I tried - ((model* AND reduc*) OR 'Search Index Terms':'reduced order systems') – This finds phrases like model reduction, reduced model, model order reduction, reduced order modelling, etc. and items with the subject of Reduced Order Systems. Note this is somewhat of a broad search, so you might have some irrelevant results.
  4. Balanced Truncation, Singularly Perturbed Systems, or Arnoldi Algorithm.
  5. Possible Index Term of Previous Examples: Balanced Truncation, Singularly Perturbed Systems, or Arnoldi Algorithm.

Rate this Tutorial

Rate this Tutorial