Skip to main content

International Students Library Guide: Library Resources

In the Library

On the main campus, resources are located in various buildings. Find locations and phone numbers on the Libraries homepage:

Bierce Library: Humanities, fine and applied arts, social sciences, and business.

Science & Technology: Sciences, technology, polymers, engineering, health and medicine.

Archival Services: Preservation and access to history of The University of Akron and Akron region.

Akron Law Library: Legal studies resources at The University of Akron School of Law.

Center for the History of Psychology: Archives, museum and library, supporting research and education in the history of psychology.


 

Study Spaces: Both Bierce Library and Science & Technology have open seating areas, quiet study areas, and study rooms. Study rooms in Bierce can be booked in advance online.


 

Tutoring: Help with math, writing, and general studies skills is available at Bierce Library and in the Polsky Building downtown. Some services require appointments. You can find more information on the tutoring website.


 

For Your Research

Subject Librarians: Whatever subject you study, there is a librarian to help you navigate our resources. Find your subject liaison, or call 330.972.5554 to get in touch with the specialist for your area.


Online Databases: Search our databases for your course assignments and research. You can search do a quick search in ZipSearch (includes only about one third of all databases at UA), or select specific databases by subject or by title.

ZipSearch: Great for a quick look and gathering some initial information.

By Subject: Provides you with a list of database relevant for your subject area.

By Title: Use this when you already know the name of the database you would like to search.

Not sure how to go about this? Contact your subject librarian or stop by the User Support Services Desk!


 

Books and Other Materials: Use our online catalog to search for books and other materials, such as DVDs, government documents, etc. Most of our printed materials are organized following the Library of Congress classification.If you are not sure how to locate an item, we are happy to help--just ask at the User Support Services Desk!