Skip to main content

Mechanical Engineering Technology: Getting Started

News for Faculty

IdeaExchange@UAkron is our institutional repository. Preserve your work and make it easier to find via Google. Create a SelectedWorks page to promote your most important works.

When posting work, always follow the publisher's guidelines.

I want to know more about ...

Want to Access Electronic Resources Off-Campus?

Be sure to use the UA Libraries Catalog or Web site to use the proxy server. Go to a definition of a proxy server. You will be prompted for your UANet ID and password from The University of Akron Login screen. Most of the time you will be prompted one time per browser session.

If you go to the URL of the resource directly, you will bypass the proxy server.

Some resources like SciFinder will require another user id and password, but most don't. Often when you are prompted by anything besides The University of Akron Login screen, either

  • you did not go through or were somehow dropped by the proxy server or
  • we do not have access to the particular item, such as an article from a year of a journal that is not part of our subscription. Check the Publication Finder to verify dates that we subscribe.

Where do I Start?

Subject or Course Guides are a great place to go to find out about a subject.

Search-A-Roo is a good place to start. For more information, go to the Search-A-Roo Tutorial. It searches several of our databases and catalogs simultaneously. Don't use Search-A-Roo for in-depth research.

thumbs upGood use – Find one article to review for a class project.

thumbs downPoor use – Perform a background search for your senior project.

Use the databases directly for in-depth research on a topic. If you know exactly what book, DVD, etc. that you want, use the UA Libraries Catalog directly.

*Images provided by Microsoft Clip Art

How do I Find a Specific Article?

Do you know where the Article is (what journal, conference, volume, pages, etc)? Use the UA Libraries Catalog.

Need a Specific Article that Can't be Downloaded and is not in our Library? Try

How do I Find Articles on a Topic?

Did not get the results that you sought from Search-A-Roo or want to perform a more thorough search?

Use databases on the Articles & Books using Databases Tab. Use the descriptions to find the databases that contain articles that are most closely related to your topic.

Where should I start? Try

How do I Find Material Data?

The following resources might contain the property that you are seeking. Since these are electronic, the search function is greatly helpful for quick lookup.

Where can I Find Information about Businesses?

Where can I Find Technical Reports?

How Can I Find Engineering Software?

How do I get an Article from Interlibrary Loan?

When you use the Full Text Finder button from one of our databases, this hyperlink could appear instead of sending you to the full text articles. Some databases will have this hyperlink listed directly in the database; You don't have to select the Full Text Finder button first.

Either way the form will partially fill out for you. Be sure to check the information is right – The more correct the information you give them, the faster you will get the article. After you select the hyperlink, you will need to log into your account.

Creating your Account

If you don't have an account for the ILLiad interlibrary loan system, set one up. Use the First Time User hyperlink and follow the instructions. After you complete the registration form, you can start requesting right away. You will never need to pay for an article. This service is always free for you.

Getting your Article

Interlibrary loan will get the article for you if they can. If they can get a copy, you will get an email when your article is ready. Just log into your account and you can download it. If they can't get a copy, you will get an email letting you know as well.

Filling out the Interlibrary Loan Request Form

If you did not find your article from a database and we do not have it, you will need to fill out the interlibrary loan form yourself. An example of requesting an article is

Field. Title (of Journal, Conference Proceedings, Anthology): Value. Journal of Nanoelectronics and Optoelectronics

Field. Volume: Value. 7

Field. Issue Number or Designation: Value. 3

Field. Year: Value. 2012

Field. Inclusive Pages: Value. 260 - 264

Field. ISSN: Value. 1555130X

Field. Article Author: Value. Jungho Lee, Ji-Hong, Kim, Kang-Min Do, Byung-Moo Moon, Ji-Hoon Lee, Sang-Mo Koo

Field. Article Title or Chapter Title: Value. Nanocrystalline GaZnO films for transparent electrode to silicon carbide

Springboard Tutorials (for Faculty)

There are Springboard Modules in the Learning Repository containing links to Library tutorials on our Web site:

  • Library Tutorials – Engineering Village Tutorials
  • Library Tutorials – Finding ASTM, ANSI, ISO, and IEEE Standards
  • Library Tutorials – ACM Digital Library Tutorials
  • Library Tutorials – IEEE Xplore Tutorials
  • Library Tutorials – Web of Science Tutorials
  • Library Tutorials – Computer and Applied Sciences Complete Tutorials
  • Library Tutorials – Design Project Seminar (Electrical and Computer Engineering)
  • Library Tutorials – Literature Review Workshop (Electrical and Computer Engineering)

To add any of these modules to your courses, select (Admin Tools) from the upper right and the Import/Export/Copy Components hyperlink.

Select Import Components and from Learning Object Repository. Search for and select the tutorial, create a dynamic link, then select the Create a Topic button.

Ask Me a Question

Email me at

QR Code

Related Library Guides