Skip to main content

Exercise Science: Locate Professional Journals (Wayne College): Home

Popular vs. Scholarly

Popular materials are written at a level that can be read and understood by the general population. Popular materials may be written by authors who do not have specific expertise or training in the topic discussed, and the materials are often published quickly.

Scholarly materials are written at an academic level and present the findings of scholarly research. These materials often go through a "peer review process" which validates the author(s) research methods and conclusions. To determine if an item would be considered scholarly, look for the following characteristics:

  • Length: The article is usually several pages long, and can be more than 20 pages.
  • Author(s): The article will always list an author or group of authors. Affiliations and credentials are often listed for each.
  • Audience: The intended audience includes students, researchers, and experts in the field.
  • Refereed: Research is reviewed by peers prior to being accepted for publication.
  • Illustrations: The article may include maps, tables, and graphs that support the text. Colorful photographs are rarely used.
  • References: The article will always include citations to research discussed throughout the article in the form of footnotes, end notes, and bibliographies.
  • Language: The article will be written using vocabulary used in the author's field or discipline.
  • Format: The article will follow a standard format.

Browsing vs. Searching

Have you picked out a topic yet?

  • Yes: Search an appropriate database by developing a search strategy using relevant keywords or phrases.
  • No: Browse electronic and print periodicals in the library's collection and find an article that you're interested in.

Do you have a specific source you need to locate?

  • Yes: Search an appropriate database using specific fields based on the known information.
  • No: Browse among a variety of materials.

Browse for Electronic Journals on Sports / Exercise Science

Browse for electronic journals online using the "Electronic Journal Portal":
 

  • Go to the Wayne College Library website:
  • Under the  “Journal Titles” tab select “A – Z Journal List”
  • Under “Browse by Discipline” choose “Sports Medicine”
  • Browse the titles and select the database that indexes the journal you want
  • Browse the electronic journal or use the search features of the database to locate specific topics

Search For Articles Using SPORTDiscus

Searching for a specific topic in sports? Start out searching the SPORTDiscus database.

Create an Ebsco Account to Manage Your Research

Create an account in EBSCOhost to access your personalized account, which is accessible across your favorite Ebsco databases, including Academic Search Complete, Business Source Complete, CINAHL, PsycInfo, Social Work Abstracts, and many more!

  • Save preferences
  • Organize your research with folders
  • Share your folders with others
  • View others' folders
  • Save and retrieve your search history
  • Create email alerts and/or RSS feeds
  • Gain access to your saved research remotely

Start out by accessing an EBSCO database.  In this example we are using Academic Search Complete.  Select the "Sign In" option to begin creating your account:

Either sign in with your established EBSCOhost credentials, or "Create a New Account"

Complete the registration form and "Save Changes:"

Need Help?

Just Ask

Chat with Us!

Chat service is available during normal hours of operation.

chat loading...

Download the Ask a Librarian Mobile App on your mobile devices. Search for "UA Wayne College Library" to chat with us.

The Info Squad @ UA Wayne College Library

Just ask the Info Squad at the University of Akron Wayne College Library

Start your search at UA Wayne College Library and Chat with us live!

Phone: 330.684.8789 

SMS Text: 330.828.6773

E-mail: waynelibrary@uakron.edu 

WebEx (by appointment): https://uakron.webex.com/join/waynelibrary

Wayne College Library Staff Contacts