Skip to main content

Information Literacy (Wayne College): Information Literacy Pedagogy

Information Literacy Opportunities

The library offers a variety of information literacy instruction opportunities:

  • Information literacy modules (via Brightspace)
  • Customized information literacy instruction: Customized class sessions can be arranged to meet students’ needs and to supplement course assignments.  Library staff are available for consultation prior to sessions to discuss research topics.
  • Tours and orientations: The library also offers general tours and new student and faculty orientations.  Tours and orientations can be arranged to highlight collections and services.
  • Information desk services: The library offers on-demand instruction at the information desk: live, via chat, phone or WebEx.  When answering reference questions the library staff demonstrate their research techniques and treat these interactions as teachable moments, rather than supplying the patron with the answer.
  • Customized research guides (Libguides): Research guides have been developed by library staff, in collaboration with College faculty to:
    • Supplement and reinforce skills taught in the information literacy workshops, customized information literacy instruction sessions, tours, and orientations.
    • Guide students to relevant sources and provide information literacy instruction at the point of need.
    • Provide supplemental instructional materials for faculty to embed into their courses to support information literacy initiatives.

Off-Campus Outreach

Students who attend Wayne College may choose to complete their coursework on-site at the campus in Orrville, at their local high school (as part of the College Credit Plus Option), at any of the college’s satellite locations (The Holmes Campus, The Medina County University Center), or online.

In order to extend the reach of library services beyond the brick-and-mortar building on campus, the Library staff maintain a strong online presence for off-campus students.   Traditional informational and reference assistance is supplemented by online chat and text service options and web conferencing tools like WebEx.  Library information literacy workshops are available online through the Library’s Brightspace classroom.  Research guides are provided to off-site students at the point of need.  Finally, the librarians are available to present customized information literacy sessions at any of the off-site locations or via web conference.

Information Literacy Modules

The library staff have created a menu of online information literacy modules that highlight the research skills needed to be successful during the first two years of college.  These workshops may be required by individual course instructors.   Students should check their syllabi at the start of the semester to determine which modules are required in each course.

Currently the following modules are available:

Module 1: Using Databases for Research: This module lays the foundation for performing academic library research by defining what databases are, explaining why we use databases over other search tools, and providing examples of databases we use every day and those we might use for academic research. There are no prerequisite modules to complete prior to this one.

Module 2: The Research Plan: Developing Research Questions: This module will discuss the earliest stages of a research plan: developing research questions using brainstorming and mind mapping techniques.  (Prerequisite: Module 1)

Module 3: The Research Plan: Developing Online Search Strategies: This module focuses on basic approaches to developing effective online search strategies including searching with Boolean operators and truncation. Prerequisites: Module 1, Module 2

Module 4: The Research Plan: Distinguishing among Formats: This module distinguishes among a variety of potential resource formats (books, periodicals, media, and websites) in order to aid in the research plan decision making process.  There are no prerequisite modules to complete prior to this one.

Module 5: The Research Plan: Popular and Scholarly Sources: This module distinguishes among popular, professional, and scholarly sources in order to aid in the research plan decision making process.  There are no prerequisite modules to complete prior to this one.

Module 6: The Research Plan: Choosing Appropriate Databases: This module focuses on choosing appropriate databases for specific research needs among the hundreds of databases available through The University of Akron Libraries. Choosing between databases based on coverage (general or subject-specific, dates covered, etc.) and formats available will aid in the research plan decision making process.  Prerequisite: Module 1.

Module 7: Searching Library Catalogs (Basic): This module is an introduction to library catalogs and demonstrates basic library catalog search strategies (author, title, and subject searching). Prerequisites: Module 1, Module 2, Module 3, Module 4, Module 6.

Module 8: Searching Library Catalogs (Advanced): Building on the skills discussed in Module 7, this module focuses on more advanced searching of library catalogs, including keyword searching, limiting and sorting results, retrieving and requesting items.  Prerequisites: Module 1, Module 2, Module 3, Module 4, Module 6, Module 7.

Module 9: Searching Periodical Databases (Basic): This module will lay the foundation for searching using periodical databases: performing basic keyword searches and examining database records for the citation, abstract, subject headings, and availability.  Prerequisites: Module 1, Module 2, Module 3, Module 4, Module 6.

Module 10: Searching Periodical Databases (Advanced): Building on the skills discussed in Module 9, this module focuses on more advanced searching of periodical databases, including using field-specific searches and limiters to locate focused information.  Prerequisites: Module 1, Module 2, Module 3, Module 4, Module 6, Module 9.

Module 11: Internet for Academic Research: This module explores web domains, page depth, how search engines work compared to research databases, and which materials exist in the "Invisible Web" in order to lay the foundation for effective web searching for academic sources. Prerequisite: Module 1.

Module 12: Internet: Advanced Search Strategies: 

Building on the skills discussed in Module 11, this module focuses on advanced Internet searching, highlighting Google strategies, shortcuts, and special features to aid in locating appropriate academic materials.  Prerequisites: Module 1, Module 11.

Module 13: Information Interrogation (Evaluation):

Using the six key interrogatives (who, what, where, when, why, how) evaluate the information you consume.  Apply the interrogation skills throughout your research process to ensure that the sources you consider and eventually incorporate into your projects meet the standards required of academic research.

The modules are available as online tutorials in the library's Brightspace classroom.  You must be a currently enrolled student at Wayne College to access the library's online classroom.  Contact Maureen if you do not have access to the current semester's library classroom.