Students are required to complete one article critique. An article critique is a written summary and evaluation of a scholarly publication. Examples would include Social Work, Social Work Research, Child Development, Child Welfare, Journal of Human Behavior in the Social Environment, etc. The articles must be from a social work journal. If you are unsure if the article is appropriate for the critique, please ask the instructor prior to completing the critique. The article must focus on a biological, psychological, or social perspective of human behavior and the social environment. The article should focus on a specific stage of development (infancy/childhood, adolescence, young/middle adulthood, or later adulthood). The focus of the assignment is to critically evaluate the contents of the article in order to better understand theories of human development and behavior.
Critique must be 3-4 pages typed, double-spaced, standard margins, and in correct APA format. Please attach the article to the critique. When completing the critique, please respond to the following questions:
The following are available in the Wayne College Library periodical collection:
Start out at the Wayne College Library website.
On the search box: Select the "Journal Titles" tab.
Enter the title of the journal you're looking for. For example, Journal of Human Behavior in the Social Environment.
On the results page, if your journal is listed, expand the full text access listing:
Pay attention to the full text access listings for each entry. Some databases will include shorter or older date ranges, and some will have an "embargo" or a period of time when the full text is not available.
Select the database option that best meets your needs and follow that link to view the full text.
Use the database's browse and search interfaces to navigate the electronic journal.
A good place to start for your search is the Social Work Abstracts database. Spend some time brainstorming your search terms and develop a search strategy before starting your search:
Example: Simple Search Performed in Social Work Abstracts
substance abuse AND adolescen*
When trying to determine if an article would be considered "scholarly," look at the following characteristics:
Chat service is available during normal hours of operation.
Download the Ask a Librarian Mobile App on your mobile devices. Search for "UA Wayne College Library" to chat with us.
Did you need help from the UA Wayne College Library staff and we were either closed or unavailable? Sorry we missed you! Please complete this form to let us know what you needed so we can improve our services (including hours of operation).