The library staff have created a menu of online information literacy modules that highlight the research skills needed to be successful during the first two years of college. These workshops may be required by individual course instructors. Students should check their syllabi at the start of the semester to determine which modules are required in each course. If you do not need to complete any of the modules this semester you can ignore the classroom.
If you would like more information about information literacy or Wayne College's information literacy program, visit the Information Literacy Guide.
If you have any questions regarding this course contact Maureen Lerch during normal office hours. You can expect a response within 24 hours, Monday through Friday. If you need immediate assistance and Maureen is out of the office, try contacting the Library information desk: (330) 684-8789 or email@example.com. Chat and SMS text services are also available during normal Library hours of operation.
If you are not enrolled in the Library’s current online classroom in Brightspace, contact Maureen Lerch at (330) 684-8951 or firstname.lastname@example.org immediately. If Maureen is out of the office contact the Library Information Desk at (330) 684-8789 or email@example.com. *Zip Support or Wayne College Technical Support Services will not be able to add you to the Library’s classroom.
If you have technical Brightspace questions, please contact Zip Support at (330-972-6888) or email to firstname.lastname@example.org.
The Zip Support Help Desk website may have the information you need.
There are twelve information literacy modules that you will complete outside of class on your own time. Each information literacy module includes the following materials:
What is Information Literacy?
Information literacy is the set of integrated abilities encompassing the reflective discovery of information, the understanding of how information is produced and valued, and the use of information in creating new knowledge and participating ethically in communities of learning. (ACRL Framework for Information Literacy for Higher Education, 2/2/15)
How does the library support the college's information literacy initiatives?
The library offers a menu of online information literacy modules, assignment-specific library instruction, and information literacy workshops by request. The library staff work closely with faculty to deliver instruction that supports core information literacy skills.
What information literacy modules are offered by the library?
Each semester the library provides all students and faculty associated with any Wayne College course access to an online classroom in Brightspace that includes a variety of online modules. These modules are assigned in specific courses. Specific module descriptions are provided to faculty and students at the start of each semester and can be viewed online in the classroom. The module topics range from choosing an appropriate topic, developing online search strategies, distinguishing among formats, and how to search a variety of sources, including library databases and sources on the free Internet.
How do I log into the Library's Brightspace Classroom?
Go to Brightspace and log in with your UAnet ID and password. Once you're in Brightspace, select the link for the current semester's "Wayne College Library Services" in your list of ongoing courses. (You may need to click on the link for "Ongoing" classrooms, then "No Department" to reveal the classroom's link.)
I don't have a link to the Wayne College Library Services classroom in Brightspace. How do I get access to the classroom?
Only students enrolled in Wayne College courses are enrolled in the "Wayne College Library Services" Brightspace classroom at the start of each semester. If you do not have access to this classroom and need it, please contact Maureen Lerch.
Am I required to take these modules?
Required modules vary by course and instructor. At the beginning of each semester check your course syllabus to see which, if any, library modules are required and any corresponding deadlines.
How do I prove that I completed the modules?
Provide your course instructor a copy of your quiz grades summary (available under "grades" in the library's Brightspace classroom). Most instructors require a 100% on the module quizzes. Students will have access to their quiz scores going back at least two previous academic years. Be sure to check with your instructors to determine if they will accept older quiz scores.
What do I do if I do not pass a quiz?
Students are allowed multiple submission attempts for each quiz. Prior to completing another attempt be sure to do the following things: Review your completed quiz attempt and all provided feedback, review the appropriate module's content and the notes you took on your handout, and ask the library staff for help if needed. (View this YouTube video with instructions on how to view your feedback). Your final score will be your highest attempt.
How do I see which questions I missed and view feedback??
Follow these steps or view the video demonstration:
Go to "Quizzes" on the green bar
Next to the quiz you want to review, select the drop down menu next to the quiz name (the little triangle)
Select "Submissions" from the drop down menu
Select the attempt you want to view
Each question that lost points will be listed with the answer you provided
Below the question is a link to "View Feedback"
The feedback will provide advice on which segment to review, and in some cases for short answer questions, specific advice on how you can improve your answer
Why are there deadlines to complete the quizzes?
Quiz attempts must be completed by the deadlines set by individual course instructors. Quizzes will not be available after the last week of classes in the semester, although grades from completed tests will still be able to be retrieved.
What do I do if I've taken the modules during a previous semester?
The library staff have created a menu of online information literacy modules that highlight the research skills needed to be successful during the first two years of college. These workshops may be required by individual course instructors. Students should check their syllabi at the start of the semester to determine which modules are required in each course.
Currently the following modules are available:
Module 1: Using Databases for Research: This module lays the foundation for performing academic library research by defining what databases are, explaining why we use databases over other search tools, and providing examples of databases we use every day and those we might use for academic research. There are no prerequisite modules to complete prior to this one.
Module 2: The Research Plan: Developing Research Questions: This module will discuss the earliest stages of a research plan: developing research questions using brainstorming and mind mapping techniques. (Prerequisite: Module 1)
Module 3: The Research Plan: Developing Online Search Strategies: This module focuses on basic approaches to developing effective online search strategies including searching with Boolean operators and truncation. Prerequisites: Module 1, Module 2
Module 4: The Research Plan: Distinguishing among Formats: This module distinguishes among a variety of potential resource formats (books, periodicals, media, and websites) in order to aid in the research plan decision making process. There are no prerequisite modules to complete prior to this one.
Module 5: The Research Plan: Popular and Scholarly Sources: This module distinguishes among popular, professional, and scholarly sources in order to aid in the research plan decision making process. There are no prerequisite modules to complete prior to this one.
Module 6: The Research Plan: Choosing Appropriate Databases: This module focuses on choosing appropriate databases for specific research needs among the hundreds of databases available through The University of Akron Libraries. Choosing between databases based on coverage (general or subject-specific, dates covered, etc.) and formats available will aid in the research plan decision making process. Prerequisite: Module 1.
Module 7: Searching Library Catalogs (Basic): This module is an introduction to library catalogs and demonstrates basic library catalog search strategies (author, title, and subject searching). Prerequisites: Module 1, Module 2, Module 3, Module 4, Module 6.
Module 8: Searching Library Catalogs (Advanced): Building on the skills discussed in Module 7, this module focuses on more advanced searching of library catalogs, including keyword searching, limiting and sorting results, retrieving and requesting items. Prerequisites: Module 1, Module 2, Module 3, Module 4, Module 6, Module 7.
Module 9: Searching Periodical Databases (Basic): This module will lay the foundation for searching using periodical databases: performing basic keyword searches and examining database records for the citation, abstract, subject headings, and availability. Prerequisites: Module 1, Module 2, Module 3, Module 4, Module 6.
Module 10: Searching Periodical Databases (Advanced): Building on the skills discussed in Module 9, this module focuses on more advanced searching of periodical databases, including using field-specific searches and limiters to locate focused information. Prerequisites: Module 1, Module 2, Module 3, Module 4, Module 6, Module 9.
Module 11: Internet: The Nuts and Bolts: This module explores web domains, page depth, how search engines work compared to research databases, and which materials exist in the "Invisible Web" in order to lay the foundation for effective web searching for academic sources. Prerequisite: Module 1.
Module 12: Internet: Advanced Search Strategies: Building on the skills discussed in Module 11, this module focuses on advanced Internet searching, highlighting Google strategies, shortcuts, and special features to aid in locating appropriate academic materials. Prerequisites: Module 1, Module 11.
The modules are available as online tutorials in the library's Brightspace classroom. You must be a currently enrolled student at Wayne College to access the library's online classroom. Contact Maureen if you do not have access to the current semester's library classroom.
As an adult learner you most likely have multiple roles and commitments to juggle. In addition to being a student, you may be an employee, a parent, a community leader, or a caregiver to a family member. If you are a full-time student, you are working to learn a wide variety of new skills and to meet the expectations for multiple courses. Online courses make it possible to manage your learning around these other roles, but you must carefully plan your education to make this work.
Responsible information literacy module completion means that you will plan your schedule so that you can meet module requirements and manage your time so that you can complete the content and your quizzes on or before the date they are due. The deadlines for each workshop are determined by your individual course instructors.
If you have any questions or concerns about any of the content, quizzes, or your performance, please contact the Library staff immediately. Do not wait until the quiz deadline or the performance cannot be rectified.
If you decide to withdraw from the course that required the Library modules you may inform the Library staff if you decide to be un-enrolled in the Library’s Brightspace classroom. If you have completed any content, quizzes, or discussions, these will be unavailable to you in the future if you withdraw.
The Spring 2018 information literacy modules will be made available to students and faculty associated with all Wayne College course sections on Tuesday, January 16, 2018 at 8:00 a.m.
The classroom can be accessed directly by following the following link: Wayne College Library Services Spring 2018
You will need to enter your UAnet ID credentials.
If you receive an error message, contact Maureen Lerch immediately.
Download the Ask a Librarian Mobile App on your mobile devices. Search for "UA Wayne College Library" to chat with us.
Any student who has a disability that substantially limits learning in a higher education setting may contact Wayne College’s Accessibility Services for information regarding eligibility for reasonable accommodations. Contact Julie Hartzler, Disability Specialist and Service Coordinator at (330) 684-8923 (Voice) or email@example.com (email), or visit the website.
There are two discussion threads in the library's Brightspace classroom for students who may be experiencing technical problems or may be unclear about the workshop content. Students may post their questions or concerns using the “Technical Problems & Solutions” or “Muddiest Points” discussions in Brightspace.
Discussion posts will not be anonymous and will be able to be viewed by any enrolled students. If you know a solution to another student’s problem, please share your advice. The Library staff will monitor these discussions throughout the course so that everyone is on track.
Any posts that are determined to be inappropriate will be deleted by the Library staff. Do not ask questions about specific quiz answers. We will address these kinds of question in person, on the phone, or via email or chat.
Students at The University of Akron are an essential part of the academic community, and enjoy substantial freedom within the framework of the educational objectives of the institution. The freedom necessary for learning in a community so rich in diversity and achieving success toward our educational objectives requires high standards of academic integrity. Academic dishonesty has no place in an institution of advanced learning. The University community is governed by the policies and regulations contained with the Student Code of Conduct available from the Office of Student Judicial Affairs, Student Union 216, (330) 972-2524.
The University of Akron considers academic integrity an essential component of each student's personal and intellectual growth. Instances of academic dishonesty are addressed consistently. All members of the community contribute actively to building a strong reputation of academic excellence and integrity at The University of Akron.
It is each student's responsibility to know what constitutes academic dishonesty and to seek clarification directly from the instructor if necessary. Students completing the Information Literacy Modules are expected to honor the Student Code of Conduct.
Examples of academic dishonesty (as it applies to the Information Literacy Modules) include, but are not limited to:
Consequences of Academic Misconduct while completing the Information Literacy Modules and related quizzes may include:
The biggest difference is that you will be responsible for your own time management and organization. This requires discipline and attention to detail. The role of your instructor in an online course is to make the information for learning available to you and your role is to follow through with the structures put in place to help you learn. You must read all directions, follow all deadlines, and ask questions when you are unsure of what to do. You need to log into the course and check your university e-mail on a regular basis (daily is best) to ensure that you have the most up to date information. You need to locate and understand all instructions, follow through on all assignments, and stay on track with due dates. You are also responsible for the technical requirements necessary for your course. This means that if you have computer or connectivity problems you are not guaranteed an extension; you must have backup systems available at all times.
Be sure to complete your work, save your answers, and submit your quizzes early enough so technological problems don’t interfere with your deadlines. In order to take advantage of multiple quiz submission opportunities, it’s in your best interest to complete the quizzes as early as possible.
When communicating with the Library staff online or with other students in the discussion forums, please observe the following “Netiquette” guidelines specific for these workshops:
1. Avoid language that may come across as strong or offensive. Language can be easily misinterpreted in written communication. If a point must be stressed, review the statement to make sure that an outsider reading it would not be offended; then post the statement. Humor and sarcasm may easily be misinterpreted as well, so try to be as matter-of-fact and professional as possible.
2. Read first, write later. It is important to read all posts or comments of students and instructors within the course discussion before personally commenting to prevent repeating commentary or asking questions that have already been answered.
3. An online classroom is still a classroom. Though these modules may be online, appropriate classroom behavior is still mandatory. Respect for fellow classmates and the instructor is as important as ever.
4. You are not anonymous. Discussion forum posts and survey responses will include your name. Brightspace records all of your activity (and the length of time dedicated to online content) as you complete the content. Keep this in mind when you communicate with fellow students, your individual course instructors, and the Library staff.
5. Do your own work. Library staff will not provide answers to quiz questions, even when they are cleverly disguised as reference questions. You are expected to work on the content and quizzes on your own (see the section on Academic Dishonesty). Do not ask the Library staff or other students for quiz question answers in the discussion forums.