It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Worried? by Eric Chudler; Lise A. JohnsonHow scientific reasoning explains our most common daily fears--from germs to natural disasters and everything in between. Quick--what do you worry about most? Dying in a plane crash? Invisible chemicals in your environment? Catching a disease from a public restroom? In a world where we hear about the latest misfortunes and disasters as they happen, anytime and anywhere, no one is immune to the pervasive effects of anxiety brought on by normal, everyday activity. In this witty investigation of worry, Eric Chudler and Lise Johnson get to the root of our fears, all the while using rigorous science to help tame the anxiety beast. Each topic in this wide-ranging study is subjected to scientific scrutiny and assigned its place on the "worry index." Chudler and Johnson explain why it's only worth worrying about things that are likely to happen and are (somewhat) preventable. Whether you're an unabashed worrywart or a stick-your-head-in-the-sand-and-hope-for-the-best sort of person, you'll find something to love in this clever, funny, and informative guide to the worrisome world.
Call Number: BF575.W8 C57 2019
Careers in Psychology by Laura Mars (Editor)The field of psychology encompasses research, clinical practice, and education. One of psychology's most unique and important characteristics is its coupling of science and practice. Job opportunities within the broad field of psychology are many, depending on one's level of education, with a variety of options at all levels in clinical and private settings.
Call Number: BF76 .C37 2019
Principles of Business: Leadership by Salem Press (Editor)What defines a good leader? What skills are necessary? Principles of Business: Leadership provides readers with the tools to recognize effective, and ineffective, leadership, and build their skill set top develop solid leadership skills of their own. This volume gives valuable insights into teambuilding, time management, delegation, and the ever-elusive innovation. This volume includes 100 easy-to-understand entries on the subject of leadership.
Call Number: HD57.7 .P75 2019
C & D: World History
E & F: American History & Western Hemisphere
Driving While Black: African American travel and the road to civil rights by Gretchen SorinIn Driving While Black, the acclaimed historian Gretchen Sorin reveals how the car--the ultimate symbol of independence and possibility--has always held particular importance for African Americans, allowing black families to evade the many dangers presented by an entrenched racist society and to enjoy, in some measure, the freedom of the open road. She recounts the creation of a parallel, unseen world of black motorists, who relied on travel guides, black only businesses, and informal communications networks to keep them safe. From coast to coast, mom and pop guest houses and tourist homes, beauty parlors, and even large hotels--including New York's Hotel Theresa, the Hampton House in Miami, or the Dunbar Hotel in Los Angeles--as well as night clubs and restaurants like New Orleans' Dooky Chase and Atlanta's Paschal's, fed travelers and provided places to stay the night. At the heart of Sorin's story is Victor and Alma Green's famous Green Book, a travel guide begun in 1936, which helped grant black Americans that most basic American rite, the family vacation.As Sorin demonstrates, black travel guides and black-only businesses encouraged a new way of resisting oppression. Black Americans could be confident of finding welcoming establishments as they traveled for vacation or for business. Civil Rights workers learned where to stay and where to eat in the South between marches and protests. As Driving While Black reminds us, the Civil Rights Movement was just that--a movement of black people and their allies in defiance of local law and custom. At the same time, she shows that the car, despite the freedoms it offered, brought black people up against new challenges, from segregated ambulance services to unwarranted traffic stops, and the racist violence that too often followed.Interwoven with Sorin's own family history and enhanced by dozens of little known images, Driving While Black charts how the automobile fundamentally reshaped African American life, and opens up an entirely new view onto one of the most important issues of our time.
Call Number: E 185.61 .S667 2020
G: Geography, Anthropology, Recreation
The Power of Sports by Michael SerazioThe Power of Sports goes behind the scenes and tells a story of technological disruption, commercial greed, economic disparity, military hawkishness, and ideals of manhood. In the end, despite what our myths of escapism suggest, Serazio holds up a mirror to sports and reveals the lived realities of the nation staring back at us.
Call Number: GV742 .S47 2019
H: Social Sciences, Business, Economics, Sociology
The Abortionist by Rickie SolingerThis twenty-fifth anniversary edition places abortion politics in the context of reproductive justice today and explains why abortion has been--and remains--a political flashpoint in the United States.
Call Number: HQ767.5.U5 S7326 2019
The Aging Networks by Kelly Niles-Yokum; Donna L. WagnerThis Ninth Edition is updated to reflect critical changes to legislation, health care, and recent trends. It focuses on the strengths and diversity of older adults and the role our multilayered aging networks play in advocacy, community independence, and engagement.
Call Number: HV1461 .G44 2019
Birth Control by Paul QuinnThis book will serve as a scientifically accurate yet easy-to-read introduction to birth control for teens and young adults.
Call Number: HQ766 .Q85 2019
Business Statistics of the United States by Susan Ockert (Editor)Business Statistics of the United States provides a rich and deep picture of the American economy and contains approximately 3,500 time series in all. The data are predominately from federal government sources including: -Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System -Bureau of Economic Analysis -Bureau of Labor Statistics -Census Bureau -Employment and Training Administration -Energy Information Administration -Federal Housing Finance Agency -U.S. Department of the Treasury
The FinancialVerse by Harry N. StoutThe FinancialVerse - presents in a straight forward, easy to read style - what the reader can expect at each stage of their financial lives and offers ideas and resources to assist decision making.
Suicide: the Social Causes of Self-Destruction (ebook) by Jason ManningExamining a wide range of cross-cultural cases, Jason Manning argues that suicide arises from increased inequality and decreasing intimacy, and that conflicts are more likely to become suicidal when they occur in a context of social inferiority. As suicide rates continue to rise around the world, this timely new theory can help clinicians, scholars, and members of the general public to explain and predict patterns of self-destructive behavior.
Understanding Homeland Security by Gus MartinGus Martin's Understanding Homeland Security provides students with a comprehensive introduction to U.S. homeland security in the modern world, with a focus on the post-September 11, 2001 era.
Call Number: HV6432 .M377 2020
The Ungrateful Refugee by Dina NayeriA Finalist for the 2019 Kirkus Prize in Nonfiction "Nayeri combines her own experience with those of refugees she meets as an adult, telling their stories with tenderness and reverence." --The New York Times Book Review
Call Number: HV640.5.I73 N39 2019
White Fragility by Robin DiAngelo; Michael Eric Dyson (Foreword by)The New York Times best-selling book exploring the counterproductive reactions white people have when their assumptions about race are challenged, and how these reactions maintain racial inequality. In this "vital, necessary, and beautiful book" (Michael Eric Dyson), antiracist educator Robin DiAngelo deftly illuminates the phenomenon of white fragility and "allows us to understand racism as a practice not restricted to 'bad people' (Claudia Rankine). Referring to the defensive moves that white people make when challenged racially, white fragility is characterized by emotions such as anger, fear, and guilt, and by behaviors including argumentation and silence. These behaviors, in turn, function to reinstate white racial equilibrium and prevent any meaningful cross-racial dialogue. In this in-depth exploration, DiAngelo examines how white fragility develops, how it protects racial inequality, and what we can do to engage more constructively.
Call Number: HT1521 .D486 2018
J: Political Science
Tell Me How It Ends by Valeria Luiselli"Structured around the forty questions Luiselli translates and asks undocumented Latin-American children facing deportation, Tell Me How It Ends (an expansion of her 2016 Freeman's essay of the same name) humanizes these young migrants and highlights the contradiction of the idea of America as a fiction for immigrants with the reality of racism and fear--both here and back home"
Call Number: JV6600 .L85 2017
Addressing Challenging Behaviors and Mental Health Issues in Early Childhood by Mojdeh BayatNow in a fully updated second edition, this essential volume provides research-based strategies to help educators address challenging behaviors in early childhood and elementary years. Drawing on research and approaches from the fields of neuroscience, child development, child psychiatry, counseling, and applied behavior analysis, this text offers teachers simple strategies to manage behaviors and promote mental health and resilience in young children. Thoroughly updated to reflect new developments in neuroscience, trauma, and physical and mental health, this second edition also features an entirely new chapter on classroom approaches in child mental health, including the interaction of technology with challenging behaviors and mental health issues. Comprehensive, multidisciplinary, and culturally responsive, this critical resource provides new and experienced educators and coaches with educational and intervention approaches that are appropriate for all children, with and without disabilities.
Call Number: LB1139.25 .B39 2020
American Education by Joel SpringFeaturing current information and challenging perspectives on the latest issues and forces shaping the American educational system--with scholarship that is often cited as a primary source, Joel Spring introduces readers to the historical, political, social, and legal foundations of education and to the profession of teaching in the United States.
Call Number: LC191.4 .S684 2019
Beautiful Child by Torey HaydenFrom the bestselling author of One Child comes this amazing, true story of a mute and withdrawn seven--year--old girl and the special education teacher determined never to abandon a child in need.
Call Number: LA2317 .H485 2017
Content Area Literacy Strategies That Work by Lori G. WilfongEach chapter includes Common Core connections and practical templates and tools. The templates are available as free eResources so you can easily print them for classroom use. meaningful ways Making writing an authentic process through daily and weekly assignments Planning and teaching effective informational and argumentative pieces Each chapter includes Common Core connections and practical templates and tools. The templates are available as free eResources so you can easily print them for classroom use.
Call Number: LB1050.455 .W545 2019
Culturally Responsive Self-Care Practices for Early Childhood Educators by Julie Nicholson; Priya Shimpi Driscoll; Julie Kurtz; Domenica Marquez; LaWanda WesleyThe first self-care book designed specifically for the early childhood field, Culturally Responsive Self-Care Practices for Early Childhood Educators is filled with helpful strategies and tools that you can implement immediately. Recognizing that self-care is not one-size-fits-all, the authors present culturally responsive strategies drawn from diverse early childhood staff working in a range of roles across communities and contexts. By tying the importance of educator self-care to goals of social justice and equity, this book advocates for increased awareness of the importance of self-care on both an individual and institutional level. Through key research findings, effective strategies and personal anecdotes, this accessible guide helps readers understand and engage with the critical role self-care and wellness-oriented practices play in creating strong foundations for high quality early learning programs.
Educational Psychology by Paul Eggen; Don KauchakA case-based, balanced, and applied approach to educational psychology Using Educational Psychology in Teaching, 11th Edition, helps readers learn to apply educational psychology theories and research to their own classroom practice.
Literature Review and Research Design by Dave HarrisDesigning a research project is possibly the most difficult task a dissertation writer faces. It is fraught with uncertainty: what is the best subject? What is the best method? For every answer found, there are often multiple subsequent questions, so it's easy to get lost in theoretical debates and buried under a mountain of literature. This book looks at literature review in the process of research design, and how to develop a research practice that will build skills in reading and writing about research literature--skills that remain valuable in both academic and professional careers.
Call Number: LB2369 .H37757 2020
Pedagogy of Hope by Paulo FreireWith the publication of Pedagogy of the Oppressed, Paulo Freire established himself as one of the most important and radical educational thinkers of his time. In Pedagogy of Hope, Freire revisits the themes of his masterpiece, the real world contexts that inspired them and their impact in that very world. Freire's abiding concern for social justice and education in the developing world remains as timely and as inspiring as ever, and is shaped by both his rigorous intellect and his boundless compassion. Pedagogy of Hope is a testimonial to the inner vitality of generations denied prosperity and to the often-silent, generous strength of millions throughout the world who refuse to let hope be extinguished.
Call Number: LB880.F732 P4313 2014
Preventing Bullying in Schools by Catherine P. Bradshaw; Tracy Evian WaasdorpNearly a third of students are directly involved in bullying by the time they graduate from high school. A range of strategies have been shown to improve peer interactions and reduce bullying behaviors. Yet many teachers struggle to detect bullying and to respond to it effectively. This book is a much- needed guide to evidence-based methods for prevention and intervention in K-12 classrooms.
Call Number: LB3013.3 .B73 2019
Rigor and Differentiation in the Classroom by Barbara R. BlackburnEach chapter includes practical tools and activities that you can use immediately to bring all students to higher levels of achievement. Many of these tools are available as eResources and can be downloaded for free from the book's product page: www.routledge.com/9780815394471.
Young Children's Play by Jeffrey Trawick-SmithThis book covers dramatic play, blocks, games, motor play, artistic play, and non-traditional play forms, such as humor, rough and tumble play, and more. Designed to support contemporary classrooms, this text deliberately interweaves practical strategies for understanding and supporting the play of children with specific disabilities (e.g. autism, Down syndrome, or physically challenging conditions) and those of diverse cultural backgrounds into every chapter.
REF Representative American Speeches by HW Wilson (Editor)Current Biography has been delivering up-to-date biographies of men and women of contemporary importance since 1940 and is renowned for its unfailing accuracy, insightful selection, and wide scope of influence of its subjects. The Yearbook is an invaluable source for researchers, teachers, students, and librarians. Core Collections, There is nothing quite like Wilson Core Collections. The accumulated expertise of our selectors, and the unquestioned reputation of these collections make them valuable tools for collection development and maintenance, reader's advisory, and support for specific curriculums. Core Collections include complete bibliographic data, subject headings, annotations, grade levels, Dewey classifications, and quotations from select reviews. Core Collection titles include Senior High, Middle & Junior High, Children's, Fiction, and Public Library Nonfiction, Graphic Novels and Young Adult Fiction. USA in Space This updated edition includes over 300 essays on major space topics, including programs, piloted and robotic missions, satellites, space centers, space planes, and other relevant issues from the earliest missions to the present day. It also includes significant updates to existing essays and covers new firsts and significant accomplishments in space occurring in the 13 years since the last edition.
Call Number: REF PS668 .B3 v.91 no.6 2018-2019
Uprising by Margaret Peterson HaddixThe fire at the Triangle Waist Company in New York City, which claimed the lives of 146 young immigrant workers, is one of the worst disasters since the beginning of the Industrial Revolution, and the disaster, which brought attention to the labor movement in America, is part of the curriculum in classrooms throughout the country. Told from alternating points of view, this historical novel draws upon the experiences of three very different young women: Bella, who has just emigrated from Italy and doesn't speak a word of English; Yetta, a Russian immigrant and crusader for labor rights; and Jane, the daughter of a wealthy businessman. Bella and Yetta work together at the Triangle Shirtwaist Factory under terrible conditions--their pay is docked for even the slightest mistake, the bosses turn the clocks back so closing time is delayed, and they are locked into the factory all day, only to be frisked before they leave at night to make sure they haven't stolen any shirtwaists. When the situation worsens, Yetta leads the factory's effort to strike, and she meets Jane on the picket line. Jane, who feels trapped by the limits of her own sheltered existence, joins a group of high-society women who have taken an interest in the strike as a way of supporting women's suffrage. Through a series of twists and turns, the three girls become fast friends--and all of them are in the Triangle Shirtwast Factory on March 25, 1911, the day of the fateful fire. In a novel that puts a human face on the tragedy, Margaret Peterson Haddix has created a sweeping, forceful tale that will have readers guessing until the last page who--if anyone--survives.
Call Number: PZ7.H1164 Upr 2011
Q: Mathematics, Computer Science, Sciences
Principles of Zoology by Salem Press (Editor)This new volume full explores zoology, the branch of biology that studies the animal kingdom, including the structure, embryology, evolution, classification, habit, and distribution of all animals, and how they interact with their ecosystems.
Call Number: QL45.2 .P756 2019
R: Medicine, Nursing
Communicable Diseases by Roger WebberCompletely updated and revised, and now published in its sixth edition, this best-selling text has provided an essential overview of the subject for almost 25 years. A comprehensive yet synoptic account of communicable diseases, it covers theory, epidemiology and control, then systematically groups diseases by their main means of transmission. There are special chapters on infections in pregnancy and the concern of new and emerging diseases, and an annex lists all 353 diseases in an easy reference table.
Call Number: RA643 .W36 2019
A Dignified Ending by Micheal D. CohenA Dignified Ending conveys truthful and nuanced accounts of men and women who chose to die, and stories of the activists--proponents and opponents-- who promote this growing right-to-die movement.
Principles of Pharmacology by Salem Press (Editor)Pharmacology is a branch of biology that studies the interaction of drugs and living organisms to better understand how they can affect biochemical function. Today, pharmacologists rely on genetics, molecular biology, and biochemistry in the quest to develop effective, personalized medicine. In over 120 articles, Principles of Pharmacology addresses a variety of topics in this field.
Call Number: RM300 .P75 2019
Well: What We Need to Talk about When We Talk about Health by Sandro GaleaWell is a radical examination of the subtle and not-so-subtle factors that determine who gets to be healthy in America. Galea shows how the country's failing health is a product of American history and character -- and how refocusing on our national health can usher enlightenment across American life and politics.
Z: Publishing, Library Science, Information Resources
Design Thinking (ebook) by Rachel Ivy ClarkeDesign thinking is broadly defined as an approach to problem solving which prioritizes empathy with and deeper understandings of users to define a problem; actively engages in prototyping to develop solutions; and iterates solutions through implementation and resulting modification.
Did you need help from the UA Wayne College Library staff and we were either closed or unavailable? Sorry we missed you! Please complete this form to let us know what you needed so we can improve our services (including hours of operation).