It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Broken Faith by Mitch Weiss; Holbrook MohrBased on hundreds of interviews, secretly recorded conversations, and thousands of pages of documents, Pulitzer Prize winner Mitch Weiss and Holbrook Mohr's Broken Faith is a terrifying portrait of life inside the Word of Faith Fellowship, and the harrowing account of one family who escaped after two decades.
Call Number: BP604 .W45 2020
C & D: World History
Taiwan by John Franklin CopperIn this newly revised and updated 7th edition of Taiwan: Nation-State or Province? Copper examines Taiwan's geography and history, society and culture, economy, political system and foreign and security politics in the context of Taiwan's uncertain status, as either a sovereign nation or a province of the People's Republic of China.
Call Number: DS799 .C67 2020
E & F: American History & Western Hemisphere
Voices of Freedom by Eric Foner (Editor)Voices of Freedom is the only reader with a thematic focus on American freedom. The organization of this enormously popular, compact, and accessible primary source documents collection mirrors the best-selling Give Me Liberty! survey texts. Much more affordable than other readers of its kind, it is an exceptional value in print and ebook formats. The Sixth Edition features new selections that focus on issues of inclusion and exclusion and the question, "Who is an American?"
Call Number: E173 .V645 2020 (v. 1)
Voices of Freedom (v. 2) by Eric Foner (Editor)Voices of Freedom is the only reader with a thematic focus on American freedom. The organization of this enormously popular, compact, and accessible primary source documents collection mirrors the best-selling Give Me Liberty! survey texts. Much more affordable than other readers of its kind, it is an exceptional value in print and ebook formats. The Sixth Edition features new selections that focus on issues of inclusion and exclusion and the question, "Who is an American?"
Call Number: E173 .V645 2020 (v. 2)
G: Geography, Anthropology, Recreation
Food Cultures of the United States: recipes, customs, and issues (ebook) by Bruce KraigThis comprehensive volume examines the history of American food culture and cuisine today, from staple ingredients to dietary concerns. Everyday, without realizing it, Americans plan their days around food--what to make for dinner, where to meet for brunch, what to bring to a party. As a nation of immigrants, the U.S. has food and foodways that few countries in the world have. This addition to the Global Kitchen series examines all aspects of food culture in the United States, from the early Colonial period and Native American influences on the new immigrants' food to the modern era.
H: Social Sciences, Business, Economics, Sociology
Crack by David FarberA shattering account of the crack cocaine years from award-winning American historian David Farber, Crack tells the story of the young men who bet their lives on the rewards of selling 'rock' cocaine, the people who gave themselves over to the crack pipe, and the often-merciless authorities who incarcerated legions of African Americans caught in the crack cocaine underworld.
Golden Gates by Conor DoughertyTo tell this new story of housing, Dougherty follows a struggling math teacher who builds a political movement dedicated to ending single-family-house neighborhoods. A teenaged girl who leads her apartment complex against their rent-raising landlord. A nun who tries to outmaneuver private equity investors by amassing a multimillion-dollar portfolio of affordable homes. A suburban bureaucrat who roguishly embraces density in response to the threat of climate change. A developer who manufactures homeless housing on an assembly line. Sweeping in scope and intimate in detail, Golden Gates captures a vast political realignment during a moment of rapid technological and social change.
Peace on Our Terms : the global battle for women's rights after the First World War (ebook) by Mona L. SiegelPeace on Our Terms follows dozens of remarkable women from Europe, the Middle East, North America, and Asia as they crossed oceans and continents; commanded meeting halls in Paris, Zurich, and Washington; and marched in the streets of Cairo and Beijing. Mona L. Siegel's sweeping global account of international organizing highlights how Egyptian and Chinese nationalists, Western and Japanese labor feminists, white Western suffragists, and African American civil rights advocates worked in tandem to advance women's rights. Despite significant resistance, these pathbreaking women left their mark on emerging democratic constitutions and new institutions of global governance. Drawing on a wide range of sources, Peace on Our Terms is the first book to demonstrate the centrality of women's activism to the Paris Peace Conference and the critical diplomatic events of 1919. Siegel tells the timely story of how female activists transformed women's rights into a global rallying cry, laying a foundation for generations to come.
The Poetics and Politics of the Veil in (ebook) by Azadeh FatehradThis volume explores the lives of women in Iran through the social, political, and aesthetic contexts of veiling, unveiling, and re-veiling. Through poetic writings and photographs, Azadeh Fatehrad responds to the legacy of the Iranian Revolution via the representation of women in photography, literature, and film.
Preschool Preparedness for an Active Shooter (ebook) by Andrew RoszakPreschool Preparedness for an Active Shooter acknowledges and balances the harsh realities and challenges of emergency preparedness. Learn how to: develop situational awareness, create rings of security in your facility, promote a culture of safety, respond in an emergency, conduct drills, and instill emergency practices in children that will last a lifetime.
The Public Relations Writer's Handbook (ebook) by Whitney LehmannFrom pitches and press releases to news and feature stories to social media writing and more, this new book by author Whitney Lehmann and a handful of experienced contributors breaks down the most widely used types of public relations writing needed to become a PR pro. The Public Relations Writer's Handbook serves as a guide for those both in the classroom and in the field who want to learn, and master, the style and techniques of public relations writing.
A Map Is Only One Story by Nicole Chung (Editor); Mensah Demary (Editor)From rediscovering an ancestral village in China to experiencing the realities of American life as a Nigerian, the search for belonging crosses borders and generations. Selected from the archives of Catapult magazine, the essays in A Map Is Only One Story highlight the human side of immigration policies and polarized rhetoric, as twenty writers share provocative personal stories of existing between languages and cultures. Victoria Blanco relates how those with family in both El Paso and Ciudad Juárez experience life on the border. Nina Li Coomes recalls the heroines of Japanese animator Hayao Miyazaki and what they taught her about her bicultural identity. Nur Nasreen Ibrahim details her grandfather's crossing of the India-Pakistan border sixty years after Partition. Krystal A. Sital writes of how undocumented status in the United States can impact love and relationships. Porochista Khakpour describes the challenges in writing (and rewriting) Iranian America. Through the power of personal narratives, as told by both emerging and established writers, A Map Is Only One Story offers a new definition of home in the twenty-first century.
Call Number: JV6225 .M36 2020
A History of Intellectual Property in 50 Objects by Claudy Op den Kamp (Editor); Dan Hunter (Editor)What do the Mona Lisa, the light bulb, and a Lego brick have in common? The answer - intellectual property (IP) - may be surprising, because IP laws are all about us, but go mostly unrecognized. They are complicated and arcane, and few people understand why they should care about copyright, patents, and trademarks. In this lustrous collection, Claudy Op den Kamp and Dan Hunter have brought together a group of contributors - drawn from around the globe in fields including law, history, sociology, science and technology, media, and even horticulture - to tell a history of IP in 50 objects. These objects not only demonstrate the significance of the IP system, but also show how IP has developed and how it has influenced history. Each object is at the core of a story that will be appreciated by anyone interested in how great innovations offer a unique window into our past, present, and future.
Call Number: K1401 .H59 2019
Legislating Morality in America by Donald P. Haider-Markel; Donald P. Haider-Markel (Editor)This title undertakes an impartial, authoritative, and in-depth examination of the moral arguments and ideas behind the laws and policies that govern personal, corporate, and government behavior in the United States. This A-Z encyclopedia surveys the moral arguments that provide the foundation for many of the most important and/or divisive laws, policies, and beliefs that govern modern American society. The work discusses such controversial and important issues as abortion, civil rights, drugs and alcohol, euthanasia, guns, hate crimes, immigration, immunization, natural resource use and protection, prostitution, same-sex marriage, and workplace laws. In the process of surveying historical and current beliefs about appropriate legislative responses to these issues, this work will help readers to understand how conservative and liberal conceptions of justice, fairness, and morality are at the center of so many hot-button political and social issues in 21st century America. The essays featured in the volume cover wide-ranging and controversial topics related to constitutional and religious freedoms, issues of crime and punishment, sexuality and reproduction, environmental protection and public health, national security and civil liberties, social welfare programs, and education. Context-setting overview essay introduces the question of whether (or to what degree) legislation inevitably carries a moral element and discusses examples of legislation in US history with a significant alleged "moral" grounding, ranging from the Emancipation Proclamation and Prohibition to anti-smoking laws, the Civil Rights Act, and the Affordable Care Act Each entry not only summarizes economic, legal, and sociological arguments for or against positions on these issues but more importantly focuses on the ethical/moral arguments championed by various sides A chronology of events situates morality historically as a force in US legislation An annotated bibliography suggests resources for further study, related to concepts of morality and their impact on American laws.
Call Number: KF380 .L44 2020
The Art and Science of Lesson Design (ebook) by John R. Walkup; Stephan SquireThe approach employed in this book includes the development of culminating activities for students to demonstrate their learning, identification of standards-based lesson content, selection of potentially effective instructional methods, and student questioning strategies. Special methods for supporting students who are deficient in their background knowledge without undermining the rigor of lessons are also included. Sample lessons are included that illustrate every step of the lesson planning process from start to finish. These sample lesson plans address state content standards related to the Common Core State Standards (both math and English language arts), Next Generation Science Standards, career-technical education standards, and art.
Assessment for Reading Instruction, Fourth Edition by Katherine A. Dougherty Stahl; Kevin Flanigan; Michael C. McKennaNow in a revised and updated fourth edition, this accessible text has given over 100,000 preservice and inservice teachers vital tools for systematic reading assessment in grades K-8. The book explains how to use both formal and informal assessments to evaluate students' strengths and needs in all components of reading. Effective, engaging methods for targeted instruction in each area are outlined. In a convenient large-size format, the book includes 30 reproducible tools, plus an additional multipage assessment in an online-only appendix.
High-Quality Early Learning for a Changing World (ebook) by Beverly FalkThis concise and accessible resource provides an overview of the fundamentals of teaching in early childhood settings (pre-K-2), with a focus on what high-quality practices look like. It details the features of developmentally appropriate, linguistically responsive, culturally relevant/sustaining teaching and how this approach can prepare our youngest citizens for the challenges of our 21st-century world. Beginning with what the research tells us about how young children develop and learn, Falk shows how to create learning environments, plan, teach, and assess in ways that support children's optimal development.
Principles of Botany by Salem Press (Editor)Explores the wide world of botany--the branch of biology that studies the plant kingdom, including physiology, structure, genetics, ecology, distribution, and classification of all plants, as well as how they interact with their environment.
Careers in Transportation by Laura Mars (Editor)Careers in transportation and logistics offer a wide array of options for today's job seeker. As our transportation system becomes more technologically advanced, demand for workers with specific skills with continue to grow. Today's career options in this industry segment run the gamut across several sectors, and include both domestic and international jobs.
Call Number: TA1160 .C374 2019
U & V: Military Science
Z: Publishing, Library Science, Information Resources
Did you need help from the UA Wayne College Library staff and we were either closed or unavailable? Sorry we missed you! Please complete this form to let us know what you needed so we can improve our services (including hours of operation).