It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Everyday Bias: Identifying and Navigating Unconscious Judgments in Our Daily Lives (ebook) by Howard J. RossTo be human is to be biased. From this simple truth, nationally recognized diversity expert Howard J. Ross explores the biases we each carry within us. Incorporating anecdotes from today's headlines alongside case studies from over 30 years of diversity consulting, Ross helps readers understand how unconscious bias impacts our day-to-day lives and, particularly, our daily work lives. And, he answers the question: "Is there anything we can do about it?"
The Bhutto Dynasty (ebook) by Owen Bennett-JonesA major new investigation into the Bhutto family, examining their influence in Pakistan from the colonial era to the present day "Fluently written, impeccably researched and never short of extraordinary insights, this is a landmark publication."--Farzana Shaikh, Literary Review The Bhutto family has long been one of the most ambitious and powerful in Pakistan. But politics has cost the Bhuttos dear. Zulfikar Ali Bhutto, widely regarded as the most talented politician in the country's history, was removed from power in 1977 and executed two years later, at the age of 51. Of his four children, three met unnatural deaths: Shahnawaz was poisoned in 1985 at the age of 27; Murtaza was shot by the police outside his home in 1996, aged 42; and Benazir Bhutto, who led the Pakistan Peoples Party and became Prime Minister twice, was killed by a suicide bomber in Rawalpindi in 2007, aged 54. Drawing on original research and unpublished documents gathered over twenty years, Owen Bennett-Jones explores the turbulent existence of this extraordinary family, including their volatile relationship with British colonialists, the Pakistani armed forces, and the United States.
First and Always: a new portrait of George Washington (ebook) by Peter R. HenriquesGeorge Washington may be the most famous American who ever lived, and certainly is one of the most admired. While surrounded by myths, it is no myth that the man who led Americans' fight for independence and whose two terms in office largely defined the presidency was the most highly respected individual among a generation of formidable personalities. This record hints at an enigmatic perfection; however, Washington was a flesh-and-blood man. In First and Always, celebrated historian Peter Henriques illuminates Washington's life, more fully explicating his character and his achievements. Arranged thematically, the book's chapters focus on important and controversial issues, achieving a depth not possible in a traditional biography. First and Always examines factors that coalesced to make Washington such a remarkable and admirable leader, while also chronicling how Washington mistreated some of his enslaved workers, engaged in extreme partisanship, and responded with excessive sensitivity to criticism. Henriques portrays a Washington deeply ambitious and always hungry for public adoration, even as he disclaimed such desires. In its account of an amazing life, First and Always shows how, despite profound flaws, George Washington nevertheless deserves to rank as the nation's most consequential leader, without whom the American experiment in republican government would have died in infancy.
The Great Demographic Illusion (ebook) by Richard AlbaAssembling a vast body of evidence, Alba explores where individuals of mixed parentage fit in American society. Most participate in and reshape the mainstream, as seen in their high levels of integration into social milieus that were previously white dominated. Yet, racism is evident in the very different experiences of individuals with black-white heritage. Alba's portrait squares in key ways with the history of immigrant-group assimilation, and indicates that, once again, mainstream American society is expanding and becoming more inclusive. Nevertheless, there are also major limitations to mainstream expansion today, especially in its more modest magnitude and selective nature, which hinder the participation of black Americans and some other people of color. Alba calls for social policies to further open up the mainstream by correcting the restrictions imposed by intensifying economic inequality, shape-shifting racism, and the impaired legal status of many immigrant families. Countering rigid demographic beliefs and predictions, The Great Demographic Illusion offers a new way of understanding American society and its coming transformation.
G: Geography, Anthropology, Recreation
H: Social Sciences, Business, Economics, Sociology
After Net Neutrality (ebook) by Victor Pickard; David Elliot BermanThis short book is both a primer that explains the history and politics of net neutrality and an argument for a more equitable framework for regulating access to the internet. Pickard and Berman argue that we should not see internet service as a commodity but as a public good necessary for sustaining democratic society in the twenty-first century. They aim to reframe the threat to net neutrality as more than a conflict between digital leviathans like Google and internet service providers like Comcast but as part of a much wider project to commercialize the public sphere and undermine the free speech essential for democracy. Readers will come away with a better understanding of the key concepts underpinning the net neutrality battle and rallying points for future action to democratize online communication.
Alternative Energy: Political, Economic, and Social Feasibility (ebook) by Christopher A. SimonThe second edition of Alternative Energy provides significant updates on dramatic changes within the renewable energy sector over the past decade. The book discusses the basic technical aspects of major renewable energy systems and technological developments, such as the impact of politics on energy policy using contemporary theories of public policy, as well as the evolution of the social feasibility of renewable energy. New to the second edition-Technical information in all chapters has been updated to include current "next generation" technological advancements, New sections on solar thermal energy, pumped hydro, and on climate change, Substantial updates to economic data, New discussion of enhanced geothermal, ocean thermal energy conversion (OTEC), and tidal power, Updated discussion of energy storage, Discussion of the Green New Deal.
Birth Control: a Reference Handbook (ebook) by David E. NewtonBirth Control: A Reference Handbook provides a breadth and depth of discussion about birth control throughout human history and in the modern day, with attention paid to the controversies related to it. Birth Control: A Reference Handbook covers the topic of birth control from the earliest pages of human history to the present day. The book is divided into two parts. The first two chapters provide a historical background to the topic and a review of current issues and problems. The remainder of the book consists of chapters that aid the reader in continuing her or his own research on the topic, such as an extended annotated bibliography, chronology, glossary, noteworthy individuals and organizations in the field, and important data and documents. This book differs from other works on its subject primarily because of the variety of resources provided, such as further reading, perspective essays on the topic, a historical timeline, and useful terms in the field. It is intended for readers of high school through the community college level, along with adult readers who may be interested in the topic. Provides readers with a history of birth control and the methods that have been developed to prevent pregnancy Discusses how politics have had an impact on birth control and vice versa Supplies abundant resources for further research on the topic by readers of all ages Rounds out the author's expertise with perspective essays, giving readers a diversity of viewpoints on the topic
Child Abuse Sourcebook (ebook) by Angela L. WilliamsProvides basic consumer health information about abuse and neglect of children and adolescents. With information about parenting issues and child abuse risks, prevention and intervention strategies, as well as information about adult survivors of child abuse. Includes index, glossary of related terms, and other resources.
Domestic Violence and Abuse: a Reference Handbook (ebook) by Laura L. FinleyDomestic Violence and Abuse: A Reference Handbook provides a rich and scholarly assessment of this important social issue while also including stories and profiles for a more personal understanding. Domestic Violence and Abuse: A Reference Handbook provides a thorough review of the most recent research about intimate partner violence. Additionally, a historical review provides readers with a sense of how views on domestic violence have changed over time and how different policies and practices have and have not been successful. Appropriate for readers at the high school level and above, the volume focuses on the scope, extent, and characteristics of domestic violence and offers several unique elements, including profiles of significant individuals, personal stories from advocates, activists and survivors, and a review of controversial issues. The volume also includes a chronology of key events, relevant data and documents, primary source data, and recommended resources. Compiles the most recent data about victims and offenders, thereby correcting many misconceptions about domestic violence Offers a timeline of critical events for readers to understand the history of the movement Includes primary source documents and personal stories, which help make the book beneficial to all readers Addresses the most common controversies in the field, allowing readers to support more informed positions
Good Guys: how men can be better allies for women in the workplace (ebook) by David G. Smith; W. Brad JohnsonResearch shows that when men are deliberately engaged in gender-inclusion programs, 96 percent of women in those organizations perceive real progress in gender equality, compared with only 30 percent of women in organizations without strong male engagement. Good Guys is the first practical, research-based guide for how to be a male ally to women in the workplace. Filled with firsthand accounts from both men and women, and tips for getting started, the book shows how men can partner with their female colleagues to advance women's leadership and equality by breaking ingrained gender stereotypes, overcoming unconscious biases, developing and supporting the talented women around them, and creating productive and respectful working relationships with women.
Made Up: how the beauty industry manipulates consumers, preys on women's insecurities, and promotes unattainable beauty standards (ebook) by Martha LahamMade Up exposes the multibillion-dollar beauty industry that promotes unrealistic beauty standards through a market basket of advertising tricks, techniques, and technologies.Cosmetics magnate Charles Revson, a founder of Revlon, was quoted as saying, "In the factory, we make cosmetics. In the store, we sell hope." This pioneering entrepreneur, who built an empire on the foundation of nail polish, captured the unvarnished truth about the beauty business in a single metaphor: hope in a jar.Made Up: How the Beauty Industry Manipulates Consumers, Preys on Women's Insecurities, and Promotes Unattainable Beauty Standards is a thorough examination of innovative, and often controversial, advertising practices used by beauty companies to persuade consumers, mainly women, to buy discretionary goods like cosmetics and scents. These approaches are clearly working: the average American woman will spend around $300,000 on facial products alone during her lifetime. This revealing book traces the evolution of the global beauty industry, discovers what makes beauty consumers tick, explores the persistence and pervasiveness of the feminine beauty ideal, and investigates the myth-making power of beauty advertising. It also examines stereotypical portrayals of women in beauty ads, looks at celebrity beauty endorsements, and dissects the "looks industry." Made Upuncovers the reality behind an Elysian world of fantasy and romance created by beauty brands that won't tell women the truth about beauty.
Not Born Yesterday: the science of who we trust and what we believe (ebook) by Hugo MercierWhy people are not as gullible as we think Not Born Yesterday explains how we decide who we can trust and what we should believe--and argues that we're pretty good at making these decisions. In this lively and provocative book, Hugo Mercier demonstrates how virtually all attempts at mass persuasion--whether by religious leaders, politicians, or advertisers--fail miserably. Drawing on recent findings from political science and other fields ranging from history to anthropology, Mercier shows that the narrative of widespread gullibility, in which a credulous public is easily misled by demagogues and charlatans, is simply wrong. Why is mass persuasion so difficult? Mercier uses the latest findings from experimental psychology to show how each of us is endowed with sophisticated cognitive mechanisms of open vigilance.
J: Political Science
Helping College Students in Distress: a faculty guide (ebook) by Monica Galloway Burke; Karl Laves; Jill Duba Sauerheber; Aaron W. Hughey"This important resource draws from counseling and higher education professionals' insights to unpack real-life dilemmas of students in distress both inside and outside the classroom, while providing readers with essential tools and recommendations for assisting distressed students. The chapters in Part I examine the impact of emotional and mental health on the college campus, what college campuses are doing to address students' emotional and mental issues, the potential legal implications when dealing with students, and how faculty can and should approach this challenging topic. Each chapter in Part II includes a case narrative, along with a "Takeaways" section, which outlines and delineates the primary points faculty should consider when facing similar episodes involving distressed students. A "Questions for Reflection" section provides an opportunity for the reader to apply knowledge, reflect on their decision-making, and generate ideas individually or with peers. Helping College Students in Distress is a roadmap providing direction and examples of best practices for Higher Education faculty on the "front lines" in academia"--
Making Sense of Race in Education : practices for change in difficult times (ebook) by Jessica A. Heybach; Sheron Fraser-BurgessMakingSense of Race in Education: Practices for Change in Difficult Times takes a fresh look at the perennial issue of race in American schools. How do educators,in all settings, confront the issue of race with students and colleagues, given the contemporary backdrop of social movements for racial justice and change? How do educators affect change within their everyday classroom practices without fostering further alienation and discord? Although much has already been written about race and racism in school, this book addresses racial incidents directly and offers practical insights into how P-20 educators can transform these events alongside students and colleagues. Each chapter provides detailed analysis of curriculum, instruction, practices and pedagogical strategies for addressing race while at the same time wrestling with theoretical conceptions of race, justice, and fairness.
N: Fine Arts
Goya: a portrait of the artist (ebook) by Janis TomlinsonA monumental achievement, Goya: A Portrait of the Artist is the definitive biography of an artist whose faith in his art and his genius inspired paintings, drawings, prints, and frescoes that continue to captivate, challenge, and surprise us two centuries later.
Blockchain Data Analytics for Dummies (ebook) by Michael G. SolomonGet ahead of the curve--learn about big data on the blockchain Blockchain came to prominence as the disruptive technology that made cryptocurrencies work. Now, data pros are using blockchain technology for faster real-time analysis, better data security, and more accurate predictions. Blockchain Data Analytics For Dummies is your quick-start guide to harnessing the potential of blockchain. Inside this book, technologists, executives, and data managers will find information and inspiration to adopt blockchain as a big data tool. Blockchain expert Michael G. Solomon shares his insight on what the blockchain is and how this new tech is poised to disrupt data.
Cardiovascular Disorders Sourcebook (ebook) by Angela L. Williams (Editor)"Provides basic consumer health information about risk factors, symptoms, diagnosis, and treatment of heart and vascular diseases, along with prevention strategies and concerns specific to men, women, children, and minority populations. Includes index, glossary of related terms, and directory of resources"-- Provided by publisher
Healthcare Politics and Policy in America (ebook) by Kant Patel; Mark E. RushefskyHealth policy in the United States has been shaped by the political, socioeconomic, and ideological environment, with important roles played by public and private actors, as well as institutional and individual entities, in designing the contemporary American healthcare system. Now in a fully updated fifth edition, this book gives expanded attention to pressing issues for our policymakers, including the aging American population, physician shortages, gene therapy, specialty drugs, and the opioid crisis.
Medical Sexism: contraception access, reproductive medicine, and health care (ebook) by Jill B. DelstonDoctors routinely deny patients access to hormonal birth control prescription refills, and this issue has broad interest for feminism, biomedical ethics, and applied ethics in general. Medical Sexism argues that such practices violate a variety of legal and moral standards, including medical malpractice, informed consent, and human rights. Jill B. Delston makes the case that medical sexism serves as a major underlying cause of these systemic and persistent violations. Delston also considers other common abuses in the medical field, such as policy on abortion access and treatment in childbirth. Delston argues that sexism is a better explanation for the widespread abuse of patient autonomy in reproductive health and health care generally. Identifying, addressing, and rooting out medical sexism is necessary to successfully protect medical and moral values.
The Goat: a natural and cultural history (ebook) by Sue WeaverA richly illustrated introduction to the goat--from livestock to beloved pet It may come as no surprise that goats are highly intelligent. They are also curious, gentle, independent, social, and full of character. Among the first domesticated animals, goats are increasingly appreciated today as pets and for their adaptability to a wide variety of environmental conditions. The Goat is a comprehensive, illustrated exploration of the natural and cultural history of this important animal. With engaging text, infographics, and diagrams, and some 250 beautiful color photographs, the book offers a wealth of information and insights about the goat's distinctive biology and place in human culture, from ancient times to today. Chapters on Domestication, Anatomy & Biology, Society & Behavior, Goat Management, and Goats & People are followed by a visually stunning photographic directory to forty-eight popular breeds, with information about each. The Goat will enchant anyone with an interest in, or a love for, these animals. Provides a comprehensive, illustrated introduction to the natural and cultural history of the goat Features clear and engaging text plus infographics, diagrams, and some 250 stunning color photographs Includes chapters on Domestication, Anatomy & Biology, Society & Behavior, Goat Management, and Goats & People, as well as a photographic directory to forty-eight popular breeds.
U & V: Military Science
Z: Publishing, Library Science, Information Resources
Did you need help from the UA Wayne College Library staff and we were either closed or unavailable? Sorry we missed you! Please complete this form to let us know what you needed so we can improve our services (including hours of operation).