It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Beyond your bubble: how to connect across the political divide, skills and strategies for conversations that work (ebook) by Tania IsraelThis practical, politically neutral book offers concrete skills for holding meaningful conversations that cut across today's intense political divide, showing readers how to connect to the people in their lives. Chapters show readers how to develop and use the scientifically-proven skills that are the foundation of constructive conversation, including strategies for effective listening, managing emotions, and understanding someone else's perspective, as well as finding common ground, avoiding self-righteousness, and telling your own story. Throughout, conversation prompts, practical exercises, case examples, and self-quizzes help readers visualize and practice starting, sustaining, and ending challenging conversations.
The Politics of Religion, Nationalism, and Identity in Asia (ebook) by Jeff Kingston"This comprehensive book provides a comparative analysis of religious nationalism in globalized Asia. Exploring the nexus of religion, identity, and nationalism, Kingston assesses similarities and differences across the region. He focuses on how religious sentiments influence how people express nationalism, often with extreme and tragic results"-- Provided by publisher.
Triggers by David RichoWork with your triggers to find peace in the painful moments and lasting emotional well-being. Psychotherapist David Richo examines the science of triggers and our reactions of fear, anger, and sadness. He helps us understand why our bodies respond before our minds have a chance to make sense of a situation. By looking deeply at the roots of what provokes us--the words, actions, and even sensory elements like smell--we find opportunities to understand the origins of our triggers and train our bodies to remain calm in the face of painful memories. The book offers in-the-moment exercises on how to process difficult emotions and physical manifestations in order to to cultivate the inner resources necessary to deal with recurring memories of trauma. When we are triggered, Richo writes, "we are being bullied by our own unfinished business." Explore what your body's knee-jerk reactions can teach you. Triggers: How We Can Stop Reacting and Start Healing acts as a guide to your body's powerful responses, helping you to remain calm under pressure and discover the key to emotional healing.
The History of China 3rd ed. (ebook) by David Curtis WrightChinese society and culture are evolving with a booming economy, expansion, production of consumer and industrial goods, and a growing influence upon the world. The History of China allows readers to delve into the rich history of this powerful nation.
The History of the Philippines (ebook) by Kathleen NadeauThis updated and revised volume explores the history of the Philippines, from early indigenous inhabitants to President Duterte's controversial war on drugs today. Updated and expanded since it first published in 2008, The History of the Philippines dives deeper into this island nation's history and explores the recent political, cultural, and environmental events of the last decade. Readers will find a wealth of information on pre-colonial and post-colonial historical periods, covering the Philippines' earliest inhabitants. Also covered are the modern tyrannical periods of the Marcos dictatorship and President Duterte's controversial "war on drugs," as well as the more optimistic and promising presidencies in between. Among the many topics covered in this new edition are the feminization of outmigration that peaked at the end of the 20th century, globalization and the spread of export processing zones, and the impact of the "call center culture" coupled with that of the overseas diaspora on the changing structure of the traditional family. Ideal for high school and undergraduate readers, this volume includes expanded and new chapters, as well as an updated timeline and annotated bibliography. Includes a Timeline of significant events in the history of the Philippines, providing students with an at-a-glance overview of the Philippines' history Provides readers with brief biographies of those who have made important contributions to the country's history in an appendix of Notable People in the History of the Philippines Provides additional context and supports the text through photos and maps Offers detailed information on further resources for readers' personal research in an annotated bibliography
E & F: American History & Western Hemisphere
G: Geography, Anthropology, Recreation
A History of the World in Seven Cheap Things by Raj Patel; Jason W. MooreNature, money, work, care, food, energy, and lives: these are the seven things that have made our world and will shape its future. In making these things cheap, modern commerce has transformed, governed, and devastated Earth. In History of the World in Seven Cheap Things, Raj Patel and Jason W. Moore present a new approach to analyzing today's planetary emergencies. Bringing the latest ecological research together with histories of colonialism, indigenous struggles, slave revolts, and other rebellions and uprisings, Patel and Moore demonstrate that throughout history, crises have always prompted fresh strategies to make the world cheap and safe for capitalism. At a time of crisis in all seven cheap things, innovative and systemic thinking is urgently required. This book proposes a radical new way of understanding--and reclaiming--the planet in the turbulent twenty-first century.
Call Number: GF41 .P36 2017
H: Social Sciences, Business, Economics, Sociology
The SAGE Guide to Writing in Policing by Jennifer M. Allen; Steven HouglandThe SAGE Guide to Writing in Policing: Report Writing Essentials equips students with transferable writing skills that can be applied across the field of policing - both academically and professionally. Authors Steven Hougland and Jennifer M. Allen interweave professional and applied writing, academic writing, and information literacy, with the result being a stronger, more confident report writer. Students are also exposed to a number of best practices for various elements of report writing, such as the face page, incident reports, supplemental reports, investigative reports, and traffic reports, as well as search warrants and affidavits.
Call Number: HV7936.R53 A46 2020
Social Psychology by Robbie Sutton; Karen DouglasThe eagerly anticipated second edition of this popular textbook captures the excitement and relevance to everyday life of the fascinating and fast-moving field of social psychology. This book is a comprehensive and lively guide to the subject that extensively reappraises classic studies, highlights cutting-edge areas of research and provides fascinating examples of how social psychological theory and research apply to a wide range of real-world issues such as fake news, internet addiction and cyberbullying. Innovative interactive features, including 'exploring further' activities, 'applying social psychology' exercises and 'student project spotlights', place the student experience at the heart of this book.
Call Number: HM1033 .S88 2019
The Social Psychology of Obedience Towards Authority (ebook) by Dariusz Dolinski; Tomasz GrzybThis rich volume explores the complex problem of obedience and conformity, re-examining Stanley Milgram's famous electric shock study, and presenting the findings of the most extensive empirical study on obedience toward authority since Milgram's era. Dolinski and Grzyb refer to their own series of studies testing various hypotheses from Milgram's and others' research, examining underlying obedience mechanisms as well as factors modifying the degree of obedience displayed by individuals in different situations. They offer their theoretical model explaining subjects' obedience in Milgram's paradigm and describe numerous examples of the destructive effect of thoughtless obedience both in our daily lives as well as in crucial historical events, stressing the need for critical thinking when issued with a command. Concluding with reflections on how to prevent the danger of destructive obedience to authority, this insightful volume will be fascinating reading for students and academics in social psychology, as well as those in fields concerned with complex social problems.
Speak Up by Megan Reitz; John HigginsSpeak Up helps you to navigate power differences and speak up with confidence in a way that you will be heard. But it's no good speaking up if there isn't anyone listening so we also help you to understand how your power enables others to speak up and how it might silence them.
Building Together by Fiona StewartBuilding Together is a journey focused on the leadership necessary for today's early childhood education system building. This book provides a road map to what effective leaders do, how they do it, and the leadership necessary to work towards collaborative systems level change. Building Together includes a wealth of information on the leadership skills, styles and competencies necessary to address today's challenges and opportunities in the field of early childhood education. It also includes how to put leadership skills and knowledge into action to work towards sustainable system planning, implementation, and continuous improvement. Author Fiona Stewart includes success stories throughout the book from professionals in the field as well as examples from her own leadership work. Today's systems-level work requires sophisticated leadership skills. Building Together provides all the leadership information needed for both emerging and experienced leaders.
Call Number: LB1139.23 .S74 2019
Empowering Readers by Mary L. Hoch; Jana L. McNallyTo address Common Core State Standards (CCSS) for reading and language, today's educators strive to help their students develop higher-level understanding with challenging materials. In this book, we share our method for implementing an integrated strategy approach for helping readers understand expository text.
Call Number: LB1573.7 .H64 2020
Handbook of Educational Psychology and Students with Special Needs (ebook) by Andrew J. Martin (Editor) et al.Handbook of Educational Psychology and Students with Special Needs provides educational and psychological researchers, practitioners, policy-makers, and graduate students with critical expertise on the factors and processes relevant to learning for students with special needs. This includes students with attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder, other executive function difficulties, behavior and emotional disorders, autism spectrum disorder, intellectual disabilities, learning disabilities, dyslexia, language and communication difficulties, physical and sensory disabilities, and more.
Messy Play in the Early Years by Sue GascoyneCombining a rich theoretical foundation with practical tips, advice and case studies, Messy Play in the Early Years provides an informative and practical exploration of the unique qualities, characteristics and learning possibilities of messy play.
Call Number: LB1137 .G38 2019
Research Methods for Early Childhood Education by Rosie Flewitt, ed.Research Methods for Early Childhood Education takes an international perspective on research design, and illustrates how research methods are inextricably linked to cultural and theoretical understandings of early childhood, young children's competences and the purposes of education.
Call Number: LB1139.225 .F54 2020
Supporting Gender Diversity in Early Childhood Classrooms by Julie Nicholson, et al.By offering practical steps for adults who work with young children to build inclusive and intentional spaces where all children receive positive messages about their unique gender selves, this book increases awareness about gender diversity in learning environments such as child care centres, family child care homes and preschools. The book is based on some of the most progressive, modern understandings of gender and intersectionality, as well as research on child development, gender health, trauma informed practices and the science of adult learning. By including the voices and lived experiences of gender-expansive children, transgender adults, early childhood educators and parents and family members of trans and gender-expansive children, it contextualizes what it means to rethink early learning programs with a commitment to gender justice and gender equality for all children.
97 Things about Ethics Everyone in Data Science Should Know (ebook) by Bill FranksBeing ethical takes constant diligence, and in many situations identifying the right choice can be difficult. In this in-depth book, contributors from top companies in technology, finance, and other industries share experiences and lessons learned from collecting, managing, and analyzing data ethically. Data science professionals, managers, and tech leaders will gain a better understanding of ethics through powerful, real-world best practices.
Biology of Aging by Roger B. McDonaldBiology of Aging, Second Edition presents the biological principles that have led to a new understanding of the causes of aging and describes how these basic principles help one to understand the human experience of biological aging, longevity, and age-related disease.
Call Number: QH608 .M33 2019
A Practical Guide to Optical Microscopy by John GirkinOptical microscopy is used in a vast range of applications ranging from materials engineering to in vivo observations and clinical diagnosis, and thanks to the latest advances in technology, there has been a rapid growth in the number of methods available. This book is aimed at providing users with a practical guide to help them select, and then use, the most suitable method for their application. It explores the principles behind the different forms of optical microscopy, without the use of complex maths, to provide an understanding to help the reader utilise a specific method and then interpret the results. Detailed physics is provided in boxed sections, which can be bypassed by the non-specialist. It is an invaluable tool for use within research groups and laboratories in the life and physical sciences, acting as a first source for practical information to guide less experienced users (or those new to a particular methodology) on the range of techniques available. Features: The first book to cover all current optical microscopy methods for practical applications Written to be understood by a non-optical expert with inserts to provide the physical science background Brings together conventional widefield and confocal microscopy, with advanced non-linear and super resolution methods, in one book To learn more about the author please visit here.
Did you need help from the UA Wayne College Library staff and we were either closed or unavailable? Sorry we missed you! Please complete this form to let us know what you needed so we can improve our services (including hours of operation).