It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Concise Guide to APA Style by American Psychological Association Staff (Contribution by)Concise Guide to APA Style, Seventh Edition is the official APA Style resource for students. Designed specifically for undergraduate writing, this easy-to-use pocket guide is adapted from the seventh edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association. It provides complete guidance for new writers on effective, clear, and inclusive scholarly communication and the essentials of formatting papers and other course assignments. New to This Edition: full color throughoutcontent relevant to a range of majors and courses, including psychology, social work, criminal justice, communications, composition, education, business, engineering, and morea new chapter focused on student papersa sample student title page, paper, and annotated bibliographystreamlined APA Style headings and in-text citationsa new chapter on writing style and grammarchapters on punctuation, lists, italics, spelling, capitalization, abbreviations, numbers, and statisticsthe latest bias-free language guidelinesnew sample tables and figuresguidance on avoiding plagiarism and self-plagiarismnew reference templates and examples
Call Number: BF76.7 .C66 2020
The Grieving Child in the Classroom by Sue Trace LawrenceThe Grieving Child in the Classroom integrates the latest research on children's bereavement and adapts it for use in the classroom. Chapters tackle the neurological, cognitive, emotional, and social effects of childhood grief and demonstrate the ways in which those reactions can manifest in the classroom. By recognizing individual differences in coping styles and considering variables such as developmental stage, nature of the loss, and availability of support, teachers and staff can become better equipped to respond to the bereaved child's needs. The book incorporates theoretical explanations of grief responses as well as practical suggestions for supporting bereaved children in real-world settings. Whether the loss affects one child or the entire student body, educators can turn to this comprehensive guidebook for ways to support grieving students in their classrooms.
Call Number: BF723.G75 L39 2020
C & D: World History
The Airborne in World War II by Michael E. HaskewD-Day, Operation Market Garden, Battle of the Bulge--the US Airborne divisions were integral at all these major points in World War II. But they also played a significant role in North Africa, where they first saw action, and in Italy in 1943. Right on the tail of these planes, this expert history follows the airborne divisions from the redesignation and initial training of the 82nd in 1942 through to their final, momentous missions in the Pacific.
Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez (ebook) by Laurie Collier HillstromSince mid-2018, when she registered one of the biggest primary election upsets in the nation, Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez has emerged as one of the most influential voices of the progressive wing of the Democratic Party. Few politicians have experienced a rise as meteoric as the one that Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez (or AOC, as she is commonly known) has experienced since her June 2018 Democratic primary upset victory over a powerful, longtime incumbent and her subsequent triumph in the November 2018 midterms. This book will examine how the telegenic lawmaker--a life-long New Yorker of Puerto Rican descent--engineered that startling victory, why her life story and ideas made her such a focus of national attention, how she has used Twitter and other social media to amplify her calls for economic justice and civil rights equality, and why, since she took office in January 2019, she has come to be regarded as one of the most consequential and influential lawmakers in Congress. It will also help readers understand AOC's most deeply held political convictions, policymaking priorities, and personal principles. Provides in-depth coverage of all aspects of Ocasio-Cortez's personal history and political career Explains the values and beliefs that animate Ocasio-Cortez's political activism and policy priorities Chapter bibliographies of print and electronic resources recommended for further study Notes important dates in AOC's life and political career in a chronology
The Haiti Reader by Laurent Dubois (Editor) et al.While Haiti established the second independent nation in the Western Hemisphere and was the first black country to gain independence from European colonizers, its history is not well known in the Anglophone world. The Haiti Reader introduces readers to Haiti's dynamic history and culture from the viewpoint of Haitians from all walks of life.
Call Number: F1901 .H358 2020
Harriet Tubman by Kerry WaltersHarriet Tubman: A Life in American History is an indispensable resource for high school and college students about the life and times of anti-slavery activist Harriet Tubman, who exemplifies how slaves took the initiative to free themselves and others.
H: Social Sciences, Business, Economics, Sociology
The Affirmative Action Puzzle by Melvin I. UrofskyIn this important and ambitious book, Urofsky writes about the affirmative action cases decided by the Supreme Court, cases that upheld as well as struck down particular plans, and those cases that affected both governmental and private entities. He writes in detail about the societal impact of affirmative action--how it has divided society, separating not only those for and against, but also splitting traditional allies. Urofsky's book explores affirmative action in relation to education, how nearly every public university in the country has at one time or another instituted some form of affirmative action plan, some successful, others not; and looks at whether affirmative action programs have benefited minorities. Urofsky's book looks at whether shifts over time can be discerned and if those changes can be attributed to affirmative action programs. The book explores as well the issue with regards to race and women, and if the question of economic and social advancement is different for each. More than ever before, affirmative action remains an important and divisive issue in American society, a divide as large and perhaps less bridgeable than abortion; a public policy question still (alas) very much alive.
Call Number: HF5549.5.A34 U76 2020
Black Fatigue (ebook) by Mary-Frances WintersThis is the first book to define and explore Black fatigue, the intergenerational impact of systemic racism on the physical and psychological health of Black people--and explain why and how society needs to collectively do more to combat its pernicious effects.
The Business Writer's Handbook by Gerald J. Alred, et al.From abstracts to online professional profiles, from blogs and forums the e-mail and formal reports, The Business Writer's Handbook uses smart, accessible language to spotlight and clarify business writing today. Hundreds of topic entries, 90+ sample documents, at-a-glance checklists, and clear, explicit models, communicate the real-world practices of successful business writers. Developed by a legendary author team with decades of combined academic and professional experience, the book's intuitive, alphabetical organization makes it easy to navigate its extensive coverage of grammar, usage, and style. Plus, updated, in-depth treatment of pressing issues like the job search, audience awareness, source documentation, and social media use on the job resonate both in class and at the office. With a refreshed, integrated focus on the ways technologies shape writing, the Twelfth Edition of the Handbook is the indispensable reference tool for writing successfully in the workplace.
Call Number: HF5726 .A388 2019
Business Writing Today by Natalie C. CanavorBusiness Writing Today prepares students to succeed in the business world by giving them the tools they need to write powerfully, no matter the challenge. In her highly-practical text, author Natalie Canavor shares step-by-step guidance and tips for success to help students write more clearly and strategically. Readers will learn what to say and how to say it in any medium from tweets and emails to proposals and formal reports. Every technique comes with concrete examples and practice opportunities, helping students transfer their writing skills to the workplace.
Elder Justice, Ageism, and Elder Abuse by Lisa NerenbergThe text examines the cumulative impact of ageism, racism, sexism, heterosexism, class, and other forms of disadvantage and isolation on the lives of older adults and how these contribute to poverty, disease, disability, abuse, and neglect. It draws from the fields of public health and health equity, and plans devised by international organizations that frame elder abuse as a human rights issue. Practical and achievable goals in the prevention of elder abuse aid policy makers, program developers, grant-makers, and service providers in the fields of gerontology, social work, public health, and nursing in their efforts towards elder abuse prevention.
The Ku Klux Klan in the Heartland (ebook) by James H. Madison"Who is an American?" asked the Ku Klux Klan. It is a question that echoes as loudly today as it did in the early twentieth century. But who really joined the Klan? Were they "hillbillies, the Great Unteachables" as one journalist put it? It would be comforting to think so, but how then did they become one of the most powerful political forces in our nation's history? In The Ku Klux Klan in the Heartland, renowned historian James H. Madison details the creation and reign of the infamous organization. Through the prism of their operations in Indiana and the Midwest, Madison explores the Klan's roots in respectable white protestant society. Convinced that America was heading in the wrong direction because of undesirable "un-American" elements, Klan members did not see themselves as bigoted racist extremists but as good Christian patriots joining proudly together in a righteous moral crusade. The Ku Klux Klan in the Heartland offers a detailed history of this powerful organization and examines how, through its use of intimidation, religious belief, and the ballot box, the ideals of Klan in the 1920s have on-going implications for America today.
Our Bodies, Their Battlefields (ebook) by Christina LambWe have made significant progress in international women's rights, but across the world women are victimized by wartime atrocities that are rarely recorded, much less punished. The first ever prosecution for war rape was in 1997 and there have been remarkably few convictions since, as if rape doesn't matter in the reckoning of war, only killing. Some courageous women in countries around the world are taking things in their own hands, hunting down the war criminals themselves, trying to trap them through Facebook. In this profoundly important book, Christina Lamb shines a light on some of the darkest parts of the human experience--so that we might find a new way forward.
Rust: A Memoir of Steel and Grit by Eliese Colette GoldbachOne woman's story of working in the backbreaking steel industry to rebuild her life--but what she uncovers in the mill is much more than molten metal and grueling working conditions. Under the mill's orange flame she finds hope for the unity of America. Steel is the only thing that shines in the belly of the mill...
Call Number: HD6073.I52 U646 2020
Statistical Abstract of the United States 2020 by ProQuest; Bernan PressThe Statistical Abstract of the United States has provided a statistical portrait of social, political, demographic, and economic conditions of America since 1878. This 2020 edition continues the heritage begun so long ago by the U.S. government, with the U.S. Census Bureau being the last agency to produce the compendium at government expense. Now in our eighth annual edition, Rowman & Littlefield and ProQuest carry on the proud tradition and responsibility of creating the statistical portrait of America. Librarians value the Statistical Abstract as both an answer book and a guide to statistical sources.
Call Number: REF HA202.U55 2020
Statistics for People Who (Think They) Hate Statistics by Neil J. SalkindThe Sixth Edition of Neil J. Salkind's best-selling Statistics for People Who (Think They) Hate Statistics eases student anxiety around an often intimidating subject with a humorous, personable, and informative approach. Salkind guides students through various statistical procedures, beginning with descriptive statistics, correlation, and graphical representation of data, and ending with inferential techniques and analysis of variance.
Call Number: HA29 .S2365 2017
Vital Statistics of the United States 2020 (9th ed.) by Shana Hertz Hattis (Editor)Vital Statistics of The United States: Births, Life Expectancy, Deaths, and Selected Health Data brings together a comprehensive collection of birth, mortality, and health data into a single volume. It provides a wealth of information compiled by the National Center for Health Statistics and other government agencies. Vital Statistics contains over 225 tables and is divided into four parts: Births, Mortality, Health, and Marriage and Divorce. Charts and graphs, available at applicable points in each chapter, illustrate some of the most vital trends in the data. In addition, updated definitions reflect the latest federal parameters for information about births, mortality, health, and marriages.
Call Number: REF HA 203 .V58 2020
Yellow Bird by Sierra Crane MurdochDrawing on eight years of immersive investigation, Sierra Crane Murdoch has produced a profound examination of the legacy of systematic violence inflicted on a tribal nation and a tale of extraordinary healing.
Call Number: HV6762.U5 M78 2020
J: Political Science
America Votes 33 by Rhodes CookAuthoritative, extensive in scope and meticulously researched, America Votes is a valuable resource that includes official, state-certified election returns for the presidential, House, Senate, and gubernatorial elections of 2017 and 2018. Including both primary and general election data, this volume is an essential acquisition for university, school, public, and professional libraries. First published during the Eisenhower administration researchers have long depended on America Votes for its consistent and detailed presentation of election data from across disparate state election offices. Author Rhodes Cook brings to the volume years of election analysis experience and expertise in navigating the complicated U.S. electoral landscape.
Master the Civil Service Exams by Peterson'sThis is a comprehensive, step-by-step preparation guide for those seeking a position with the federal government that requires taking a written exam. This valuable resource provides the math, verbal, and clerical exercises needed to pass the civil service exam. Inside you'll find: 4 full-length practice tests with detailed answer explanations Review of verbal, clerical, math, and memory skills you'll need to score high Tips and strategies from civil service experts on how to become a first-rate job candidate Current information on the civil service job market, including projected areas of growth in the federal government: security/enforcement; medical/public health; engineering/sciences; program management/administration; and accounting, budget, and business
The Artful Read-Aloud by Rebecca BellinghamDip into The Artful Read-Aloud and see what's possible inside your daily read-alouds. By learning to make simple moves that model what real reading looks and sounds like you can help your students become the kind of readers all of us hope they will become: engaged, thoughtful, lifelong ones.
Contemporary Perspectives on Research on Motivation in Early Childhood Education by Olivia N. SarachoThe chapters in this special volume review and critically analyze the literature on several aspects of the relationships between motivational and cognitive processes and demonstrate the breadth and theoretical effectiveness of this domain. This brief introduction acknowledges the valuable contributions of these chapters to the study of human motivation. This volume can be a valuable tool to researchers who are conducting studies in the motivation field. It focuses on important contemporary issues on motivation in early childhood education (ages 0 to 8) to provide the information necessary to make judgments about these issues. It also motivates and guides researchers to explore gaps in the motivation literature.
Call Number: LB1065 .C644 2019
Creating Curriculum in Early Childhood by Julie BullardCreating Curriculum in Early Childhood explores the backward design model of curriculum development, equipping readers with the tools and methods they need to effectively apply backward design in the early childhood classroom. Clear yet comprehensive chapters walk new and veteran educators through an effective method for curriculum design that promotes meeting standards through intentional teaching while engaging children in developmentally appropriate, interest-based education focused on big ideas and conceptual understanding. Featuring desired results, assessment methods, and teaching techniques specific to birth to age eight, this critical guide also includes practical tips for educators new to the method. Designed to help students and practitioners alike, this powerful textbook combines early childhood philosophy and developmental research with highly practical descriptions, rationales, and examples for developing curricular units using backward design.
Call Number: LB1139.4 .B85 2020
The Dyslexia, ADHD, and DCD-Friendly Study Skills Guide by Ann-Marie McNicholasThe book offers strategies for learners whose methods of learning are multisensory. When learning is active rather than passive, it happens faster, and is easier, more enjoyable and more effective. As you progress through the fun, engaging activities, so your confidence and belief in your ability to learn will increase. Struggling students will become confident, successful learners, with a positive attitude and access to a wide range of effective strategies, and in this way, you will achieve the results in exams that you have worked for and deserve.
Call Number: LC4704 .M4144 2020
Essential Learning Theories by Andrew P. JOHNSONThis book examines human learning in the context of four types of research-based learning theories: neurological learning theories, behavioral learning theories, cognitive learning theories, and transformative learning theories. With each theory, the basic elements are described along with specific classroom applications. The writing style makes these concepts readily accessible to readers of all levels of experience and expertise. This book is appropriate for preservice teachers who are seeking to comprehend the basic ideas behind these theories. It is appropriate for practicing teachers who want to understand and apply these theories at increasingly higher levels. It is also appropriate for decision-makers or anybody else who wants to understand human learning and educational processes. This book ends with a description of lesson planning that is set in the various theoretical contexts and includes a guide for defining an educational philosophy.
Call Number: LB1060 .J64 2019
Evaluating Educational Interventions, Second Edition by T. Chris Riley-Tillman; Matthew K. Burns; Stephen P. KilgusThis innovative guide is now in a revised and expanded second edition with an even stronger applied focus. It helps educators harness the potential of single-case design (SCD) as a critical element of data-based decision making in a multi-tiered system of support (MTSS). The authors present simple and complex SCDs and demonstrate their use to defensibly document the effects of academic or behavioral interventions. In a large-size format with lay-flat binding for easy photocopying, the book includes reproducible graphs and other tools; appendices provide guides to analyzing and presenting data in Microsoft Excel. Purchasers get access to a Web page where they can download and print the reproducible materials.
Happy Student by Jenna SageThe book is intended to help teachers and school staff to implement a functional assessment and intervention planning process to increase the quality of life and happiness for students that may exhibit challenging behaviors.
Call Number: LB1060.2 .S24 2019
Introducing Piaget by Jan Pettersen; Ann Marie HalpennyJean Piaget was one of the most significant contributors to our current understanding of how children think and learn, from birth through to adolescence. In this comprehensive and accessible new book, Ann Marie Halpenny and Jan Pettersen capture the key concepts and principles of Piaget's fascinating work on children's thinking, and explore how thinking evolves and develops from infancy through the early years and beyond.
Call Number: LB1140.2 .H347 2014
The Language and Thought of the Child by Jean Piaget; Gabain Marjorie (Translator); Gabain Ruth (Translator)This book is for anyone who has ever wondered how a child develops language, thought, and knowledge. Before this classic appeared, little was known of the way children think. In 1923, however, Jean Piaget, the most important developmental psychologist of the twentieth century, took the psychological world by storm with The Language and Thought of the Child. Applying for the first time the insights of social psychology and psychoanalysis to the observation of children, he uncovered the ways in which a child actively constructs his or her understanding of the world through language. The book has since been a source of inspiration and guidance to generations of parents and teachers. While its conclusions remain contentious to this very day, few can deny the huge debt we owe to this pioneering work in our continuing attempts to understand the minds of the child.
Call Number: LB1139.L3 P5 2002
Learning to Teach Young Children by Anna Kirova; Larry Prochner; Christine MassingLearning to Teach Young Children provides you with the tools to critically engage with the key concepts and beliefs in early childhood education theory and practice. The book is organized around ten propositions that are explored in relation to 30 key questions, for example- - What does it mean to honour children's right to be different? - What does it mean to learn? - How can images of childhood be used as frames for practice? Original comic-book style illustrations are used to explore key theoretical concepts in an accessible and engaging way. The book also includes a companion website offering overviews of the key concepts covered in the book, supplementary information and references, reflective questions and case studies to support your learning.
Call Number: LB1139.23 .K57 2020
Magical Management in the Classroom by Linda Marie GilliamWe as teachers and parents need not to be afraid in acting a little silly, and even goofy when dealing with children. Research shows that humor promotes learning and when used appropriately, it can strengthen relationships of all shapes and sizes. Administrators, teachers, and parents who are dedicated to the best interests, social development, and academic success of their children can accomplish great things by using a wide variety of creatively humorous approaches, including rhymes, chants, riddles, nonsensical speech, jokes, banter, anecdotes, games, and even self-effacing commentary, to make valuable connections and enhance learning.
Call Number: LB3013 .G543 2019
Play and Curriculum by Myae Han & James Johnson, editorsEducators have long been pursuing and applying ways that play can be a context and even a medium for teaching and learning. Volume 15 of Play & Culture Studies focuses on the special topic on Play and Curriculum, a long waited topic to many educators and researchers in the field of play and education. This volume includes chapters reporting recent studies and practical ideas examining the relations between the play and curriculum from early education to higher education. The volume has 3 sections with the 9 chapters grouped to represent various voices on play and curriculum: in Culture, in STEM, in Higher Education. The uniqueness of this book is represented by its breadths and depths of diversity from investigating play and curriculum in an indigenous group in Columbia to play in a New York City Public school and from play and curriculum in a Family Child Care context to the uses of play with college students.
Call Number: LB1139.35.P55 P53 2020
A Practical Guide to Action Research and Teacher Inquiry by Amanda Ince; Eleanor KittoThis accessible guide will be an invaluable resource for early years practitioners looking to make a positive difference in their settings by using action research or teacher enquiry. Guiding readers through the practical steps, issues, and potentials of conducting research in a variety of early childhood settings, the book will increase practitioners' confidence, enabling them to bridge the gap between recognising room for improvements and instigating necessary changes.
Call Number: LB1028.24 .I53 2020
Response to Intervention by Timothy E. MORSEWhile there are many features of a response-to-intervention framework, two stand out as solid reasons why school personnel should be familiar with its basic structure. One reason is that it provides a sound protocol to account for the performance of every student. A second reason is that it provides a structure that is useful for figuring out how to refine instruction so that it is individualized to meet each student's needs. While this book can be useful to both beginning and experienced teachers, as well as other professionals who provide direct and indirect services to students, it has been written first and foremost with preservice teachers in mind. It should prove to be useful to these teachers by enabling them to identify the following: 1. the knowledge and skills they need to acquire in their preparation program, 2. the questions they need to be prepared to ask and answer during a job interview, and 3. the work they need to perform in the role they will fill in a school that uses a response-to-intervention framework.
Communication Cultural and Media Studies by John HartleyNow in its fifth edition, this pioneering volume of Routledge's 'Key Guides' series offers clear explanations of key concepts, showing where they came from, what they are used for and why they provoke discussion or disagreement. The new edition is extensively revised to keep pace with rapidly evolving developments in communication, culture and media, providing topical and authoritative guidance to transformational shifts from broadcast to digital technologies, national to global media and disciplinary to diverse knowledge.
Ex Libris by Anne FadimanThis witty collection of essays recounts a lifelong love affair with books and language. For Fadiman, as for many passionate readers, the books she loves have become chapters in her own life story. Writing with remarkable grace, she revives the tradition of the well-crafted personal essay, moving easily from anecdotes about Coleridge and Orwell to tales of her own pathologically literary family. As someone who played at blocks with her father's 22-volume set of Trollope ("My Ancestral Castles") and who only really considered herself married when she and her husband had merged collections ("Marrying Libraries"), she is exquisitely well equipped to expand upon the art of inscriptions, the perverse pleasures of compulsive proof-reading, the allure of long words, and the satisfactions of reading out loud. There is even a foray into pure literary gluttony--Charles Lamb liked buttered muffin crumbs between the leaves, and Fadiman knows of more than one reader who literally consumes page corners. Perfectly balanced between humor and erudition, Ex Libris establishes Fadiman as one of our finest contemporary essayists.
Call Number: PN4874 .F33 1998
Mass Communication by Ralph E. HansonTransform your students into smart, savvy media consumers. A book that students find fun to read and instructors consider educationally valuable, Mass Communication: Living in a Media World provides the media literacy principles and critical thinking skills that students need to become self-aware media consumers. Known for his storytelling approach, bestselling author Ralph E. Hanson uses examples drawn from everyday life to explain the many dimensions of mass media that operate in our society. This newly revised Seventh Editionis packed with contemporary examples and compelling stories that illustrate the latest developments and recent events that are changing the face of media today.
Call Number: P90 .H314 2019
The Unbearable Lightness of Being by Milan KunderaIn The Unbearable Lightness of Being, Milan Kundera tells the story of a young woman in love with a man torn between his love for her and his incorrigible womanizing and one of his mistresses and her humbly faithful lover. This magnificent novel juxtaposes geographically distant places; brilliant and playful reflections; and a variety of styles to take its place as perhaps the major achievement of one of the world's truly great writers.
Call Number: PG5039.21.U6 N413 2009
Q: Mathematics, Computer Science, Sciences
Anatomy and Physiology by Samuel Hall, et al.Crash Course - your effective every-day study companion PLUS the perfect antidote for exam stress! Save time and be assured you have the essential information you need in one place to excel on your course and achieve exam success. A winning formula now for over 20 years, each series volume has been fine-tuned and fully updated - with an improved full-colour layout tailored to make your life easier. Especially written by senior students or junior doctors - those who understand what is essential for exam success - with all information thoroughly checked and quality assured by expert Faculty Advisers, the result are books which exactly meet your needs and you know you can trust. Each chapter guides you succinctly through the full range of curriculum topics, integrating clinical considerations with the relevant basic science and avoiding unnecessary or confusing detail. A range of text boxes help you get to the hints, tips and key points you need fast! A fully revised self-assessment section matching the latest exam formats is included to check your understanding and aid exam preparation. The accompanying enhanced, downloadable eBook completes this invaluable learning package. Series volumes have been honed to meet the requirements of today's medical students, although the range of other health students and professionals who need rapid access to the essentials of anatomy and physiology will also love the unique approach of Crash Course. Whether you need to get out of a fix or aim for a distinction Crash Course is for you!? Provides the exam syllabus in one place - saves valuable revision time Written by senior students and recent graduates - those closest to what is essential for exam success Quality assured by leading Faculty Advisors - ensures complete accuracy of information Features the ever popular 'Hints and Tips' boxes and other useful aide-mémoires - distilled wisdom from those in the know Updated self-assessment section matching the latest exam formats - confirm your understanding and improve exam technique fast.
Essentials of Managing Stress (4th ed.) by Brian Luke SeawardThis new edition is a highly accessible and student-friendly text that blends theory with effective application, while using simple, straight-forward examples and concepts. Students are guided through a series of more than 80 exercises and questionnaires that encourage them to adopt effective stress management practices into their personal health behaviors.* NEW - Audio files, narrated by author Brian Luke Seaward, introduce each section and can be found on the Navigate Companion Website* NEW - Includes a new Chapter 24, Ecotherapy: The Healing Power of Nature* NEW - Many new Workbook Exercises can be found throughout the text that encourage readers to self-assess and process their findings in a meaningful way* Worksheets are also available as writable PDFs on the Navigate Companion Website* Student Favorite! - Four audio relaxation files are available on the Navigate Companion Website* A reader-friendly approach balances practical tips with theory and concepts
Call Number: RA785 .S43295 2017
Geriatric Notes by Jamie W. Smith; Bradley J. Goad; Caren C. RossowGeriatric Notes is an essential quick reference for the advanced practice provider (APP) who provides care to elders in the outpatient setting, such as nursing homes, family practice, or home health. With a practical, accessible, and concise approach, it offers an easy to understand overview of the most common diagnoses, topics, and symptoms encountered in the aging population.Designed to offer access to the basics, this guide provides tables and bullet points for easy reference. Sections include health promotion, neurology and psychiatry, cardiovascular, pulmonary, gastroenterology, genitourinary, rheumatology, dermatology, endocrinology, labs, Beers list, and common presentations.
Hatha Yoga Illustrated by Martin Kirk; Brooke Boon; Daniel DiTuroExperience the physical benefits and body awareness from hatha yoga--the most popular form of yoga today. Hatha Yoga Illustrated presents nearly 650 full-color photos to visually demonstrate 77 standard poses from hatha yoga that apply to all major hatha styles including Iyengar, Astanga, Anusara, and Bikram. Individual poses are presented from start to finish, showing you how to achieve proper alignment and breathing to ensure challenging yet safe execution. The result is an increase in the effectiveness, both physically and mentally, you'll experience with each pose. Several pose variations based on your personal preference, ability, and fitness level are also included. Eleven sample yoga routines show how to assemble the poses into workouts that meet your specific time, difficulty, and intensity parameters. Colorful and comprehensive, Hatha Yoga Illustrated is organized for your ultimate convenience and use. Use it to guide your muscles, as well as your mind, and increase strength and stamina, reduce stress and anxiety, reduce blood pressure, and increase flexibility.
The Influence of Psychological Trauma in Nursing by Karen J. Foli; John R. ThompsonThe Influence of Psychological Trauma in Nursing helps nurses gain awareness and knowledge about trauma and recovery so they can heal and bring holistic healing to others. Authors Karen J. Foli and John R. Thompson provide a primer on psychological trauma, helping readers identify and understand the common forms of trauma in society. Filled with examples, tools, assessments, and learning objectives, this book helps nurses move forward as trauma-informed caregivers.
Managing Stress (8th ed.) by Brian Luke SeawardThe holistic approach taken by internationally acclaimed lecturer and author Brian Luke Seaward gently guides the reader to greater levels of mental, emotional, physical, and spiritual well-being by emphasizing the importance of mind-body-spirit unity. Referred to as the "authority on stress management" by students and professionals, this book gives students the tools needed to identify and manage stress while teaching them how to strive for health and balance. New and Key Features to the 8th Edition: - Includes a new Chapter 28, Ecotherapy: The Healing Power of Nature. - Revised and updated to keep pace with changes in the field. - Chapter 15, Communication Skills in the Information Age, has been expanded to reference the latest technology and how it affects lifestyles. - New information on stress and diabetes, job market stressors, desk yoga options, food allergies, and much more.
NCLEX-PN Prep Plus by Kaplan NursingWith NCLEX-PN Prep Plus you can study on-the-go. Log in from anywhere to watch video tutorials, review strategies, and take your online practice test.
Call Number: RT62 .N343 2020
Nursing Professionals by Kezia EndsleyWelcome to the nursing field If you are interested in a career as a nurse, you've come to the right book. So what exactly do these people do on the job, day in and day out? What kind of skills and educational background do you need to succeed in these fields? How much can you expect to make, and what are the pros and cons of these various fields? Is this even the right career path for you? How do you avoid burnout and deal with stress? This book can help you answer these questions and more.
Call Number: RT42 .E53 2020
Nursing School Entrance Exams Prep 2021-2022 by Kaplan NursingNow with a new, easy-to-read page design, Kaplan's Nursing School Entrance Exams Prep 2021-2022 is a focused review of the HESI A2 and the Kaplan Nursing Admission Test--two major nursing school entrance assessments. Exam-specific practice, concise content review, and proven test-taking strategies will prepare you to face the first test of your nursing career with confidence. We're so confident that Nursing School Entrance Exams offers the guidance you need that we guarantee it: After studying with our book, you'll score higher--or you'll get your money back. The Best Review Four sample practice tests: two for HESI A2, two for the Kaplan Diagnostic test to identify the topics where you need the most review Test-specific icons showing which content to review for the Kaplan vs. the HESI Science chapters broken out by topic: anatomy & physiology, biology, organ systems, and chemistry Grammar and writing sections specifically geared to the Kaplan test Quick-reference resources with frequently used math formulas and commonly misspelled words to remember Expert Guidance Kaplan's expert nursing faculty reviews and updates content regularly Practical advice for the career-change nursing student We invented test prep--Kaplan (www.kaptest.com) has been helping students for 80 years, and our proven strategies have helped legions of students achieve their dreams
Principles of Modern Agriculture by Richard Renneboog (Editor)This new volume explores a wide variety of topics in modern agriculture. From the use of big data and new technologies for monitoring water levels and weather, to the use of biotechnology in seed production and new non-chemical ways to control pests and weeds, this volume provides students and researchers with new and interesting ways to look at agricultural production in modern society.
Call Number: S493 .P75 2019
The Secret Life of Groceries (ebook)The product of five years of research and hundreds of interviews across every level of the industry, The Secret Life of Groceries delivers powerful social commentary on the inherently American quest for more and the social costs therein. - publisher
Did you need help from the UA Wayne College Library staff and we were either closed or unavailable? Sorry we missed you! Please complete this form to let us know what you needed so we can improve our services (including hours of operation).