Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Social Work Databases
Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
A core resource covering all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, therapy, education, human services, addictions, child and family welfare, mental health, civil and legal rights, and more.
Sociological Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive coverage in all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive coverage of sociology and related areas of study.
Alt Healthwatch This link opens in a new window
Indexes complementary and alternative medicine and links to full text articles many peer reviewed.
Chicano Database This link opens in a new window
Identifies materials on Mexican-American topics and about Chicanos; it also includes the broader Latino experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, Central American immigrants. Includes or has links to full text.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive source for full text nursing and allied health journal literature.
Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
This resource is designed for the everyday consumer of health care information and provides convenient access to easily understandable health and medical information. Consumers can search and browse within medical encyclopedias, popular reference books, and magazine articles.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and substantial abstracts for books, book chapters, scholarly journal articles, government reports, and dissertations related to the field of criminal justice.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic and full text database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Good resource to begin research in education.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Access to scholarly journals, education reports, and theses and dissertations on education topics. Good resource to supplement education research.
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Covers the full spectrum of sexual diversity issues and gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations and other sources.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
Index to published measurement instruments in health, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science.
Health Source - Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive source for consumer health information with links to full text.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Index to full text journal articles in the medical disciplines.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Coverage of the world's literature regarding Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender issues. Disciplines covered include civil liberties, culture, employment, family, history, politics, psychology, religion, sociology and more.
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index to international medical literature with links to full text.
Ovid Nursing & Health Profession Journals This link opens in a new window
Includes access to Emcare database. Premium nursing and allied health database ideal for practice, research, or education.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Key resource for scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in the behavioral sciences and mental health.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text titles covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
PsycNET This link opens in a new window
Searchable interface to select APA databases and publications (PsycARTICLES, PsycBOOKS, PsycEXTRA, & PsycTESTS).
SAMHSA-Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration
Provides data, outcomes, and program impact measures organized by region. Includes data from National Survey on Drug Use and Health; Center for Behavioral Health Statistics and Quality; Substance Abuse Facilities Data from the National Survey of Substance Abuse Treatment Services; Mental Health Facilities Data from the National Mental Health Services Survey; and Client Level Data from the Treatment Episode Data Set.
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Covers the core disciplines in Women's Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. This database supports curriculum development in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education.
Open-Access Online Journals
Some of the journals listed below may not allow access to all content within. For example, some journals might restrict access to the most recent issue(s) and only allow free access to older issues. If you cannot get the specific article you want, remember that Interlibrary Loan (https://2214.account.worldcat.org/profile/) is always available to you--more info on ILL here: https://libguides.uakron.edu/illakr
Online, Open-access journals in Social Work
BioMed Central Journals
This publisher offers more than 237 open-access, peer-reviewed journals in biology and medicine, including public health, health care policy, and women's health.
Directory of Open Access Journals
A directory of freely-available, scholarly electronic journals that can be searched or browsed by subject.
Formerly OpenCongress, GovTrack is for researching and tracking legislation before the U.S. Congress.
Journal of Social Work Values & Ethics
This open access journal "examines the ethical and values issues that impact and are interwoven with social work practice, research, and theory development. JSWVE addresses ethical and value issues that encompass the full range of social problems and issues that social workers encounter. The journal provides the necessary historical perspectives on the development of social work values and ethics, as well as present articles providing value and ethical dilemmas stemming from state-of-the-art developments."
Journal of the Society for Social Work and Research
Published by the Society for Social Work and Research, this open access journal focuses on "research that advances knowledge of social problems, programs, and policies. Special emphasis is placed on publishing findings from studies of the effectiveness of social and health services, including public policies and practices. JSSWR publishes rigorous empirical research that advances knowledge useful for designing social programs, developing innovative public policies, and improving social work practice."
A project of the Center for Democracy & Technology through the cooperation of several organizations and collectors of CRS Reports, Open CRS provides citizens access to CRS Reports already in the public domain and encourages Congress to provide public access to all CRS Reports.
OpenDOAR - Directory of Open Access Repositories
This directory lists more than 2,000 academic repositories worldwide. You can search for freely-available scholarly articles, data, and dissertations across repositories or browse the holdings of individual institutions.
Public Library of Science (PLoS)
Although the emphasis of this open access publisher is on the sciences and medicine, their journal, PLoS ONE, covers mental health, public health, and women' health.
Subjects: Allied Health
, Biomedical Engineering
, Child and Family Development
, Exercise & Nutrition Sciences
, Nutrition & Dietetics
, Public Health
, Social Work
, Speech-Language Pathology & Audiology
Quick Start: Social Work Research
Getting started with Social Work research? Try these tools first.