Skip to Main Content

Full Text of Periodicals

4 Ways to Locate the Full Text of a Specific Article (Have a Citation but No Link)

Finding Articles When No Link is Available - Using Citation Linker or Full Text Finder

1. Go to the University Libraries' Citation Linker webpage or https://login.ezproxy.uakron.edu:2443/login?url=https://resolver.ebscohost.com/openurl/revise
2. Type in the citation information for the article. At minimum, include the journal title, year, volume, and start page.
     Include the DOI (Digital Object Identifier) or PMID (PubMed ID), when available. 
3. Click Submit

Finding Articles When No Link is Available - Using E-Journals

If you have a citation (i.e. publication information) but no link to the full text, to determine if the full text of the article is available at UA, you can search the E-Journals link, the UA Library Catalog, or UA Libraries Google Scholar.

Example Citation:
Christopher, D. A., Mitchell, R. J., & Karron, J. D. (2020). Pollination intensity and paternity in flowering plants. Annals of Botany, 125(1), 1–9.

To determine full text availability, follow these steps:

STEP 1: Search by Journal Title using E-Journals

  • Go to the UA Libraries homepage at: https://uakron.edu/libraries/

  • Look for the E-Journals link at the top of the page. Then, type the entire periodical title on the search box and run the search. Example: annals of botany

STEP 2: Look for the title of the periodical (if available) you need.

  • Click the Full Text Access link to view databases that carry this periodical.

  • The results will to tell you whether or not the library subscribes to the periodical and has the year, volume, issue, page(s) that you need, online or in print format.

  • Look for a database or journal collection that matches the publication year of the article you need (e.g., 2020 article). See image below:

  • Click on the name of of the databases/journal collections (e.g., Oxford Journals) and select the year and volume of the desired article. See example of a journal archive webpage below:

 

 

  • Follow the link. Navigate the database/journal archive webpage to access the specific article (you may need to scroll down). For some databases, look for the article record and select the full text link.

Finding Articles When No Link is Available - Using the UA Library Catalog
Note: This is the most comprehensive way to check availability of the full text.

If you have a citation (i.e. publication information) but no link to the full text, to determine if the full text of the article is available at UA, you can search the E-Journals link, the UA Library Catalog, or use UA Libraries Google Scholar.

Example Citation:
Christopher, D. A., Mitchell, R. J., & Karron, J. D. (2020). Pollination intensity and paternity in flowering plants. Annals of Botany, 125(1), 1–9.

To determine full text availability, follow these steps:

STEP 1: Search by Journal Title using the UA Library Catalog

STEP 2: For immediate access, choose the option for linking to the electronic version of the periodical.

  • For periodicals in print, the location will be a call number. Some periodicals will be in microform or online format. The Catalog record will show the range of volumes/issues and years available in the UA Libraries . For an online journal there will be a link (in lieu of a call number) and the years available will be included.

  • If other non-online options for full-text are available, you may request them via InterLibrary Loan (ILL). NOTE: We will not be able to fill most requests during the corona virus pandemic.

Don't know if you have an ILL account or Want to Create your ILL account?
To create or check about the status of your ILL account, go to the ILL link on the University Libraries homepage: https://www-uakron-edu.ezproxy.uakron.edu:2443/libraries/ill-index.dot  

Finding Articles When No Link is Available - Using the UA Libraries' Google Scholar

If you have a citation (i.e., publication information such as author, title, periodical title, year and volume) but no link to the full text, to determine if the full text of the article is available at UA, you can search the E-Journals link, the UA Library Catalog, or use UA Libraries Google Scholar.

Example Citation:
Christopher, D. A., Mitchell, R. J., & Karron, J. D. (2020). Pollination intensity and paternity in flowering plants. Annals of Botany, 125(1), 1–9. 

To determine full text availability, follow these steps:

STEP 1: On the UA Libraries' homepage, go to the Google Scholar TAB.

STEP 2: Look for this Google Scholar link, Searching: Google Scholar (not the search box). 
Then, click on Google Scholar link. IMPORTANT: You will be prompted to enter your UA ID and password to access licensed materials. 

Search by Article Title in UA Libraries' Google Scholar:

  • ​Search for the Article Title (not the Journal Title). Use double quotes (" ") to enclose the title of the article. For example: "Pollination intensity and paternity in flowering plants"

  • In the results page, if the article you need is available, look for PDF links, or click on the article title link to determine full-text availability. 

  • TIP: If no full text is available, try clicking on the "versions" link located beneath the citation information on the results page. For example: "All 4 versions".  This feature might lead to other full text options.