Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Public Domain, Fair Use and Open Resources found online.
Free public domain eBooks for your Kindle.
Hathi Trust Digital Library
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
The Internet Archive's purposes include offering permanent access for researchers, historians, scholars, people with disabilities, and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format. Now the Internet Archive includes texts, audio, moving images, and software as well as archived web pages in our collections, and provides specialized services for adaptive reading and information access for the blind and other persons with disabilities.
Open Textbook Library
This library is a tool to help instructors find affordable, quality textbook solutions. All textbooks in this library are complete and openly licensed.
This site has two purposes:
To make it easier for people to read about the history of American slavery, in the own words of those who went through this terrible ordeal.
To create an open source collaboration that anyone in the world can access and contribute to.
We know that people read on a variety of devices today so we wanted to provide a great experience across desktop computers, tablets, and other mobile devices.
Is plagarism also copyright infringement?
Plagiarism vs. Copyright Infringement: Do You Know the Difference? - See more at: http://inkthinkerblog.com/2007/05/08/plagiarism-vs-copyright-infringement-do-you-know-the-difference/#sthash.q09mQXkm.dpuf
Copyright holders have exclusive rights to create reproductions, to create derivative works, to distribute and to perform publicly. Once an item has been created in a “stable,” tangible form, then it is automatically copyrighted. Registering for copyright provides extra security and exclusion, but it is not required for an item to be copyrighted.
Patents are a documentation that secures for a term of years the exclusive right to make, use, or sell an invention.
Content that is in the public domain have intellectual property rights that have either expired or are inapplicable.
Once content has been created in a tangible form, it is automatically copyrighted under US law. Content creators may choose to "open" their content in order to provide others with permission before hand. If materials are listed as open, then they may be used freely without requesting permission or paying a fee. Many open access content has a license applied to it, which requires certain conditions in exchange for use of the content (ie. attribution, non-profit use).
Open content does not necessarily mean free content. The key point is that open materials are open for distribution.
GNU: General Public License
Open Source License
Open Education Resources
Who needs open access? You need open access!
Fair use is an exception that allows use of small portions of copyrighted materials for the following reasons:
• News reporting
Open Access Databases
Below is a list of legitimate, vetted depositories of open source documents ranging a wide variety of subjects.