Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University of Akron Historical Resources: Archival Materials

Resources on the history of The University of Akron and its predecessors including books, theses, dissertations, articles, and archival materials.

Archival Materials on UA History

This page contains a list of archival resources on University of Akron history including photographs, documents, and audio-visual materials. The page is organized by type of collection including photograph collections, office records, organizational records, faculty papers, and alumni papers.

Photograph Collections

University of Akron Photographs

Date Range: 1854-2004

Extent: 36 cubic feet (70 boxes)

The University of Akron Photographs Collection contains prints and negatives taken by campus photographs and others that depict special events, student life, the campus landscape, and individual students, staff, and faculty members over the years. Most of the images have been digitized and are available in the digital archives

 

University of Akron Slide Collection

Date Range: 1961-1988

Extent: 0.5 cubic feet

The University of Akron Slide Collection is an artificial collection compiled by the archives from different sources that consists of photographic slides depicting people, places, and events associated with the University. 

 

John Ashley Photographs

Date Range: 1994-2003

Extent: 33.5 cubic feet (67 boxes)

John Ashley was the campus photographer at The University of Akron from the mid 1990s to early 2000s. His collection contains photographic prints, 35mm negatives, and proof sheets of images he took of campus events and people and places associated with The University of Akron during this time period.  

 

Tel-Buch Office Records

Date Range: 1964-1997

Extent: 22 cubic feet

The Tel-Buch is the annual yearbook of The University of Akron and its predecessors. The records mainly consist of photographs from the Tel-Buch Office that appeared in the yearbook. The photographs document student clubs and organizations, university athletics, campus buildings, and special events.

 

University of Akron Postcard Collection

Date Range: 1905-2000

Extent: 0.3 cubic feet

The University of Akron Postcard Collection is an artificial collection compiled by the archives from different sources that consists of postcards depicting campus buildings and grounds. Many of the postcards have been digitized and are available online in the digital archives

Office Records

The University Archives collects and maintains historical records of most academic and administrative offices and support services on campus, including the Board of Trustees, Office of the President, Provost's Office, vice presidents' offices, Office of General Counsel, and colleges, schools, departments, and support units. Below is only a partial list of our holdings of permanent records from campus offices. Please contact the archives for additional information. 

 

Daniel Guggenheim Airship Institute Records

Date Range: 1926-1952

Extent: 13 cubic feet

The Daniel Guggenheim Airship Institute was operated by the Municipal University of Akron from 1929 to 1949. As part of the College of Engineering, the institute provided students with research opportunities relating to lighter-than-air flight, heavier-than-air flight, and meteorology. The records consist of correspondence, technical reports, and administrative files. The records are processed and the finding aid can be accessed by clicking the link above. Also, all reports are digitized and available online in the digital archives.

Founding and Founders Records (RG1)

Date Range: 1878 -1967 

Extent: 7 cubic feet (21 document cases)

The University of Akron, Founding and Founders Records, is an artificial collection compiled by the University Archives. It includes records by and about the founders of The University of Akron and its predecessors, including Buchtel College and The Municipal University of Akron. More specifically, the records include articles of incorporation, reports of the secretary, and correspondence to and from the college founders, early presidents, and early faculty, including John R. Buchtel, Ira A. Priest, Augustus B. Church, Charles R. Olin, and Orello Cone. The records also include the classbooks of Charles M. Knight, research files on the development of the University seal, and early financial records, legal records, property records, and faculty minutes. The records are unprocessed, but a preliminary inventory of the records can be accessed by clicking the link above.

General Information Records (RG0)

Date Range: 1890-1970

Extent: 11 cubic feet (31 document cases)

The University of Akron, General Information Records (RG0) is an artificial collection compiled by the University Archives. The records mostly include general or miscellaneous information about The University of Akron and its predecessors, including Buchtel College and The Municipal University of Akron. This includes issues of Universalist newspapers as well as self studies of The University of Akron and records of various committees and commissions associated with the University. The records are unprocessed, but a preliminary inventory to the records can be accessed by clicking the link above.  

Board of Trustees Records (RG3)

Date Range: 1874-1983

Extent: 5 cubic feet (15 document cases)

The University of Akron, Board of Trustees Records (RG3) contain bylaws, regulations, progress reports, and meeting minutes of The University of Akron Board of Trustees and its predecessors, including the Board of Directors of Buchtel College and The Municipal University of Akron. The records also contain annual reports, progress reports, guides, and master plans of the Ohio Board of Regents (OBR). The records also contain scrapbooks of newspaper clippings dating from 1923 to 1951. The records are unprocessed, but a preliminary inventory of the records can be accessed by clicking the link above. 

Center for Peace Studies Records

Date Range: 1930-1995

Extent: 23 cubic feet (23 records storage boxes) 

The University of Akron, Center for Peace Studies Records mostly consist of subject files containing information on peace events and conferences, as well as various topics related to war, violence, and peace created or collected by the Center for Peace Studies at The University of Akron. The records are unprocessed, but a preliminary inventory of the records can be accessed by clicking the link above.  

Office of the President Records (RG4)

Date Range: 1873-1973

Extent: 137 cubic feet (391 document cases)

The University of Akron, Office of the President Records (RG4) mostly consist of correspondence, speeches, and subject files of the presidents of The University of Akron and its predecessors, including Buchtel College and The Municipal University of Akron. Most of the records are from the administrations of Norman P. Auburn and Dominic J. Guzzetta. However, there are also records from presidents Ira A. Priest, George F. Zook, and Hezzleton E. Simmons. The records are unprocessed, but a preliminary inventory of the records can be accessed by clicking the link above. 

General History Records (RG2)

Date Range: 1873-1990

Extent: 5 cubic feet (15 document cases)

The University of Akron, General History Records (RG2) is an artificial collection compiled by the University Archives. The records mostly consist of early histories of The University of Akron and its predecessors, including Buhchtel College and The Municipal University of Akron, as well as correspondence to and from early faculty and administrators. The records also contain scrapbooks of newspaper clippings dating from 1923 to 1951. The records are unprocessed, but a preliminary inventory of the records can be accessed by clicking the link above.

Office of University Relations Records (RG8)

Date Range: 1873-1970

Size: 19 cubic feet (54 document cases)

The University of Akron, Office of University Relations Records (RG8) include materials from The University of Akron and its predecessors, including Buchtel College and The Municipal University of Akron. The records mostly consist of subject files on various campus events such as the Acme-Zip Game, Fine Arts Festival, Founder's Day, the All-American Soap Box Derby, and building dedications and fundraising campaigns. The records also include Alumni minutes and department notebooks. The records are unprocessed, but a preliminary inventory of the records can be accessed by clicking the link above.  

Institute for Civic Education Records (RG14)

Date Range: 1957-1968

Extent: 5.5 cubic feet (16 document cases)

The University of Akron, Institute for Civic Education Records (RG14) consist of reports, minutes, subject files, newspaper clippings, correspondence, photographs, and other materials documenting the history and operation of the institute. The records are unprocessed, but a preliminary inventory of the records can be accessed by clicking the link above. 

University Faculty Records

Date Range: 1934-1971

Extent: 6 cubic feet (17 document cases)

The University of Akron, University Faculty Records mostly document The University of Akron Faculty Women's Club (FWC), the Faculty Committee on University Improvement (FCUI), and The University of Akron Chapter of the American Association of University Professors (AAUP). Most of the AAUP records are from the Akron Chapter, although some records pertain to the national organization. The records include correspondence, meeting minutes, reports, constitutions, membership lists, subject files, publications, and artifacts and memorabilia. The records are unprocessed, but a preliminary inventory of the records can be accessed by clicking the link above.  

University Council Records (RG17)

Date Range: 1937-1979

Extent: 3 cubic feet (9 document cases)

The University of Akron, University Council Records (RG17) mostly consist of meeting minutes of University Council and its various standing committees, as well as reports, guidelines, and policies created by the group. The records are unprocessed, but a preliminary inventory of the records can be accessed by clicking the link above. 

School of Law Records (RG25)

Date Range: 1917 -2015

Extent: 40 cubic feet (31 records storage boxes)

The University of Akron, School of Law Records (RG25) mostly consist of correspondence, publications, reports, catalogs, histories, newspaper clippings, commencement programs, viewbooks, self studies, awards, proposed curriculum changes, meeting minutes, scrapbooks, photograph albums, and photographs and slides of students, alumni, professors, and events. There is one entire box and one folder from another box of student records that are restricted. The records are unprocessed, but a preliminary inventory of the records can be accessed by clicking the link above.

WZIP-FM Records

Date Range: 1952-2013

Extent: 6 cubic feet

WZIP (88.1 FM) is a non-commercial college radio station owned by The University of Akron that serves the Akron, Ohio metropolitan area. The station broadcasts a rhythmic contemporary hit radio format as well as news, sports talk, and public affairs in both analog and online formats. WZIP first began broadcasting as WAUP in 1962, but changed its call sign in 1989 to reflect the University’s mascot, the Zips. The records include correspondence, manuals, magazine and newspaper articles, and audio and program logs. 

Executive Committee Records (RG18)

Date Range: 1930-1982

Extent: 3.5 cubic feet (10 document cases)

The University of Akron, Executive Committee Records (RG18) consist of meeting minutes and materials from conferences held by the Executive Committee of The University of Akron. The records are unprocessed, but a preliminary inventory of the records can be accessed by clicking the link above. 

Community and Technical College Records (RG19)

Date Range: 1966-1987

Extent: 7.5 cubic feet (21 document cases)

The University of Akron, Community and Technical College Records (RG19) mostly consist of proposals to establish associate degree programs at the college. However, the records also include some correspondence, surveys, and statistical information that document the history and operation of the college. The records are unprocessed, but a preliminary inventory of the records can be accessed by clicking the link above. 

General College Records (RG20)

Date Range: 1914-1987

Extent: 3 cubic feet (8 document cases)

The University of Akron, General College Records (RG20) consist of committee and subcommittee meeting minutes and information, reports, correspondence, syllabi, and curriculum change forms that document the history and operation of the college. The records are unprocessed, but a preliminary inventory of the records can be accessed by clicking the link above.  

College of Engineering Records (RG22)

Date Range: 1940-1987

Extent: 8 cubic feet (23 document cases)

The University of Akron, College of Engineering Records (RG22) consist of publications, newsletters, subject files, curriculum change proposals, grant applications, and reports that document the history and operation of the college. One file of records relating to students is restricted. The records are unprocessed, but a preliminary inventory of the records can be accessed by clicking the link above.

College of Education Records (RG23)

Date Range: 1921-1987

Extent: 15.5 cubic feet (44 document cases)

The University of Akron, College of Education Records (RG23) consist of correspondence, self-studies, annual reports, curriculum change proposals, publications, meeting minutes, and subject files that document the history and operation of the college. One box of records relating to students and one file of personnel records are restricted. The records are unprocessed, but a preliminary inventory of the records can be accessed by clicking the link above.

College of Business Administration Records (RG24)

Date Range: 1934-1987

Extent: 5 cubic feet (15 document cases)

The University of Akron, College of Business Administration Records (RG24) consist of publications, proceedings, curriculum change proposals, surveys, self-study reports, and subject files that document the history and operation of the college. One file of records relating to students is restricted. The records are unprocessed, but a preliminary inventory of the records can be accessed by clicking the link above.

Graduate Division Records (RG26)

Date Range: 1968-1972

Extent: 2.5 cubic feet (7 document cases)

The University of Akron, Graduate Division Records (RG26) consist of committee information, manuals, histories, bylaws, correspondence, and proposals of The University of Akron Graduate School, then known as the Graduate Division. Any information regarding students of the division is restricted. The records are unprocessed, but a preliminary inventory of the records can be accessed by clicking the link above.

Student Services Records (RG28)

Date Range: 1921-1969

Extent: 2 cubic feet (6 document cases)

The University of Akron, Student Services Records (RG28) mostly consist of files on various student organizations, reports of the Student Activity Fund, and statistical data. The records are unprocessed, but a preliminary inventory of the records can be accessed by clicking the link above.

Campus Ceremonies and Events Records (RG40)

Date Range: 1890-1979

Extent: 6 cubic feet (16 document cases, 14 reel-to-reel audio tapes)

The University of Akron, Campus Ceremonies and Events Records (RG40) consist of reports, documents, meeting minutes, proceedings, and audio tapes of various events sponsored by The University of Akron and its predecessors, including Buchtel College and The Municipal University of Akron, such as Homecoming, Founder's Day, building dedications and ground breakings, the bond issue of 1929, and The University of Akron Centennial in 1970. The records are unprocessed, but a preliminary inventory of the records can be accessed by clicking the link above.

College of Fine & Applied Arts Records (RG42)

Date Range: 1967-1985

Extent: 5.25 cubic feet (15 document cases)

The University of Akron, College of Fine & Applied Arts Records (RG42) mostly consist of curriculum change proposals, proposals to establish new degree programs, scripts for various plays produced by the college, and copies of Acta Symbolic, a journal published by the Department of Speech Language Pathology and Audiology. The records are unprocessed, but a preliminary inventory of the records can be accessed by clicking the link above.

College of Nursing Records (RG43)

Date Range: 1943-1982

Extent: 5.5 cubic feet (16 document cases)

The University of Akron, College of Nursing Records (RG43) mostly consist of syllabi and course materials, subject files, meeting minutes, self-study reports, curriculum change proposals, program information, and student records. Three entire boxes and several files from a fourth box of student records are restricted. The records are unprocessed, but a preliminary inventory of the records can be accessed by clicking the link above. 

Vertical File

Date Range: 1912-1987

Extent: 44 cubic feet (22 vertical file drawers)

The University of Akron, Vertical File consists of historic documents, publications, reports, correspondence, meeting minutes, audio tapes, memorabilia and ephemera from various offices and organizations of The University of Akron and its predecessors, including Buchtel College and The Municipal University of Akron, that were not integrated with the records of the office of origin and were historically maintained as a separate unit in the University Archives. The records are unprocessed, but a preliminary inventory of the records can be accessed by clicking the link above.   

Wayne College Records (RG46)

Date Range: 1972-2016

Extent: 16 cubic feet (16 records storage boxes)

The University of Akron, Wayne College Records (RG46) mostly consist of news releases and publications, including Common Currency and Wayne Mirror. The records are unprocessed, but a preliminary inventory of the records can be accessed by clicking the link above. 

Organizational Records

In addition to official University records, University Archives collects and maintains historical records from various organizations associated with The University of Akron. A partial list is below. Please contact the archives for more information. 

 

Association of University of Akron Retirees (AUAR) Records

Date Range: 1998-2015

Extent: 3 cubic feet

The Association of the University of Akron Retirees (AUAR) is a group of former UA employees and their spouses and families. Founded in 1998, it provides social and educational activities and volunteer opportunities to its membership and sponsors an endowed scholarship for UA students. The records include meeting minutes and agendas, correspondence, scholarship information, directories, handbooks, newsletters, membership lists, reports, programs, newspaper clippings, photographs, financial summaries, and information about special events. 

 

Friends of Hower House Records

Date Range: 1974-2002

Extent: 3.3 cubic feet

The Hower House is a 28-room Second Empire Italianate mansion in Akron, Ohio. Built in 1871 by Akron industrialist John Henry Hower and his wife, the house was deeded to The University of Akron in 1970 and was placed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1973. In 1974 the Friends of Hower House was established to preserve the house and its furnishings and merged with the Hower House Victorians in 2016 to form the Hower House Museum Guild. The records document the Friends of Hower House, the Hower House Victorians, and the Conservation and Restoration Committee and includes meeting minutes, publications, and photographs and slides of the house, displays, and artifacts.

 

The University of Akron Women's Club Records

Date Range: 1989-2004

Extent: 2 cubic feet

The University of Akron Women’s Club (UAWC), formerly The University of Akron Faculty Women’s Club, is primarily a social organization composed of women employees and female spouses of UA employees that promotes social, informational, and service opportunities to its members and raises funds for scholarships for female UA students. The records include meeting minutes, financial records, newsletters, membership lists, and special events information. 

Faculty Papers

In addition to official records of The University of Akron and organizational records, University Archives also collects and provides access to personal and professional papers of select faculty and staff. Below is a partial listing of our holdings of faculty papers.  

 

Dr. Kathleen L. Endress Collection

Date Range: 1841-2018

Extent: 6 cubic foot

Dr. Kathleen L “Kitty” Endres is a Distinguished Professor Emerita of Communications at The University of Akron. Her collection is comprised of files and collected materials assembled and used by Dr. Endres during her career as a professor of Communications and Women’s Studies at The University of Akron.  It also contains materials collected by Dr. Endres on local and regional history, including women's history, the publishing industry, the rubber and polymer industry, and lighter-than-air flight.  

 

Barbara Gsellman Collection

Date Range: 1936-1989

Extent: 0.2 cubic foot

Barbara Gsellman (1927-2013) was an instructor/lecturer in Mechanical Engineering, the Community & Technical College, and the Evening College at The University of Akron (UA) from the late 1950s to the early 1980s. Her collection contains materials relating to UA and local history including UA Faculty Women’s Club yearbooks, newspaper clippings of UA faculty and staff, and several pamphlets relating to aeronautics.

 

Dr. Dominic J. Guzzetta Papers

Date Range: 1964-2009

Extent: 6 cubic foot

Dr. Dominic J. Guzzetta (1920-2010) served numerous deanships and vice presidencies at The University of Akron before becoming the institution’s 11th president, serving from 1971 to 1984. During his tenure he oversaw the opening of E.J. Thomas Hall, the acquisition of the Rubber Bowl, and the creation of Wayne College. He later became president of the I-X Center in Cleveland. His papers include photographs, scrapbooks, slides, travel itineraries, and artifacts that document his life and work.

 

Dr. Charles M. Knight Family Papers

Date Range: 1849-1940

Extent: 21 cubic foot

Dr. Charles M. Knight (1848-1941) held numerous positions at Buchtel College (now The University of Akron) including Professor and Chair of Natural Sciences, Professor of Chemistry, Professor Emeritus, Dean, and Acting President from 1896-1897. He started the first course in rubber chemistry in 1909 and the Knight Chemical Laboratory at the University was named in his honor. The papers include personal letters, diaries, journals, business papers, photographs, and artifacts relating to Knight and his family including Joel Knight, Jr., Fanny Maria Duncan Knight, Sophie Knight McCollester, Eva Knight Greenwood, Colonel William Henry (Hal) Greenwood, Susan Helen Knight, Esther Knight Guild, and Mary Knight Dutton.

 

Dr. Daniel Nelson Collection

Date Range: 1900-1980s

Extent: 8 cubic foot

Dr. Daniel Nelson is Professor Emeritus of History at The University of Akron who specializes in American business and labor history and has published numerous books on these topics. His collection consists of research materials for his book American Rubber Workers & Organized Labor, 1900-1941, including research notes, oral history interviews, meeting minutes, manuscripts, demographic studies, articles, newspaper clippings, chapter critiques, and correspondence. The collection also includes information regarding the United Rubber Workers (URW) and numerous rubber companies.

 

Dr. Ira A. Priest Papers and Artifacts

Date Range: 1876-1956

Extent: 12 cubic feet

Dr. Ira A. Priest (1856-1933) was a minister in the Universalist Church, fifth president of Buchtel College (now The University of Akron), and a chaplain in the 8th Ohio Infantry of the Ohio National Guard. His papers and artifacts consist of correspondence, sermons, writings, printed materials, photographs, clippings, uniforms, personal items, and memorabilia that relate to Dr. Priest's long career as a minister, chaplain, and academic in Ohio, Texas, and Vermont.

 

Julian Suso Papers

Date Range: 1949-1972

Extent: 8 cubic foot

Julian Suso was a faculty member at The University of Akron and Director of the Akron Department of Planning and Urban Renewal. His papers include reports, proposals, and correspondence regarding his career and the development of the Akron area.

 

Dr. Charles W. Wilson Papers

Date Range: 1960s-1970s

Extent: 1 cubic foot

Dr. Charles W. Wilson is an Emeritus Professor of Physics at The University of Akron (UA) and member of the American Association of University Professors (AAUP). His papers include correspondence, publications, presentation notes, curriculum vitas, research notebooks, and syllabi. They also consist of materials collected by Wilson including publications of his colleagues at UA and annual reports, meeting minutes, and photographs from the Department of Physics and the Institute of Polymer Science as well as records relating to the AAUP. 

Alumni Papers

In addition to faculty papers, University Archives also includes personal and professional papers and collections of archival materials from alumni and friends of the University. The list below is fairly extensive; however, other resources are available in the archives.  

 

Fred C. Bock Papers

Date Range: 1904-1996

Extent: 9 cubic feet

Fred C. Bock was a radio broadcaster and personality for WADC radio station and an advertising agent in Akron, Ohio. Included in the papers are items from his radio and advertising careers, documents from the founding of the Broadcasters Hall of Fame, and materials from Bock's time as a student at The University of Akron.

 

Thelma C. Furry Papers

Date Range: 1911-1990

Extent: 4 cubic feet

Thelma C. Furry (1910-2000) was an Akron, Ohio attorney, graduate of The University of Akron School of Law, member of the Communist Party, and the first female trial lawyer in Akron. Specializing in domestic and juvenile cases, she was known for taking controversial and unpopular stands and was the defender of those who had no voice in their own defense locally and nationally including people who suffered civil rights violations such as homosexuals and AIDS patients. Her papers include legal documents, correspondence, a scrapbook, publications, and taped interviews regarding her defense of civil rights cases.

 

Mary E. Gladwin Papers

Date Range: 1889-1939

Extent: 1.25 cubic feet

Mary E. Gladwin (1861-1939) was an early graduate of The University of Akron (then Buchtel College) who served as a Red Cross nurse during the Spanish-American War, the Philippine Insurrection, the Russo-Japanese War, and World War I. During the flood of 1913, she directed the Red Cross nursing services in Dayton and stayed in Ohio to become Head of Women's Employment and Welfare Department of the B.F. Goodrich Company in Akron. Gladwin also organized and directed the George T. Perkins Visiting Nurse Association and was an incorporator and member of the first Board of Directors of the Summit County Chapter of the American Red Cross. Her papers include her memoirs, letters, photographs, diary, medals, and other materials documenting her life and work.

 

Thomas D. Gradisher Journals and Travel Books

Date Range:1982-2004

Extent: 0.5 cubic feet

Thomas D. “Thom” Gradisher, a University of Akron alumnus, was a United States diplomat who worked for the State Department from 1984 until 2004. He worked in Foreign Service, as Desk Officer in Washington, D.C., and as a Public Affairs Coordinator. His journals and travel books document his travels and work for the State Department.

 

Hazel Bessey Hart Collection

Date Range:1885-1964

Extent: 1 cubic foot

Hazel Bessey “Bess” Hart was a student at Buchtel College (now The University of Akron) from 1907-1911. Her collection includes publications, photographs, slides, scrapbooks, and photograph albums that document the college and her sorority, Kappa Kappa Gamma. 

 

Adib Karam Papers

Date Range:1925-1985

Extent: 6 cubic feet

Dr. Adib Karam was a physician, humanitarian, and alumnus of The University of Akron (Class of 1925) who established a fund to further the interests of UA alumni and for the benefit of University Libraries. His papers include certificates, diaries, slides, photographs, maps, newspaper and journal articles, correspondence, manuscripts, booklets, and brochures that document his volunteer work with people and causes around the world including Project Hope, Africa, Navajo Indians, Vietnam, Middle East, Alaska, San Quentin, California Institute for Women, and Southeast Asia.

 

Annetta Karam Travel Diaries

Date Range:2001-2009

Extent: 0.25 cubic feet

Annetta Karam (1915-2014) was a social worker in New York and Akron, Ohio, an active community member, an honorary alumna of The University of Akron (UA), and a world traveler who traveled around the world 10 times. She also was the wife of Dr. Harvey A. Karam and sister of Dr. Adib Karam, recognized Akron physicians and UA alums. Her travel diaries include 29 unbound, typewritten logs or diaries that document her travels around the world.

 

Dr. Shirla R. McClain Collection

Date Range: 1918-1998

Extent: 2 cubic feet

The Dr. Shirla R. McClain Collection includes the writings and research materials of Dr. McClain, a University of Akron alumna who was a public school educator and a Kent State University professor of education. McClain published over 45 academic papers during her career, but is still best known for her doctoral dissertation The Contributions of Blacks in Akron, 1825-1975, which was the first comprehensive history of Akron’s black community.

 

Edna Mae Polen Papers

Date Range:1936-2010

Extent: 1 cubic foot

Edna Mae Polen (1917-2010) of Salineville, Ohio was a 1940 graduate of The University of Akron (UA). She worked for many years as Secretary at the B.F. Goodrich Company and Coastal Trucking Co./Coastal Tank Lines, Inc. of Akron. Her papers include booklets, yearbooks, newsletters, report cards, and photographs documenting student life at UA in the 1930s as well as the B.F. Goodrich Company and several local organizations she was involved with. 

 

Judge Harold F. White Papers

Date Range:1958-1999

Extent: 2 cubic feet

Judge Harold F. White (1920-2014) was a graduate of The University of Akron (UA) School of Law (Class of 1952) and served on the U.S. Bankruptcy Court for the Northern District of Ohio for more than 41 years, from 1958 to 1999. He also served as adjunct professor in the School of Law at UA and received an Honorary Doctor of Humane Letters from the University. His papers include documents and newspaper clippings that document his life and work.