This page contains a list of archival collections on local architectural history located in Archives and Special Collections of University Libraries. This includes information about blueprints and other architectural records of local architects and architectural firms from Akron and Summit County, Ohio and the region, as well as collections of architectural records including historic photographs and drawings of local homes and buildings. The list of collections includes title of the collection, date range of the materials, extent or size of the collection, record group/catalog number, and a brief description of the archival resources. More detailed information about these collections can be found in the finding aids, which can be accessed by clicking the title of the collection. Original resources can be consulted by visiting Archives and Special Collections during our normal business hours.
Range: 1942 - 1995 Size: 3.3 cubic feet Record Group: 99/145
Lola K. Isroff (1909-2000) was an award-winning New York-born author, self-trained visual artist, and long-time Akron, Ohio resident. She is known for her folk memory paintings depicting historic architecture and vignettes of contemporary urban life that have been exhibited in major museums and galleries across the globe. Her papers document her life and work and consist of biographical information, photographs, artwork, writings by and about the artist, and materials documenting her travels.
Range: 1842 - 2003 Size: 68 cubic feet Record Group: 99/142
James A. “Jim” Pahlau (1930-2007) was an expert on local and regional architecture, especially in Akron and Summit County, Ohio. He was also a collector of resources on the subject. The James A. Pahlau Collection consists of personal papers, printed materials, photographs, architectural drawings, and phonograph records documenting local and regional architecture and theater. There is also a large amount of materials on Stan Hywet Hall & Gardens and Progress Through Preservation.
Range: 1984 - 1995 Size: 1.5 cubic feet Record Group:
Records of an Akron non-profit organization devoted to preservation of the city's historic architecture, includes: organizational documents, trustee meeting minutes, newsletters, correspondence, program records, and mailing lists.