ZIPS High School Summer Research Program at the University of Akron

Academic Search Complete is a great starting point for finding articles on many topics and subject areas. Follow the steps below to search this database. Please note that off-campus access is limited to current UA students, faculty, and staff.
***UA databases are available to you in person at Bierce Library. Library staff will be delighted to help.***

1.  Type the major keywords about your topic in the search boxes. Most searches have 3-4 keywords
2.  Click Search.
3.  Look closely at the first two pages of your results.
4. Click on an article title to find more information about an article.
   When you find a good article:
5. Read the Abstract (summary) to learn what the article is about.
6. Look closely at the Subject Terms (descriptors). 

• To  improve your search:
  • If you have too few results, use fewer keywords, or try alternative keywords/synonyms.
  • If you have too many results, add more keywords to your search strategy, or try applying "filters" or "limiters" to your search. 
    For example, limit the search results to English-language publications.

What is a Database?

• Library databases contain information from published works. 
  Examples: Magazine, journal and/or newspaper articles, encyclopedias and other books.
• Library databases are searchable. 
  By Keywords, Subject, Author, Magazine/Journal Title, Date, etc.
• Library databases provide citation information.
  Author, Title of Article, Publication (Title of Magazine, Newspaper, or Reference Book), Publisher, Date of Publication. Some databases will create the citation for you.
• Library databases often contain full-text articles. 
  You can print, save, or email an entire article.