Contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from the 1500s-1920s. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more.
Electronic books in computer science, information technology, business, and related fields. To access content in the 'Select your institution' dropdown select "Not listed? Click here." Then on the next screen enter your University of Akron email.
An extensive collection of instruction videos by master percussionists Michael Spiro and Jorge Alabe covering Brazilian percussion instruments, techniques, and rhythms; also includes downloadable play-along recordings and discussion groups. Essential for percussion majors; the many levels can accommodate beginning to advanced samba players.
Large scale street plans produced by the Sanborn Fire Insurance company from 1867 to 1970 that show the outline of buildings and street names, property boundaries, building use, and house and block numbers.
New interface as of April 1st, for additional information click here
Chemical information primarily from Chemical Abstracts, CAS registry, and Medline. Excellent search tool for finding chemical information from journals, patents, conference proceedings, and technical reports. You will need to register if you do not have an account.
Search the UA Libraries catalog, OhioLINK catalog, and several databases in most disciplines all at once. ZipSearch is the best place to start many research projects. If it does not work for your research project, select a database by subject.
Indexes but does not provide the full text of important collections and anthologies of short stories in all literary genres. A good resource for finding out what stories and story collections have been published.
A core resource covering all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, therapy, education, human services, addictions, child and family welfare, mental health, civil and legal rights, and more.
Full text access to all volumes of Something About the Author series, which examines the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults. A good starting point for literary research.
Offers researchers access to nearly thirty years' worth of time tested, easily reproducible, step-by-step protocols for immediate use in their lab. SpringerProtocols is the largest subscription-based electronic database of reproducible laboratory protocols in the Life and Biomedical Sciences.
A primary resource covering current social issues that helps students discover, analyze, and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, writing assignments, debates, and presentations. By providing both pro and con perspectives on many topics, this is an excellent starting point for building an argumentative essay.