How the legislative process works at the federal level from Congress.gov
The Legislative Process (Video)
Read the Declaration of Independence, the Constitution of the United States, and the Bill of Rights. The resources linked below provide context for understanding how these documents were created and what they mean for us today.
In addition to resources and services provided by University Libraries, the Law Library at the UA School of Law is available to help students and faculty with judicial research.
Digital archives of early U.S. Supreme Court records and briefs.
In addition to resources and services provided by University Libraries, the Law Library at the UA School of Law is available to help students and faculty with legislative and legal research.
In addition to resources and services provided by University Libraries, the Law Library at the UA School of Law is available to help students and faculty with legislative and legal research.
Provides comprehensive legislative histories for federal laws. Each legislative history links to full text content that may include Congressional hearings, committee prints, and research reports related to legislative topics.
In addition to resources and services provided by University Libraries, the Law Library at the UA School of Law is available to help students and faculty with administrative law research.
Provides full-text primary and secondary sources for legal and government information. Collections include scholarly journals, judicial and Congressional publications, and legal reference materials, with a substantial focus on historical resources.
Describes the courtroom dramas that rocked society in America, the British Empire and the world through unofficially published accounts of trials; official trial documents, briefs and arguments; and official records of legislative proceedings, administrative proceedings and arbitrations. Collections include not only published trial transcripts, but also popular printed accounts of sensational trials for murder, adultery and other scandalous crimes.
In addition to resources and services provided by University Libraries, the Law Library at the UA School of Law is available to help students and faculty with administrative law research.
A searchable full-text database of early primary government documents and legal literature.
Digital archive of the published records of the American colonies, documents published by state constitutional conventions, state codes, city charters, law dictionaries, digests and more.
Provides digital images on every page of legal treatises on U.S. and British law published from 1800 through 1926.