Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is ICPSR?
ICPSR, the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research, is a unit within the Institute for Social Research at the University of Michigan that consists of some 740 member colleges, universities, and other research institutions world-wide. ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction (over 8,000 discrete studies/surveys with more than 65,000 datasets). As a member of (ICPSR) UA students, faculty, and staff have access to ICPSR's data archive, which includes more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences.
Additional Resources for Data Users
Like all resources, datasets should be cited whenever they are used in a publication, paper, presentation, or assignment. Here are some guides to citing data:
Video Tutorials and FAQ's from ICPSR
Although ICPSR is a complex database, there are numerous Video Tutorials and a list of Frequently Asked Questions to help you get started. There is also a searchable video tutorial archive for more advanced questions. If you take the time to learn from these tutorials, you should be able to navigate the database.
- Some datasets are freely accessible, and can be simply downloaded in an available format, which may include plain text, SAS, SPSS, and Stata. Not all files are available in all formats.
- Some datasets require access through the institutional membership. Users accessing ICPSR from the UA main campus will be automatically recognized; off-campus users should use the UA proxy link for ICPSR. Once authenticated, create a MyData account or sign in with a Google or Facebook account.
- Certain datasets are restricted in order to protect respondent confidentiality. This information is detailed in the "Access" section for the dataset. Typically, ICPSR requires a research application and proof of local IRB approval for the project.
All datasets are accompanied by codebooks and other supporting documentation. Review these carefully to ensure proper interpretation of the data.
ICPRS can also be searched through the Harvard University IQSS (Institute for Quantitative Social Science Dataverse platform.
Statistical Software Tutorials and Guides
UA students and faculty can use the Virtual Lab to access SPSS 21, SAS 9.3 with Enterprise Miner, SAS JMP Pro 10, and MiniTab 16.
SAS Starter Kit
The Institute for Digital Research & Education at UCLA provides free class notes and learning modules for novice and intermediate users of SAS 9.2.
Wuensch's SAS Lessons: The Basics
East Carolina University's Department of Psychology provides tools for users who are new to SAS 9.2 and 9.3.
SPSS Starter Kit
The Institute for Digital Research & Education at UCLA provides free class notes and learning modules for novice and intermediate users of SPSS 17.
Getting Started with SPSS
The Open University provides a free module for users new to SPSS. This guide is helpful for users who do not have previous experience with statistical analysis.
UITS Tutorials and Working Papers
The Research Technologies division at Indiana University provides updated "Getting Started" guides for SAS, SPSS, R, Stata and other statistical software packages.
Getting Started with Statistical Software
Whether you are using SAS, SPSS, MiniTab, Stata, R, or another system to analyze data, there are resources available to help you get started.
- Search the UA Libraries Catalog for the software name to locate and access ebooks and print books related to the software package.
- Try the UA Libraries' subscription to Safari Books Online to see if there is an ebook related to the software package.
- You can also search the OhioLINK Library Catalog to request a book from another library.
- Search the internet with the software name and a keyword related to the problem you are encountering.
- You can also find tutorials and videos on the internet to help address specific issues.
Basic Video Tutorials: My Picks