It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
If you found an "ideal" article, here are two ways to expand your search Web of Sciencedatabase
Retrieve the "ideal" article on the Web of Science database or in Google Scholar. Then, examine the record for articles that cite your "ideal" article (that is, click on the "Times Cited" articles on Web of Science).
This citing reference searching is a quick and efficient way to find more related and newer articles.
Look at the references (e.g. "Cited References" or bibliography of the article) in your "ideal" article as these articles may be related in some fashion; and will be older than your "ideal" article.
Provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts and articles.
What is Boolean searching?
Boolean searching is a technique which uses the principles of symbolic logic introduced by UK mathematician George Boole to help researchers expand or restrict a search by using three language operators, AND, OR, NOT. The operator AND narrows a search. The operator OR expands a search. The operator NOT also narrows a search but can sometimes result in eliminating relevant items and should be used with caution. Most research databases supply a search template with boxes which can be connected by one of the three operators to help you organize your search logic.
Venn diagrams provide a pictorial representation of these concepts.
Searching Multiple Databases at One Time
Start your search in PubMed and CINAHL. To expand your search results, consider searching in general and multidisciplinary databases or search for multiple databases with the same platform. For example, search EBSCOhost databases in tandem (see image). Duplicate records are usually removed. The drawback is that subject headings cannot be used.
For Unique and Timely Topics, Search for Dissertations/Theses
For a comprehensive/exhaustive literature review:
See what has been done recently--find and review dissertations or theses on your topic to get ideas for future research.
TIP: when reviewing these works, read the bibliography, literature review, style, methodology, or surveys (often includes full-text of instruments/questionnaires).
OATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from thousands of colleges, universities, and research institutions.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses
Doctoral Dissertations and Masters Theses from over 1,000 colleges and universities. Full text downloads available for most Dissertations produced since 1997. Theses are not available full-text.