Skip to main content

Introduction to Nursing: 8200:100: Overview: Full Text of Articles

Nursing Faculty: Cheryl Buchanan and Cheryl Owen, Fall 2019

When Articles are Not Available

Already Have a Citation? Steps to Determine Availability

Finding Full Text (entire article) from a Citation (See image below)
Follow these easy three searching options to determine if the journal article is available full text (entire document).

1. From the Library homepage, go to the "UA Libraries Catalog" 2. Then, type the Title of the Journal/Periodical and run the search to determine availability of the journal.  When available, match the volume, year, and page number(s).
1. From the Library homepage, go to the "E-JOURNALS" page 2. Then, type the Title of the Journal/Periodical and run the search to determine availability of the journal.  When available, match the volume, year, and page number(s).
1. From the Library homepage, click on the "Google Scholar" tab 2. Then, type the Article Title on the search box and run the search. On the Google Search results page, look for the full-text options, when available.

Finding the Full Text While Searching Databases

Finding Full Text Articles While Searching a Database (see record of article from CINAHL database below)

On the results page, look for these links to direct you to the full text of the article:

- PDF Full Text icon (see image above) - this is the scanned image of the article.

- HTML Full Text icon

- Full Text Finder link - this link will direct you to another window to help determine availability.

- InterLibrary Loan link - This usually means that the article is not available at UA.  Therefore, we need to submit an InterLibrary Loan request to obtain the article.  An InterLibrary Loan account is required to use this free service.

When directed to the publisher or journal collection page, look for the PDF Full Text or other full text icons. Download the PDF copy whenever available. Given that the interface of these pages are standardized, there will be different options for accessing the full text of articles.