LibGuides: Urban Economics:Theory &amp; Policy ECON 487: National Data

Data Sources: National Level

American Community Survey (U.S. Census Bureau
The American Community Survey helps local officials, community leaders and businesses understand the changes taking place in their communities. It is the premier source for detailed information about the American people and workforce.
Data.gov
Search the Federal government's portal for data sets related to a wide range of topics.
Data USA
Data, profiles, and maps based on publicly available data.
Export.gov
Export.gov is managed by the International Trade Administration in collaboration with several other U.S. government agencies, including the departments of Commerce, Energy, Agriculture, Treasury, and more.
The U.S. Government has also strategically partnered with major corporations to help small and medium-sized U.S. companies begin and/or expand their export sales.
National Transportation Library Bureau of Transportation Statistics
The National Transportation Library (NTL) collects, maintains, and facilitates access to over 200,000 print titles, 500 print periodical subscriptions, and 100 online databases in the areas of general transportation, including highway, rail, maritime, and public transportation. Its primary database is known as TRIS. The NTL is currently under the administration of the Bureau of Transportation Statistics (BTS), which is a part of the Research and Innovative Technology Administration.
Page One Economics (Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis)
Economic research portal to data collected and maintained by the Federal Reserve, including FRED and other data source, newsletters, working papers, and more. Also provides useful graphing, Excel, and mapping tools to assist researchers in retrieving and formatting FRED data.
Population Reference Bureau
U.S. Census
U.S. Government Manual
Use this resource to learn more about federal agencies. This annual publication describes the structure and function of the Federal government. It describes the responsibilities of each agency.
U.S. Government Browse Topics
Find government resources associated with a specific topic.

Crime Data

Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS)
The primary source for U.S. criminal justice statistics. The BJS collects, analyzes, publishes, and disseminates information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government. Includes link to
Crime Statistics/Uniform Crime Reports (FBI
Statistical crime reports and publications, detailing specific offenses and outlining trends. Includes Crime in the U.S., the most comprehensive analysis of violent crime and property crime, including volume and rate of crime offenses for the nation, the states, and many cities and counties.
Hall of Justice (Sunlight Foundation)
A searchable inventory of nearly 10,000 publicly available criminal justice datasets and research from all 50 states, the District of Columbia, U.S. territories and the federal government for the period September 2014 to October 2015.

Economic Indicators, Financial Data, and Employment

Bureau of Economic Analysis
In addition to tables, graphs, and datasets, BEA provides tools to help with understanding the U.S. economy.
Bureau of Labor Statistics

BLS gathers and disseminates data about employment and unemployment within the United States. Explore the subject area content within the site, or use the available data retrieval tools to create and download data sets.
Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve
FRED
Current economic data from the Federal Reserve.
EDGAR
Use the SEC database to locate filings and forms from U.S. companies.
U.S. Securities & Exchange Commission

Education and Health Data

Digest of Education Statistics
This publication from the National Center for Education Statistics is a good starting point for finding statistics about education in the United States.
IPEDS
The Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System is the primary resource for data about higher education in the United States.
National Center for Education Statistics
NCES is responsible for a series of programs that gather data on education within the United States.
FASTSTATS
Guide to sources for health statistics on specific topics.
National Center for Health Statistics
Use NCHS resources to locate vital statistics about the population of the United States. Additional tools provide data about healthcare, families and aging, and the prevalence of health conditions in the United States.

Environment & Natural Resources Data

Energy Information Administration
The EIA gathers and disseminates data on all aspects of energy, including economic and usage data.
EPA Open Data
The Environmental Protection Agency publishes data on topics including air, climate change, health risks, pollution, waste, and water.
National Centers for Environmentl Data
The NCDC provides access to weather and climate data for the United States.
National Park Service Tools and Data
The National Park Service provides data related to all aspects of the National Park system, including administrative and biodiversity data.

Geospatial Data, Mapping Resources, etc.

These tools provide data that can be used to create maps.

National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS)
This free resource provides aggregate census data and GIS-compatible boundary files for the United States between 1790 and 2012.
The National Map
U.S. Census Interactive Maps
The Census Bureau provides mapping tools along with geospatial data.

Public Opinion, Research, and Social Data

Gallup
Provides data-driven news based on U.S. and world polls, daily tracking and public opinion research.
Nielsen Segmentation
The Nielsen Company provides lifestyle information based on the Nielsen segmentation system.
Pew Research Center
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research.
Quinnipiac University Poll
Quinnipiac University polls are considered to be some of the most exactness and thorough. For a typical public opinion survey, a randomly selected sample of about 1,000 registered voters age 18 and over is interviewed over five or six days. The polls are conducted at the Polling Institute on West Woods Road, close to the Mount Carmel and York Hill Campuses.
Rasmussen Reports
Rasmussen Reports is a nonpartisan electronic media company specializing in the collection, publication and distribution of public opinion polling information. Rasmussen Reports generates original public opinion data that is relevant, timely and accurate.
WSJ/NBC News Polls
Visit this poll site at WSJ to view vivid graphics of poll data on how Americans feel about various economic, political, and social issues.

Data Aggregators: Data-Planet and Statista

Be sure to scroll down for sources of data in specific areas of interest!

Sage Data This link opens in a new window
Data-Planet Statistical Datasets is a data repository that collects, stores, and disseminates statistical data from hundreds of data sources. Its single interface is a convenient access point to more than 52 billion data points from 6.2 billion datasets, including data from all U.S. Government agencies, bureaus, and departments. Users can scan the contents of the collection, select subjects and variables of interest, view your data, and create customized tables and charts.

Please use the many training guides and tutorials linked on this page to assist you in navigation and data extraction. For a more detailed overview of the platform visit:
Statista This link opens in a new window
Access data on more than 80.000 topics from over 18.000 sources, categorized into 21 market sectors. Includes market research reports, such as the Ipsos Affluent Survey published annually by Ipsos Media, Simmons National Consumer Studies and Consumer Insights from Scarborough Research, as well as trade publications, scientific journals, government databases, and organizational data repositories. For each statistic, Statista provides available meta data including but not limited to source, release date, number of respondents, and any other relevant details. Content is geared towards business and marketing statistical needs, with a focus on current (not historical) statistics. Ready made tables are available for download as images to insert into presentations.Data is downloadable in PPT, XLS, and PNG.