LibGuides: PUBH 609 Public Health Research and Evaluation: Statistics & Data Sets

Finding Datasets and Statistics

Datasets vs. Statistics

Data (raw numbers) provides all available variables collected; it can be manipulated and aggregated as needed.
Datasets are data collected and arranged logically according to definitive criteria.
Statistics is data that has been already prepared/presented in aggregated form as in a table, chart or graph.

Citing Data: Refer to how to cite data from ICPSR, which discusses the importance and how to properly cite data.

Annie E. Casey Foundation Kids Count Data Book
Child Welfare Information Gateway Statistics
Childinfo.org (UNICEF)
Children's Defense Fund Includes the "State of America's Children Handbook"
Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics (Forum)
National Center for Children in Poverty
National Child Traumatic Stress Network Offers useful fact sheets for dealing with children and their families.
National Data Archive on Child Abuse and Neglect (Cornell University_
Maternal and Infant Health Mapping Tool This tool is "an interactive online resource that provides county-level data on maternal and infant health indicators such as diabetes, hypertension, obesity, and access to prenatal care. Data is available for AI/AN, Asian, Black, Latino, Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, and multi-racial populations."

American Indian and Alaska Native (AIAN) Data and Links
Bureau of Indian Affairs
Dept of the Interior Performance Reports See the Performance Measure Tables files. Then look for the section, "Serving Communities".
Federally Recognized Indian Tribes
Native American Constitution and Law Digitization Project
Native Health Database Contains abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations.
Urban Indian Health Institute This nonprofit reports on urban indian health organizations. See especially the section: Resources: Reports.

Mergent Online This link opens in a new window A professional-strength research tool that tracks more companies in more countries than any other database. Includes both U.S. and International Company Data and Annual Reports.
Monthly Bulletin of Statistics Online This link opens in a new window Current monthly economic and social statistics for most countries and territories of the world. The statistics in this resource are obtained by the Statistics Division of the United Nations and the international statistical services from official sources in the countries.
World Development Indicators This link opens in a new window Statistical data source for development indicators and time series data for countries and country groups. Includes social, economic, financial, natural resources and environmental indicators.

University of Minnesota Population Center (UMP) Provides older U.S. Census data and maps including Integrated Public Use Microdata Series (IPUMS), International Censuses, the Current Population Survey, U.S. National Health Interview Survey, and the American Time Use Survey.

Sage Data This link opens in a new window Formerly Data Planet. A platform to quickly find, explore, visualize, and share detailed data from the most trusted source providers. With its multidisciplinary and global scope, it can be used to inform class research projects and more thorough independent research.
Statista This link opens in a new window Top Pick

American FactFinder (U.S. Census) Source for population, housing, economic and geographic data for the U.S., individual states, counties and towns.
Data.gov Provides open access/free government-created public-use data.