Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Akron Wayne College Library
Subject Searching in the UA Libraries Catalog
- Choose the "Advanced Search" tab.
- Use the drop-down menu to change the first search field to a subject field search
- Enter in any of the following, depending on what you're looking for:
- Juvenile fiction
- Juvenile literature
- In the second box, use the drop-down menu to select another appropriate field (title, subject) or leave it as "any field"
- In the search box enter the topic or genre you are looking for (for example, poetry, folk tales, biography, etc.)
Use appropriate Boolean operators and truncation as needed:
- Join terms with OR to broaden your search results:
- Example: folklore OR folk tales OR fairy tales
- Example: biograph* (to locate biography, biographies, biographic)
Look at the full record for each title.
- Select an individual title by clicking on the title
- Select the "Full Record" tab to view the summary and subject headings.
- Look for your keywords displayed in red to determine why your search retrieved this specific item.
Genre (Category) Searching in the UA Libraries Catalog
Start out by following this shortcut to the genre / category search in the UA Libraries Catalog:
Enter in the genre that you're interested in. The term you enter must be an established genre in the catalog:
- Bildungsromans (coming of age)
- Children's films
- Christian fiction
- Comics graphic works
- Detective and mystery fiction
- Fairy tales
- Fantasy fiction
- Ghost stories
- Graphic Novels
- Historical fiction
- Horror fiction
- Humorous fiction
- Juvenile works
- Romance fiction
- Science fiction
- Short stories
- War fiction
- Western stories
From the search results listing, select the "Limit / Sort Search" button
- Use the drop-down menu to select "Words in the Subject"
- Enter: Juvenile
Locating Multicultural Literature
There are currently no genre headings to easily locate multicultural children's literature. The best approach is to perform a keyword search that identifies the group or culture you are interested in and either limit your results to the children's literature collection or add the additional phrase "AND Juvenile Literature" or "AND Juvenile Fiction" to your search strategy. Remember to truncate your terms to locate plural endings.
Here are some ideas to try:
- African American*
- Jew* or Judaism
- Mentally Challenged
- Native American*
- Physically Challenged
Here is a sample search strategy:
african american* AND (juvenile literature OR juvenile fiction)
Diverse Book Finder: Search Tool
Use this tool to discover specific children's picture book titles featuring Black and Indigenous people and People of Color (BIPOC). Then perform a search in the UAL Catalog to locate copies to be checked out.
Chat with Us!
Chat service is available during normal hours of operation.
Get the Chat App:
Download the Ask a Librarian Mobile App on your mobile devices. Search for "UA Wayne College Library" to chat with us.
Were we unavailable when you needed us?
Did you need help from the UA Wayne College Library staff and we were either closed or unavailable? Sorry we missed you! Please complete this form to let us know what you needed so we can improve our services (including hours of operation).
Other Helpful Guides
Children's Award Winners
Check out our LibGuide that lists the current children's award-winning books including the Caldecott, Newbery, Coretta Scott King, and Printz
Helpful Guides to Children's Literature
A to Zoo by
Call Number: Wayne Teaching Resources Z 1037 .L715 2018
Publication Date: 2018-06-21
Whether used for thematic story times, program and curriculum planning, readers' advisory, or collection development, this updated edition of the well-known companion makes finding the right picture books for your library a breeze. * Offers easy subject access to children's picture books .
Best Books for Children by
Call Number: Wayne Teaching Resources Z 1037 .G48 2015
Publication Date: 2014-12-17
Now in its tenth edition and with annual updates posted online, this comprehensive and trusted professional resource helps librarians-and patrons and teachers-identify and use the best fiction and nonfiction books published for children in grades pre-K to six. * Contains some 30,000 annotated entries on recommended children's books for readers in pre-K through grade six * Provides helpful indexes for easy and quick access, including author/illustrator, title, and subject/grade level Offers annual updates online to keep librarians abreast of current releases * Draws recommendations for books from a wide range of trusted review journals Helps librarians build reading lists based on themes and genres.
Beyond Picture Books by
Call Number: Wayne Teaching Resources Z 1037 .B278 2007
Publication Date: 2007-12-30
Here's an exciting new edition of a work that helps you to encourage independent reading skills in children ages 4 to 7, to develop your collection of first readers, and to plan thematic, literature-based programs. With a new user-friendly organization, this guide profiles some 3,750 of the best first readers published mostly within the past decade (with a few classic and benchmark titles included as well). These books feature lively interaction between text and illustration, and cover topics and themes with true kid-appeal. Every entry offers bibliographic information, a brief plot summary, and critical comments that help you make informed selection and programming decisions. Detailed indexes of titles, illustrators, series, and reading levels, in addition to the subject index, provide easy access to the books. PreK-3. Here's a brand-new, extensively revised edition of the classic guide to first readers. Use it to encourage independent reading skills in children ages 5-8, to develop your collection for this age group, and to plan thematic literature-based programs. With a user-friendly, subject-based organization like its companion guide to picture books, "A to Zoo," this annotated volume profiles some 3,750 of the best books for emerging readers. First readers feature lively interaction between text and illustration, and cover topics with true kid-appeal. Entries cover titles published mostly within the past decade (a few classic and benchmark titles are included as well). Each entry offers bibliographic information, a brief plot summary, and description of illustrations and other features to help you make informed selection and programming decisions. A list of outstanding first readers, chosen for their exceptional language and treatment of subject, makes collection development easy, and four indexes - title, illustrator, series, and reading level - provide additional access points. Lexile levels are given where available, making this volume particularly valuable for reading teachers as well as for librarians and parents, and children in kindergarten through the beginning of third grade who are starting to read independently. A boon to librarians, teachers, and parents. PreK-3.
The Big Book of Children's Reading Lists by
Call Number: Wayne Teaching Resources Z 1037 .K29 2006
Publication Date: 2006-04-30
Use these 100 handy reproducible book lists to instantly create hand-outs for teachers and parents (as well as for older readers), to add to your newsletter, or to post on your Web site or bulletin board. Based on the most common needs of educators and librarians who work with young readers, these lists focus on new titles, as well as classics that are still in print and readily available for purchase. Fiction and nonfiction titles for ages 5-14 are covered. Bibliographic information and a brief description are given for each title. A dozen bookmarks are also included. This is a great time-saving tool and a good source for finding extended reading lists and read-alikes Looking for folktales from China for elementary children? An informational children's book for a middle school science class? A list of books on the topic of compassion? A sampling of ABC books? These lists and more can be found in Nancy Keane's treasury of great reading lists for children. This versatile guide provides reproducible book lists based on the most common needs of educators and librarians who work with young readers. There are lists for standard curriculum areas (e.g., math, social studies, science), other areas of study such as character education and values, genres (e.g., pop-up, memoirs, ABC books), themes (e.g., animals, food, sports), and read-alikes (on bookmarks). You'll find 100 reproducible lists of fiction and nonfiction books for ages 5-14 (elementary/middle) that you can use to create hand-outs for teachers and parents (as well as for older readers), put in your newsletter, or post on your Web site or bulletin board. Focus is on new titles and classics that are still in print and readily available for purchase. On each list, titles are grouped according to grade level. Room to customize with your library logo or clipart is provided on each reproducible sheet. Bibliographic information and a brief description are given for each title. A dozen bookmarks are also included. This is a great time-saving tool and a good source for finding extended reading lists and read-alikes Grades K-8.
The Info Squad @ UA Wayne College Library