Other Gray Literature Sources/Specialized Resources:
Other Gray Literature Sources/Specialized Resources:
Alcohol and Alcohol Problems Science Database (ETOH) (National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism, NIAAA)
The National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism provides this portal to support researchers and practitioners searching for information related to alcohol research.
Alcohol Studies Database (Center of Alcohol Studies, Rutgers University)
This database contains over 70,000 citations for journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and audio-visual materials.
PILOTS Database
The PILOTS database is an electronic index to the worldwide literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health consequences of exposure to traumatic events, supported by the Department of Veterans Affairs.
Smoking and Health Database (National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, CDC) Contains abstracts of journal articles, books and book chapters, dissertations, reports, conference proceedings and conference papers, government documents, policy and legal documents, editorials, letters, and comments on articles.
American Journal of Health Promotion Interactive Database
Search page for articles by research question, dependent measure, and unit of analysis.
Bibliomap (Evidence for Policy and Practice, EPPI Centre, University of London)
Database of health promotion references. Contains records on articles, books, reports, and studies. Compiled as a result of searching and coding research for inclusion in systematic reviews.
Community Health Resources (CDC)
Resources from CDC to plan, implement, and evaluate community health interventions including data, tools, and more.
Database of Promoting Health Effectiveness Reviews (DoPHER) (EPPI Centre, Univ of London)
Centre contains references to approximately 700 reviews of health promotion effectiveness. Contains references to both systematic and non-systematic reviews (around a third are coded as systematic).
Health Behavior Constructs: Theory, Measurement, & Research (National Cancer Institute)
Provides information on a variety of health issues for health promotion.
Health Communication Materials Database (part of Johns Hopkins University)
The Media/materials Clearinghouse (M/MC) is an international resource for health professionals who seek samples of pamphlets, posters, videos, and many other media/materials designed to promote public health.
Health Education and Promotion System (HEAPS)
The Heaps website contains a valuable and extensive database listing of Australian and New Zealand health promotion projects.
HRSA, Health Resources and Services Administration, Information Center
Publications, resources, and referrals on health care services for low-income, uninsured individuals and those with special needs. Key programs areas of the HRSA are HIV/AIDS services; primary health care; maternal and child health; health professions; rural health policy, and organ and marrow donation.
Model Practices Database (National Association of County and City Health Officials, NACCHO)
Health programs listed by state or health issue.
National-level health promotion capacity mapping in Europe (HP-Source.net)
Provides information on health promotion policies, infrastructures and practices.
NHS Economic Evaluation Database (University of York)
Database of structured abstracts that assess and summarize published economic health care evaluations. Includes cost-benefit analyses, cost-utility analyses, cost-effectiveness analyses, costminimization analyses, and cost-consequence analysis.
Trials Register of Promoting Health Interventions (TRoPHI) (University of London)
Database holds all the randomized controlled trials and controlled trials in the Cochrane Health Promotion and Public Health Field identified as a result of conducting systematic reviews within the Evidence for Policy and Practice (EPPI) Centre. The constituent trials are submitted regularly to the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials to be included in the Cochrane Library.
By Business Issues:
NHS Economic Evaluation Database (University of York)
Database of structured abstracts that assess and summarize published economic health care evaluations. Includes cost-benefit analyses, cost-utility analyses, cost-effectiveness analyses, costminimization analyses, and cost-consequence analysis.
Center for Health Economics and Policy Analysis (McMaster University)
Health Services Research Projects in Progress (AHRQ)
Health Economics Information Resources
By Policy and Controversial Issues:
Health Care Reform 2009 (New England Journal of Medicine)
Listing of health care reform articles from the publishers of the New England Journal of Medicine. Provides free articles.
RAND (RAND Corporation)
This database contains abstracts of RAND books and publications from 1946 to the present. Many recent titles (1998 or later) are available online for free, usually in PDF format. Core research areas include Children and Adolescents, civil justice, education, energy and environment, health and health care, international affairs, population and aging, public safety, science and technology, substance abuse, terrorism and homeland security, transportation and infrastructure, and national security. "The RAND Corporation is a nonprofit research organization providing objective analysis and effective solutions that address the challenges facing the public and private sectors around the world."
State Health NOTES news on state policies related to health
State Laws on Health Disparities
Developmental & Reproductive Toxicology (DART/ETIC)
DART/ETIC is a bibliographic database covering teratology and other aspects of developmental and reproductive toxicology.
Maternal and Child Health Library
The MCH Library maintains several databases to collect, manage, and disseminate knowledge about maternal and child health (MCH), with special emphasis on knowledge gained from initiatives and programs supported by the federal Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB), Health Resources and Services Administration, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
POPLINE
POPLINE ®(POPulation information onLINE), the world's largest database on reproductive health, provides more than 300,000 citations with abstracts to scientific articles, reports, books, and unpublished reports in the field of population, family planning, and related health issues.
Reproductive health online (ReproLine) (an affiliate of Johns Hopkins University)
Infant Mortality Toolkit: Resources for a Public Health Approach
"An interactive guide that provides resources to help the maternal and child health (MCH) work force strategically integrate the evidence base into plans for addressing infant mortality. It provides resources organized according to a four-part conceptual model of public health (surveillance and monitoring, identifying risk factors and protective factors, developing and testing prevention strategies, and ensuring widespread adoption). Each section begins with a brief description of the resources included and the significance of the topic. The section on ensuring widespread adoption provides resources for families as well as professionals."
CPBD, Carcinogenic Potency Database
Resource on the results of chronic, long-term animal cancer tests. Includes experimental results reported in the general literature and the in the Technical Reports on the National Cancer Institute/National Toxicology Program (NCI/TIP).
CIESIN, Consortium for International Earth Science Information Network (Columbia Univ)
Data and information on human interactions in the environment, global environmental change, and sustainable development.
DOE Information Bridge
The full-text and bibliographic records of Department of Energy (DOE) research and development reports in physics, chemistry, materials, biology, environmental sciences, energy technologies, engineering, computer and information science, renewable energy, and other topics.
ECOTOX
The ECOTOX (ECOTOXicology) database provides chemical toxicity information for aquatic and terrestrial life.
NIOSHTIC-2 (National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health Technical Information Center)
NIOSHTIC-2 is a bibliographic database of occupational safety and health publications, documents, grant reports, and other communication products supported in whole or in part by the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health.
TOXNET is a cluster of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, and related areas published by the National Library of Medicine Specialized Information Services.
Water Resources Abstracts
The access point for the Publications Warehouse where the user can search bibliographic citations and obtain U.S. Geological Survey reports and thematic maps.
Other Noteworthy Websites:
National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS) (US Dept. of Health and Human Servs)
Household Products Database
This database links over 4,000 consumer brands to health effects from Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) provided by the manufacturers and allows consumers to research product toxicity based on chemical ingredients.
ToxTown (National Library of Medicine)
Provides potential toxic hazards in the home or in the environment.
By Population Cohorts:
ADOLEC, Literature on Adolescence Health (Pan American Health Organization)
Bibliographic database that contains articles related to adolescence.
EthnoMed (University of Washington and Harborview Medical Center)
Medical and cultural information on immigrant and refugee groups.
AIM, African Index Medicus (WHO and the Association for Health Information and Libraries in Africa)
International Index to African health literature.
HLAS, Handbook of Latin American Studies
The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars, provided by the Library of Congress.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Virtual Library
The National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts Database contains summaries of more than 180,000 criminal justice publications.
National Center for Farmworker Health
Provides information services and products to a network of more than 500 migrant health center service sites in the United States as well as other organizations and individuals serving the farmworker population.
Native Health Research Database
The Native Health Databases contain bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations.
Population Index on the Web (Office of Population Research, Princeton University)
Annotated bibliography of recently published books, journal articles, working papers, and other materials on population topics. Covers 1986-2000.
Population Reference Bureau
Through its website and publications, this organization informs "people about the population dimensions of important social, economic, and political issues." See the DataFinder button at top of the page, for statistics from its annual World Population Data Sheet.
Rural Health Policy (Health Resources and Services Administration, US DHHS)
"Congress charged the Office with informing and advising the Department of Health and Human Services on matters affecting rural hospitals, and health care, coordinating activities within the department that relate to rural health care, and maintaining a national information clearinghouse."
Health Information Translations: Quality translations in multiple languages
By Health Conditions:
AEGIS (AIDS Education Global Information System)
This website is the “largest HIV/AIDS website in the world.” It is a gateway to information about AIDS and HIV-its prevention, treatment and management that is updated hourly. Links to daily news reports, fact sheets and personal stories are provided.
CANCERLIT (National Cancer Institute)
Bibliographic database specifically designed for cancer.
OncoLink
This is a comprehensive cancer resource published by the Abramson Cancer Center at the University of Pennsylvania. Unique to this site are care plans for cancer survivors.