LibGuides: Supply Chain and Operations Management: Industry Information

Industry Information

Search these databases for industry forecasts, insight, overviews, reports, and other information,

IBIS World This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Industry Market Research Reports, including vital information on every industry in the U.S. Economy.
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Provides enhanced access to the same information found in D&B’s Hoover’s Online and First Research, plus access to Key Business Rations and Industry Norms. Retrieve public and private U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, and industry profiles. Intellect company profiles incorporate ALL of the data found in Hoovers Online, plus corporate tree information and the ability to download/print company profiles. Intellect’s Advanced Search contains the same search markers as HOL, plus the Geo Mapping area, ability to download up to 20,000 records (2000 is default) and “Save Search” template builder. Also provides access to contact information for over 210 million U.S. consumers using WhitePages Pro data.
Mintel This link opens in a new window
A rich source for market research and analysis.
Statista This link opens in a new window
An online portal providing data on the global digital economy, industrial sectors, consumer markets, public opinion, media and macroeconomic trends. Quantitative data from 425 economic sectors in 50 countries are provided with a range of infographic tools for analysis and visualization.

Industry Info from the Federal Government

County Business Patterns
Provides sub-national economic data by industry, including the number of establishments, employment during the week of March 12, first quarter payroll, and annual payroll. This data is useful for studying the economic activity of small areas; analyzing economic changes over time; and as a benchmark for other statistical series, surveys, and databases between economic censuses. Businesses use the data for analyzing market potential, measuring the effectiveness of sales and advertising programs, setting sales quotas, and developing budgets. Government agencies use the data for administration and planning.
Current Industrial Reports
The Current Industrial Report (CIR) program has been providing monthly, quarterly, and annual measures of industrial activity for many years. The primary objective of the CIR program is to produce timely, accurate data on production and shipments of selected products. The data are used to satisfy economic policy needs and for market analysis, forecasting, and decision-making in the private sector.
Economic Census
The economic census provides a detailed portrait of the United States' economy once every five years, from the national to the local level. There also are several related programs, including statistics on minority- and women-owned businesses. Censuses of agriculture and governments are conducted at the same time.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S.
Statistics of U.S. Businesses (SUSB)
Annual or static data include number of firms, number of establishments, employment, and annual payroll for most U.S. business establishments. The data are tabulated by geographic area, industry, and enterprise employment size. Industry classification is based on North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) codes.

Journals, Trade Publications, Newspapers, and Reports

Use these databases to access company and industry information in business journals, trade publications, magazines, major newspapers, and reports.

To access a brief company profile use Business Source Complete. Click on "Company Information" on the top navigation bar, enter a company name, find your company in the result list.

Business Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Offers a broad assortment of full text articles from business magazines and scholarly journals. A comprehensive source of business information for all levels of researchers, including students, faculty, and practicing professionals.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive scholarly business database with a large percentage of full-text material from journals, conference proceedings, investment research, industry, market research, and country reports, SWOT analyses and more.
Entrepreneurial Studies Source This link opens in a new window
Contains the full text of numerous key periodicals, reference books, case studies, company profiles and videos with transcripts. Useful to academic and student researchers, as well as practicing professionals.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Provides cover-to-cover full-text access to many U.S. and international newspapers from 1985-present.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
A database of full text articles from regional business news sources covering all metropolitan and rural areas in the United States.

Additional Sources of Industry Information

These resources contain a wide range of information on industries. Explore and utilize several of these sources to compile a complete picture of your industry.

Mergent Country Insight This link opens in a new window
Provides essential political, economic and commercial information on over 130 countries worldwide. Identifies changes in business risk and provides detailed analysis of a country’s prospects in the short to medium term.

globalEDGE
Insight Research by Country: Your source for statistical data for 202 countries around the world. Find out more about their history, economy and political conditions.
Mergent Archives including Historical Annual Reports
Provides access to more than 180,000 corporate and industry related documents covering over 100 countries and industries. An excellent resource for historical research.

ThomasNet This link opens in a new window
An online directory resource for finding companies and products manufactured in North America. It is the most comprehensive resource for industrial information, products, services, CAD drawings, and more.

Industrial Quick Search (IQS) Manufacturer Directory
Contains: Comprehensive industrial supplier searches across targeted industries, disciplines, and geographic locations; Rollover previews of manufacturer's websites offering product videos, customer reviews, and contact information; Single or multi-vendor request for quote capabilities with timely industrial supplier follow-up; Broad research of the industrial supply chain containing manufacturing-related articles, forums, blogs, and whitepapers.

S&P Global Market Intelligence This link opens in a new window
To access resource, register for an SNL account with your University of Akron email.

Financial information including, but not limited to, newsletters, real-time news/alerts, news archive, company profiles, documents, events calendar, industry/market data, templated and as-reported sector-specific financials, transcripts, presentations, mergers & acquisitions, credit ratings, consensus analyst estimates, Excel integration tools, and mapping functionality in global industry.

Sports Business Research Network (SBRnet)
Provides nationwide analysis of statistical trends in each major segment of the sports market and the extent to which they interrelate.

Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) This link opens in a new window
Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) is the leading data research platform and business intelligence tool for over 30,000 corporate, academic, government and nonprofit clients in 32 countries. We provide single-point access to over 200 terabytes of data across multiple disciplines, including Finance, Marketing, and Economics. WRDS data is compiled from independent sources that specialize in specific historical data. Some sources include Capital IQ, NYSE Euronext, CRSP, and Thomson Reuters, and more specialized sources such as Markit, FactSet, Hedge Fund Research, Inc., Eventus, and GSIOnline with more added regularly to meet the growing needs of our clients.

Industry Classification

Standard Industrial Classification Manual (SIC)
This classification system was the standard of industrial categorization from 1937-1997. IIt is gradually being supplanted by the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS). Many reference works from both, private and government sources, still utilize the SIC.
North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) has replaced the U.S. Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) system. NAICS was developed jointly by the U.S., Canada, and Mexico to provide new comparability in statistics about business activity across North America.
Industry and Occupation Classification System
The purpose of the classification systems used in these indexes is to organize and to make understandable the many thousands of industries and occupations. These systems group titles describing like industries or like occupations into homogeneous categories and assign a code to each category.

Supply Chain and Operations Management

Industry Information

Industry Info from the Federal Government

Journals, Trade Publications, Newspapers, and Reports

Additional Sources of Industry Information

Industry Classification

Copyright and Patent Research Guides