LibGuides: Technology in Law: General Legal Tech Websites/Books

Technology in Law Course

This class is designed to introduce students to the kinds of technology, information knowledge and technology skills essential to law practice.

Related Guides

Related guides:

Mobile Apps for Law Students and Beyond

Legal Writing Software and Apps

Westlaw Practice Tech Certification

Westlaw Practice Tech Certification
Via Write.law on Westlaw. When signed into Westlaw, click on On-Demand Learning, and there is a link to Write.law in the upper right.
Includes Ediscovery, signature, EFiling and Ebilling.
Westlaw Core Tech Certification
Covers Word for legal writing, Excel, PDF and more.
Via Write.law on Westlaw. When signed into Westlaw, click on On-Demand Learning, and there is a link to Write.law in the upper right.

Web Resources

Duty of Tech Competence - Map of States adopting
Robert Ambrogi's Law Sites
ABA Legal Technology Buyer's Guide
ABA Legal Technology Resources Center
The Legal Technology Resource Center includes many things that can help an attorney out. It includes information on what technology a lawyer should invest in, webinars that help you develop new skills and gain insight on Legal Technology, and books on the latest technology.
ABA Tech Report - issued annually
Survey data, expert analysis, predictions.
AL 100 Legal Tech Directory
"The AL 100 legal tech directory has been created by Artificial Lawyer to showcase the best and most progressive legal technology from around the world."
Findlaw Legal Technology
Findlaw's Technology Center provides free resource on technology in law topics for attorneys. Topics include: Electronic Discovery, Law Office Hardware, Legal Practice Software, Mobile, Networking, Data Storage, and Modern Law Practice.
Lawyerist.com
Lawyerist.com has podcasts, articles, and has free assessment tools to help small firms and solo practices. It also has a paid subscription that helps a small firm or solo lawyer learn how to grow. They have a lawyerist lab that builds upon the free assessment tools included in the paid subscription.
Lawyerist - Products & Services for Small Firms Chart
Reviews of virtual receptionist, chat, time and billing software, credit card processing, client relations management software, ediscovery and more.
International Legal Technology Assoc. (ILTA)
Annual technlogy and marketing surveys, white papers, other publications, blogs and podcasts.
LegalTech Hub
Search for Legaltech products or browse by use case, such as legal operations, contract management, drafting tools, knowledge management, etc.

Books

The 2020 Solo and Small Firm Legal Technology Guide by Sharon D. Nelson; John W. Simek; Michael C. Maschke
Call Number: Akron Law Digital
ISBN: 9781641056137
Publication Date: 2020
The Cambridge Handbook of Lawyering in the Digital Age
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2021
The Future of Law and ETechnologies by Tanel Kerikmäe (Editor); Addi Rull (Editor)
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9783319268965
Publication Date: 2016
The Lawyers Guide to Collaboration Tools and Technologies by Dennis M. Kennedy; Tom Mighell; American Bar Association, Section of Law Practice Management Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: Akron Law Digital
Publication Date: 2022-10-01
ABA Publication
Legal Technology Guidebook by Kimberly Williams, et al.
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2017
This book explores the transformational impact of new technological developments on legal practice. More specifically, it addresses knowledge management, communication, and e-discovery related technologies, and helps readers develop the project management and data analysis skills needed to effectively navigate the current, and future, landscapes.
TechLaw Institute 2020 by James G. Snell; Marc S. Roth; Philip Blum
Call Number: KF390.5.C6 T43 2020
Publication Date: 2020
CLE course handbook. Covers privacy, internet of things, blockchain, cloud computing, artificial intelligence, etc.
Technology Solutions for Today's Lawyer by Jeffrey Allen; Ashley Hallene
Call Number: KF320.A9 A42 2013
ISBN: 9781627221573
Publication Date: 2014
Includes cloud computing, security, and hardware choices.
Tomorrow's Lawyers by Richard Susskind
Call Number: K120 .S87 2013 MISSING
ISBN: 9780199668069
Publication Date: 2013
The Lawyer's Guide to Working Smarter with Knowledge Tools by Marc Lauritsen; American Bar Association, Section of Law Practice Management Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: Akron Law Digital
Publication Date: 2022-05-02

Bloomberg Law In Focus: Legal Technology

Bloomberg Law In Focus: Legal Technology
A collection of information on legal technology including practical guidance, analysis, news, ethics materials and a survey.