Full text biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from all over the world.
Full-text, comprehensive reference resource indexing books, major literary encyclopedias, reference-works, hundreds of literary journals, and unique sources not available anywhere else.
Provides a subject index for discovering books, chapters, and journal articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore, linguistics, literary theory & criticisms, dramatic arts, and the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
A database of full text books, largely in the public domain, provided in a wide variety of formats and languages, including audio books. An excellent resource to find classic books online.
Contains full-text poems of over a hundred writers.
Contains full text poems of most major twentieth-century American poets from all major movements and schools.
Contains full text poems as well as introductions, prefaces, and notes from poetry collections
Full text and linked full-text poems from before the 20th century.
Contains titles from the first book published in English through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare.
Provides access to special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and trade magazines. Especially helpful for historical research into 18th and 19th Century America.
Full text poems by all major American poets, as well as entire poetry books and anthologies.
Full text access to historical American newspapers, books, broadsides, ephemera, government documents, and more. Coverage from 1639 to 1819.
Full text works of every major American writer before the Civil War, including short stories and entire novels.
Full text and linked full text of various editions of Shakespeare's plays.
Full text access to 18th Century books in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science, and more.
Full text of works of prose fiction written in the British Isles. Includes or has links to full text.
Full text or linked full text poems from British Commonwealth and ex-colonial countries.
Full text or linked full text of plays written in prose for the stage, from the Renaissance to the end of the 19th century.
Full text or linked full text of plays written in verse for the stage from the time of Henry IV to the end of the 19th century.
Full text scholarly literary criticism, popular commentary, and reviews of thousands of authors, both well-known and obscure. A good, comprehensive starting point for literary research.
This bibliography is the most comprehensive record of Shakespeare-related scholarship and theatrical productions published or produced worldwide since 1960.
