Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Provides a subject index for discovering books, chapters, and journal articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore, linguistics, literary theory & criticisms, dramatic arts, and the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
17th - 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Online access to the newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757 - 1817), representing the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media.
Gale Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
Full text scholarly literary criticism, popular commentary, and reviews of thousands of authors, both well-known and obscure. A good, comprehensive starting point for literary research.
Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Full text biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from all over the world.
Literary Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
Full-text, comprehensive reference resource indexing books, major literary encyclopedias, reference-works, hundreds of literary journals, and unique sources not available anywhere else.
Something About the Author This link opens in a new window
Full text access to all volumes of Something About the Author series, which examines the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults. A good starting point for literary research.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive access to research articles on film and television.
20th Century African-American Poetry This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text poems of over a hundred writers.
20th Century American Poetry This link opens in a new window
Contains full text poems of most major twentieth-century American poets from all major movements and schools.
20th Century English Poetry This link opens in a new window
Contains full text poems as well as introductions, prefaces, and notes from poetry collections
African-American Poetry This link opens in a new window
Full text and linked full-text poems from before the 20th century.
American Drama This link opens in a new window
Full text collection of American dramatic literature, including works of poetry, drama, and prose, from the 16th through 20th centuries.
American Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Provides access to special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and trade magazines. Especially helpful for historical research into 18th and 19th Century America.
American Poetry This link opens in a new window
Full text poems by all major American poets, as well as entire poetry books and anthologies.
America's Historical Imprints This link opens in a new window
Full text access to historical American newspapers, books, broadsides, ephemera, government documents, and more. Coverage from 1639 to 1819.
Early American Fiction This link opens in a new window
Full text works of every major American writer before the Civil War, including short stories and entire novels.
Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window
Contains titles from the first book published in English through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare.
Editions and Adaptations of Shakespeare This link opens in a new window
Full text and linked full text of various editions of Shakespeare's plays.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
Full text access to 18th Century books in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science, and more.
Eighteenth Century Fiction This link opens in a new window
Full text of works of prose fiction written in the British Isles. Includes or has links to full text.
English Poetry 600-1900 This link opens in a new window
Full text or linked full text poems from British Commonwealth and ex-colonial countries.
English Verse Drama This link opens in a new window
Full text or linked full text of plays written in verse for the stage from the time of Henry IV to the end of the 19th century.
MLA Directory of Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Provides detailed information about the journals and series indexed in the MLA International Bibliography. This resource is best utilized by collection managers and scholars seeking venues to publish their research.
Project Gutenberg This link opens in a new window
A database of full text books, largely in the public domain, provided in a wide variety of formats and languages, including audio books. An excellent resource to find classic books online.
Russian Academy of Sciences Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Database of books, articles, dissertations, and manuscripts. Covers Slavic studies and social science with most content originally published in Russia, the former Soviet Union, and Eastern European countries.
Times Literary Supplement Archive This link opens in a new window
Enables users to full-text search every page of every issue of the TLS. The Historical Archive offers coverage of the latest and most important publications in multiple languages, across all areas of the humanities and social sciences.
William Butler Yeats Collection This link opens in a new window
William Butler Yeats Collection is a complete electronic edition of Yeats's work, bringing together 22 printed volumes and including critical and fictional prose, poetry, plays, and autobiographical works.
World Shakespeare Bibliography Online This link opens in a new window
This bibliography is the most comprehensive record of Shakespeare-related scholarship and theatrical productions published or produced worldwide since 1960.