Skip to main content

Strategic Marketing 6600:620: Introduction/Resource Handout

Strategic Marketing Resource Handout

Marketing 620
Strategic Marketing
Maximizing Available Research Sources

INTRODUCTION

This guide is an overview of techniques and the best resources provided by the University Libraries, both print and electronic, which are useful in conducting a company, industry, or brand/product analysis.

Topic One: Brand and Product Overviews Including Case Histories of Successful and Unsuccessful Marketing Strategies

In some respects, this is the most important step in the process. You must be sure to pick a topic that is a tells a significant success or failure story and which conveys at least one important marketing related lesson learned. Just as importantly, there must be a significant amount of information about the company and incident which you are studying. If the company is too small, private and/or the incident is took place too recently, information may be lacking.

There are numerous resources that can help you select a topic. Many books detail the successes and failures of specific products/companies. These books also provide additional references at the end of chapters that can focus your information search. Some, not all, of these sources are listed below.

Blunders in International Business. (4th ed.) by David A. Ricke,  Malden, MA: Oxford: Blackwell Pub., 1999.   HD62.4 .R53 1999

Brand Failures: The truth about the 100 biggest branding mistakes of all times.by Matt Haig London; Sterling, VA.,Kogan Page

Bullseyes and blunders: Stories of success & failures. by Robert Hartley New York: Wiley, 1987.  HD38 .H3487 1987.

Classic failures in product marketing: Marketing principles violations and how to avoid them. by Donald W. Hendon New York: Quorum Books.          HF5415.15 .H46 1992

Encyclopedia of consumer brands.   Ref  HF5415.3 .E527 1997.

Three volume set on consumable products, personal products and durable goods. Includes brand history, competitors, and how the product originated.

In search of stupidity: Over 20 years of high-tech marketing disasters by Merrill R. Chapman. (2nd ed.)  Berkeley, CA; New                 York: Apress, 2006.      HD9696.63 .A2 C53 2006

Management mistakes and successes. (5th ed.) by Robert Hartley New York: Wiley, 1997.   HD38 .H3488 1997

Marketing today: successes, failures, and turnarounds.(2nd ed.) by John B. clark  Englewood Cliffs, N.J.: Prentice Hall, 1987.   HF5415.1  .C54 1987.

When giants stumble. by Robert sobel Paramus, N.J.: Prentice Hall.    HG3766 .S66 1999

In addition to the suggested titles above, you may identify a brand/product or company for your project by doing keyword searches in the UA online catalog and on the web by doing a Google search using terms like “business failures”, product failures”, commercial failures”, “successful product launches”, “brand management” or “brand failures”.  Be sure to enclose your keyword phrase in quotations. In Google the search will yield results as these below:

Best Global Brands 2016

BrandZ Top 100 2016

10 Famous Product Failures

Global 500 2016: the World's Most Valuable Brands

Product & Brand failures: A Marketing Perspective

Wikipedia:  Search by name of failed company

Topic Two: Broad Topic Overviews

The following steps may not only glean good information on your specific topic, but are likely to provide you with many other references relevant to your project.  It is a great starting point!

1. Start with the UAL Catalog on the Library Home tab to search for books written about the brand, company, or specific situation you are studying.

2. Utilize the Ebrary database to search for specific chapters within books that address your topic.

3. Use Google Books to also search for books or excerpts from books that look at your topic.

4. Go to Google Scholar and search for scholarly articles written about your topic.

Topic Three: Specific Industry Analysis

You need to paint a picture of the industry as it looked in the time period that led to the strategic issue you are studying.  It is likely to be very useful to read several years worth of industry reports to get an idea of how the industry, your company, its competitors and the forces impacting the industry were unfolding to create the strategic issue.   It will also be useful to look at reports after the decision to look at its impact, good or bad.  Some industry definitions are broad and may not fit your analysis as well as you would like.  Often when using the databases below, it is wise to start with a brand search.  The accompanying information to that search will usually identify the industry and lead you to the industry analysis.  If not, the two sources below allow you to search by industry.

Identify the industry in which the firm operates:

If it is not evident from the firm’s name or other information you have consult the industrial classification manuals:

Standard Industrial Classification Manual Codes  (SIC) 

North American Industry Classification System-US  (NAICS) - replaced the SIC system in 1997

Key Industry Databases 

D&B First Research

Online library of profiles on over 900 industry segments.

Statista

A statistic portal that integrates data on over 80.000 topics from over 18.000 sources onto a single searching platform. Categorized into 21 market sectors, Statista provides direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. Includes market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.

IBISWorld

Provides reports for all of the 723 US industries enabling research on the entire sector of the U.S. economy. Information is updated every four months, ensuring the latest information. Reports are divided into three searchable modules: industry market research; company research, and business environment. Market research reports contain trends, statistics and analysis on market size, market share of competitors and industry growth.

Mintel Academic and Mintel Market Sizes

An excellent source for market data, including size, segmentation, forecasts and share. Explore: size of the market and who owns what share; what consumers are doing and how they are changing; what they think of products, services, brands; what will drive future growth; where the opportunities and challenges lie; who’s innovating. In-depth consumer research examines how social, economic, cultural and psychological influences affect attitudes and purchasing decisions.

Hoovers Online

Provides comprehensive up-to-date information through a global database of over 85 million companies, 85 million decision makers, 600 industries, and a proprietary data collection process.

Mergent Archives

Provides access to more than 180,000 corporate and industry related documents covering over 100 countries and industries. An excellent resource for historical research.

Mergent Online (covers last fifteen years)

A comprehensive global company database, both U.S. public and international public-equivalent companies, includes details on items from SEC filings such as business description, history, property, subsidiaries, officers and directors, long-term debt and capital stock. Financial statements are also provided.  You may search by name or ticker symbol, or search across all global boundaries. 10–K Reports  (each American company that issues stock must file a 10-K Report Annually with the Security and Exchange Commission (SEC). These reports contain narrative and financial information.

Also try Security and Exchange Commission

Other Sources

Most of the data produced by the following sources is available in Statista and Data-Planet, however you may wish to consult them directly:

American FactFinder

Current Industrial Reports

U.S. Economic Census

U.S. Industry & Trade OutLook    C61.48:     (government document in Bierce Library)

International Trade Administration

ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the U.S.

Statistics of U.S. Business (SUSB)

Topic Four: Company, Brand and Competitor Information

These are sources that may allow you to drill down to more specific information relating to the strategic issue.

The UA library has several summary reference sources related to companies and brands.  Also if you go to the library catalog and enter any of these sources by title, there is a tab you can click which will allow you to “find similar items” that are also in the library.

Brands and Their Companies

Locate online through Gale Directory Library.

International Directory of Company Histories

Locate online through the Gale Virtual Reference Library.

Search by company name.

Encyclopedia of Consumer Brands, HF5415.3 .E527

Three volume set on consumable products, personal products and durable goods.  Includes brand history, competitors, and how the product originated.

Market Share Reporter

Locate online through Gale Directory Library.

Search for title, “Market Share Reporter”, a compilation of market share data on companies, products and services.

The UA library website offers a rich array of article databases.  Some of the key ones are listed below. At the Library Home Tab, use Databases by Subject or Databases by Title to locate them.

Be sure to try and focus your search in the timeframe you are studying.  There are search tools which allow you to do so.

Business Source Complete

Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals, content also includes financial data, books, monographs, conference proceedings, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.

Business Abstracts with Full-Text

Offers a broad assortment of full text articles from business magazines and scholarly journals. A comprehensive source of business information for all levels of researchers, including students, faculty, and practicing professionals.

Factiva Database

Provides worldwide full-text coverage of local and regional newspapers, trade publications,       business newswires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich websites, investment analyst reports, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, and historical market data from nearly 8,000 sources in 22 languages from 118 countries. Includes some Datamonitor company and market research profiles

Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 10,100 journals and a total of more than 10,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 journals.

LexisNexis Academic

Access to extensive news coverage, business content, legal-research resources, and medical information. The best starting place for current news, business, and legal research.

Finally, be sure to use the Course Guide created for this class as it organizes the sources you need for this course into a single online guide. Also consult with the business reference librarian, Jeffrey Franks, who will assist you with locating the type of information that this project requires.

Subject Librarian

Jeffrey Franks's picture
Jeffrey Franks
Contact:
330-972-6052

Bierce Library, 179A