Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Why use Encyclopedias?
Encyclopedias are good at providing succinct coverage of larger topics. They are ideal for gleaning a "bigger picture" surrounding the issues you wish to research.
When you are searching for Encyclopedias in the
University of Akron Catalog:
Add the word "encyclopedias" to your keyword search or
Search by the subject field by entering the terms Encyclopedias and dictionaries
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
Database of encyclopedia entries covering a wide variety of topics. Includes an audio feature that will read each entry out loud.
Gale Encyclopedia of Religion
This core theological resource presents a cross-cultural approach emphasizing religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
A collection of full text online encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
International Encyclopedia of Communication Online
Covers all areas of communication studies, including journalism; media law and policy; advertising and public relations; communications theory and philosophy; and research methods.
Oxford Research Encyclopedias
In-depth, peer-reviewed summaries on a range of topics.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
A dynamic reference source that includes articles on people, concepts, books, and other topics in philosophy
World Book Online
Based on the World Book encyclopedia, this web site serves as a gateway to its various dictionaries, atlases, encyclopedias, images, maps, videos, timelines, current news, links to external articles, and more.
World Development Indicators
Statistical data source for development indicators and time series data for countries and country groups. Includes social, economic, financial, natural resources and environmental indicators.
Ohiolink E-Book References
OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
Note: New platform that does not yet have e-books from Springer and reference books from various publisher. For access to these titles visit the previous platform below.
A database that contains the full texts of thousands of scholarly and reference e-books from several publishers, covering many subject areas.
Find full text encyclopedias and dictionaries by selecting the Scholarly & Reference E-Book Collection in the Ohiolink Electronic Book Center.
Add the keywords "encyclopedias: or "dictionaries" or "reference" along with the boolean operator AND and your main topic.
encyclopedia and Rome
Make sure to use the limiters on the left side bar