Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Akron Wayne College Library
Information Literacy Module Quizzes
Each information literacy module includes a corresponding quiz. Quiz questions include multiple choice and short answer responses that directly reflect the stated learning outcomes for that module. The quizzes, along with responses from the module surveys, inform the librarians of module content that is unclear or under-emphasized. At the end of each semester the librarians examine the results to see where the modules need to be revised, or if the questions need to be updated for clarity.
Information Literacy Module Surveys
Each information literacy module also includes a corresponding survey. Survey questions include Likert-type ratings and short answer responses. The questions on each survey are the same for each module, but allow the students to reflect on that specific module (rather than trying to reflect on all of the modules at once). At the end of each semester (and at times during the semester) the librarians examine the results to see where delivery or content may need to be revised. Certainly the surveys include a great deal of venting of frustration over the requirements to complete the modules, but throughout the surveys the students reveal very constructive ways the modules (delivery and content) may be improved.
Information Literacy Self-Assessment
Each Spring semester students are asked to participate in a pre- and post- self-assessment designed to determine self-confidence with specific information literacy skills before and after completing the information literacy modules. The results of these surveys help determine areas where students are still uncertain after completing the content.
Likert-type questions ask the students to rate their level of comfort (Not Comfortable / Somewhat Comfortable / Mostly Comfortable / Completely Comfortable) with the following information literacy skills:
I know how to effectively...
- contact the Library staff if I need assistance.
- list the characteristics and functions of a database.
- understand how a database is organized so I can perform effective search strategies in one.
- develop a topic in research questions by brainstorming and creating mind maps.
- break down a complex research question into simpler questions.
- brainstorm additional words or phrases.
- locate the library catalog.
- locate specific library subscription databases (e.g. Academic Search Complete, PsycInfo, Opposing Viewpoints).
- develop a research plan that includes where I will search for information and develop keyword search strategies to employ in those resources.
- brainstorm additional words or phrases to enhance my keyword search strategy.
- develop an online search strategy using Boolean operators(e.g. AND, OR, NOT).
- truncate my search terms.
- use multiple Boolean operators in a single search strategy, nesting or grouping terms when appropriate.
- control proximity of my search terms in the results by employing phrase searches.
- control my search results by using provided limiters.
- view my search results effectively by using provided sorting options.
- focus my search results by using field-specific searches.
- determine when a subject field search is more effective than a general keyword search strategy
- evaluate my initial search results and determine if the strategy should be revised.
- refine my search strategy to get better results.
- determine when it's most appropriate to seek information from books
- determine when it's most appropriate to seek information from periodicals
- determine when it's most appropriate to seek information from websites
- choose a library database that includes desired formats (e.g. books, periodicals, sound recordings, films clips).
- choose a library database that includes results from a desired range of dates.
- choose a library database that is appropriate for my topic.
- choose a library databases that will include scholarly results on my topic.
- distinguish among popular, trade, and scholarly resources.
- locate materials in the library's collections on my own.
- identify scholarly research clues discussed in popular literature and develop search strategies to locate the original scholarly research.
- locate professional reviews of books, entertainment, or products.
- request books from other libraries.
- locate a specific full text journal article based on the article's citation.
- navigate between databases to determine the availability of full text.
- request periodical articles through Interlibrary Loan if they are not readily available in print or full text in a database.
- assess the quantity, quality, and relevance of my search results to determine if my information need has been satisfied.
- manage my time when gathering library sources.
- search the Internet to locate appropriate websites on my topic.
- use Internet search engines, employing advanced search strategies and search engine shortcuts.
- distinguish characteristics of library databases and Internet search engines.
- determine if information is biased.
- determine the purpose and intended audience of a particular source.
- determine if source is appropriate for a college-level research project.
- locate sources that will help me determine an author's credibility and authority.
- locate sources that help me to evaluate a specific periodical or website to determine the mission of the source.
- evaluate each of my sources for currency, relevance, authority, accuracy, and purpose.
- document my sources.
- obtain, store, distribute and use copyright information in an ethical and legal manner.
- locate scholarly material on the Internet.
Because the strongest assessment of information literacy will happen in the classroom, the faculty will have the best opportunities to evaluate the student's performance through testing and assignments. Using information literacy rubrics as part of research papers, presentations, literature reviews, and annotated bibliographies, all provide opportunities to evaluate the students' demonstration of basic information literacy skills.
Sources for Information Literacy Rubrics
Rubric Assessment of Information Literacy Skills (RAILS)
Rubric Assessment of Information Literacy Skills (RAILS) is an IMLS-funded research project designed to investigate an analytic rubric approach to information literacy assessment in higher education. The RAILS project is intended to help academic librarians and disciplinary faculty assess information literacy outcomes.
AACU Information Literacy VALUE Rubric
The VALUE rubrics were developed by teams of faculty experts representing colleges and universities across the United States through a process that examined many existing campus rubrics and related documents for each learning outcome and incorporated additional feedback from faculty. The rubrics articulate fundamental criteria for each learning outcome, with performance descriptors demonstrating progressively more sophisticated levels of attainment. The rubrics are intended for institutional-level use in evaluating and discussing student learning, not for grading.